GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2772 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12TH March, 2021

PALLIATIVE CARE

2772. SHRI S. JAGATHRAKSHAKAN:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that palliative care is available only to a tiny minority of people in India and at least 98 percent people are deprived of even basic pain relief, if so, the details thereof:
- (b) the reasons for the absence of integrated palliative care in the entire healthcare sector including for COVID-19 strategy; and
- (c) the remedial steps taken/proposed to be taken by the Government to incorporate palliative care in the treatment of all diseases?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SHRI ASHWINI KUMAR CHOUBEY)

- (a): There is no state-wise/national data available which suggest the number of patients requiring palliative care in the country. However, it is estimated that around 60% of more than 9.8 million people who die in the country every year would benefit from palliative care.
- (b) & (c): In order to provide palliative care services to the needy and integrate them with the public healthcare system at district and sub-district levels, the Government is implementing National Program for Palliative Care (NPPC) under National Health Mission. Till date, 456 districts/centres in 27 states/UTs have been supported under NPPC. The statewise list is at **Annexure**

The program is providing palliative care services to patients, who face life-threatening illnesses and families by providing pain and symptom relief, spiritual and psychosocial support.

ANNEXURE

List of districts, state-wise, covered under National Program for Palliative Care Year: 2020-21

Year: 2020-21			
S.No	States/UTs	Districts supported	
1	Arunachal Pradesh	12 (East Siang (Pasighat), Papumpare (Yupia), Tawang, East Kameng (Seppa), Upper Subansiri (Daporijo), Lower Dibang Valley (Roing), Changlang, Lohit (Tezu), Lower Subansiri (Ziro), Tirap (Khonsa), West Kameng (Bomdila), West Siang (Aalong))	
2	Assam	10 (Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Sivasagar, Lakhimpur, Kamrup Rural, Goalpara, Karimganj, Cachar, Nagaon & Sonitpur)	
3	Chhattisgarh	All 27 districts	
4	Goa	2 (North Goa & South Goa)	
5	Gujarat	14 (Gandhinagar, Surendranagar, Rajkot, Jamnagar, Porbandar & Junagadh and 8 new districts - Vadodara, Sabarkantha, Surat, Mehsana, Morbi, Gir-Somnath, Godhara and Dahod)	
6	Haryana	13 (Ambala, Kurukshetra, Panchkula, Gurugram, Sirsa, Yamunanagar, Faridabad, Hisar, Jind, Narnaul, Mewat, Sonipat & Karnal)	
7	Himachal Pradesh	10 (Mandi, Kullu, Hamirpur, Bilaspur, Kangra, Kinnaur, Shimla (Rampur & Rohru), Nahan, Solan & Una) districts.	
8	Jammu & Kashmir	5 districts; 2 (Poonch & Kishtawar) in Jammu division; 3 (Srinagar, Pulwama & Kupwara) in Kashmir division.	
9	Karnataka	30 (Bangalore Rural, Raichur, Mangalore, Dharwad, Mysore, Tumakuru, Bagalkote, Kalalburagi, Yadagiri, Chamrajanagara, Bangalore Urban, Belgaum, Bellary, Bidar, Vijayapura, Chikkaballapura, Chikkamagaluru, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Gadag, Hassan, Haveri, Kodagu, Kolar, Koppal, Mandya, Ramanagar, Shivamogga, Udupi & Uttar Kannada)	
10	Kerala	All 14 districts (Thiruvananthpuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Kottayam, Alapuzza, Idukki, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Palakkad, Malaputtam, Kozhikode, Wayanad, Kannur, Kasargode); CHCs; 15 UPHCs	
11	Madhya Pradesh	All 51 districts	
12	Maharashtra	17 (Amravati, Bhandara, Chandrapur, Gadchiroli, Wardha, Washim, Parbhani, Satara, Palghar, Nashik, Parbhani, Sindhudurg, Jalna, Pune, Ratnagiri, Osmanabad & Nanded)	
13	Manipur	16 (9 existing Bishnupur, Churachandpur, Chandel, Senapati, Tamenglong, Thoubal, Ukhrul, Imphal-East & Imphal-West + 7 new namely Noney, Kangpokpi, Jeribam, Kamjong, Tengloupal, Kakcking & Pherzawl)	
14	Meghalaya	All 11 districts	
15	Mizoram	7 (Aizwal East, Aizwal West, Lunglei, Champhai, Kolasib, Mamit &	
		Lawngtlai)	
16	Nagaland	All 11 districts	
17	Odisha	All 30 districts	
18	Puducherry	2; Pondicherry, Karaikal (to be confirmed)	
19	Punjab	All 22 districts	

20	Rajasthan	20 (Churu, Dholpur, Sriganganagar, Hanumangarh, Karauli, Dungarpur,
		Pali, Nagaur, Tonk, Jalore, Ajmer, Kota, Alwar, Bharatpur, Bikaner,
		Bhilwara, Jaipur, Jhalawar, Jodhpur, Udaipur)
21	Sikkim	4 districts (North, West, East & South district - Namchi)
22	Tamilnadu	All 32 districts
23	Telangana	All 33 districts
24	Tripura	All 8 districts - North Tripura, Unokoti, Dhalai, Gomati, Khowai,
		Sepahijala, West Tripura and South Tripura
25	Uttar Pradesh	15 (Jalaun, Jhansi, Kheri, Lalitpur, Etawah, Faizabad, Firozabad,
		Farrukhabad, Raibareilly, Sultanpur, Aligarh, Meerut, Bahraich,
		Saharanpur & Mathura).
26	Uttarakhand	All 13 districts (Almora, Bageshwar, Chamoli, Champawat, Dehradun,
		Haridwar, Nainital, Pauri Garhwal, Pithoragarh, Rudraprayag, Tehri
		Garhwal, Udham Singh Nagar & Uttarkashi)
27	West Bengal	27; 19 existing districts (24 Paraganas North, 24 Paraganas South,
		Alipurduar, Bankura, Birbhum, Cooch Behar, Darjiling, Dinajpur
		Dakshin, Dinajpur Uttar, Hooghly, Howrah, Jalpaiguri, Maldah,
		Medinipur East, Medinipur West, Murshidabad, Nadia, Purba Bardhaman,
		Purulia) + 8 new districts (Jhargram, Nandigram, Basirhat, Diamond
		Harbour (Kakdeep), Bishnupur, Kalimpong, Rampurhat, Paschim
		Bardhaman (Asansol DH))
Total		456