GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3214 ANSWERED ON 15.03.2021

INCLUSION OF ICONIC SITES FROM UTTAR PRADESH

3214. SHRIMATI RITA BAHUGUNA JOSHI:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is any proposal to include iconic sites from Uttar Pradesh in the list of Iconic Tourism Destinations in India;
- (b) whether there is any other new proposed scheme which accounts for the rich tourism landscape of Uttar Pradesh at the national level; and
- (c) the support given to the selected sites?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL)

(a) to (c): The Ministry of Tourism has framed 'Development of Iconic Tourist Destinations' scheme for development of identified iconic destinations/sites in the country following a holistic approach. Taj Mahal and Fathepur Sikri are the identified iconic destinations/sites in Uttar Pradesh.

Development and promotion of Tourism is primarily the responsibility of the State. However, the Ministry of Tourism under its schemes of 'Swadesh Darshan' and 'National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive (PRASHAD)' provides financial assistance to State Governments/ Union Territory (UT) Administrations / Central Agencies for development of tourism infrastructure in the country. The projects are sanctioned subject to availability of funds, submission of suitable Detailed Project Reports, adherence to scheme guidelines and utilization of funds released earlier etc. The details of projects sanctioned under both schemes in Uttar Pradesh are annexed.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3214 ANSWERED ON 15.03.2021 INCLUSION OF ICONIC SITES FROM UTTAR PRADESH

THE DETAILS OF PROJECTS SANCTIONED UNDER THE SCHEMES OF SWADESH DARSHAN AND PRASHAD IN UTTAR PRADESH.

SI. No.	Circuit	Sanction Year	Name of the Project	Amt. Sanctioned in Rs Crore.			
Swa	Swadesh Darshan scheme						
1	Buddhist Circuit	2016-17	Development of Srawasti, Kushinagar, &Kapilwastu	99.97			
2	Ramayana Circuit	2016-17	Development of Chitrakoot and Shringverpur	69.45			
3	Spiritual Circuit	2016-17	Development of Shahjahanpur-Basti- Ahar- Aligharh-Kasgunj-Sarosi- Pratapgarh-Unnao- Kaushambi- Mirzapur- Gorakpur- Kairana- DoamrFiyagunj- Bagpat- Barabanki- Azamgarh	65.61			
4	Spiritual Circuit	2016-17	Development of Bijnor- Meerut- Kanpur- Dehat- Banda- Ghazipur- Salempur- Ghosi- Balia- Ambedkar Nagar- Aligarh- Fatehpur- Deoria- Mahoba- Sonbhadra- Chandauli- Mishrikh- Bhadohi	67.51			
5	Heritage Circuit	2016-17	Development of Kalinjar Fort (Banda)- MarharDham (SantKabir Nagar)- ChauriChaura, Shaheed Sthal (Fatehpur)- Mavahar Sthal (Ghosi)- Shaheed Smarak (Meerut)	33.17			

6	Ramayana Circuit	2017-18	Development of Ayodhya	127.21
7	Spiritual Circuit	2018-19	Development of Jewar- Dadri-Sikandrabad-Noida- Khurja-Banda	12.03
8	Spiritual Circuit	2018-19	Development of Gorakhnath Temple (Gorakhpur), Devipattan Temple (Balrampur) and Vatvashni Temple (Domariyagunj)	15.76
PRA	SHAD schem	e.		
1	2014-15		Development of Mathura- Vrindavan as Mega Tourist Circuit (Ph-II)	14.93
2	2014-15		Construction of Tourist Facilitation Centre at Vrindavan, Distt. Mathura	9.36
3	2015-16		Development of Varanasi – Phase –I	20.40
4	2017-18		Cruse Tourism in River Ganga, Varanasi	10.72
5	2017-18		Development of Varanasi Under Prashad Scheme – Phase II	44.60
6	2018-19		Development of Infrastructure facilities at Govardhan, Mathura, UP	39.74
