GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE (DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 2746 TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, THE 10th MARCH, 2021

Nyay Kaushal

2746. SHRI KOMATI REDDY VENKAT REDDY:

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has opened e-resource centre called Nyay Kaushal and also virtual courts to mitigate various inequalities by using technology to save time, money and avoid long travel for speedy justice and unnecessary delays; and
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the progress made along with funds sanctioned/spent therefor, State/ UT-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD)

(a) : The eResource Center Nyay Kaushal has been started by the Bombay High Court, Nagpur Bench. Functioning since October 2020, it provides facility of efiling, conduct of virtual hearings and other eCourts services etc to lawyers and litigants. Further Virtual Courts to try traffic challan cases have also been started. Presently there are 9 Virtual Courts in 7 States / UTs viz. Delhi (2), Faridabad (Haryana), Chennai (Tamil Nadu), Bengaluru(Karnataka), Kochi (Kerala), Nagpur(Maharashtra), Guwahati(Assam) and Pune(Maharashtra). Over 41 lakh cases have been handled by these 9 Virtual Courts up till 20 January 2021.

(b): The High Court wise fund release status for implementation of eCourts Project Phase-II is given at Annexure.

Annexure

Statement referred to in reply of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No2746 for 10/03/2021 regarding Nyay Kaushal. The details of High Court wise fund released under eCourts project Phase-II are as under:

Sr.No	High Court	Total Funds released under eCourts Phase-II (in Rs. crore)
1.	Allahabad	109.48
2.	Andhra Pradesh	1.96
3.	Bombay	125.24
4.	Calcutta	37.09
5.	Chhattisgarh	27.31
6.	Delhi	26.80
7.	Gauhati (Arunachal Pradesh)	11.64
8.	Gauhati (Assam)	67.28
9.	Gauhati (Mizoram)	7.57
10.	Gauhati (Nagaland)	7.15
11.	Gujarat	72.82
12.	Himachal Pradesh	10.27
13.	Jammu & Kashmir	18.98
14.	Jharkhand	24.25
15.	Karnataka	65.38
16.	Kerala	35.03
17.	Madhya Pradesh	74.05
18.	Madras	70.15
19.	Manipur	8.52
20.	Meghalaya	9.74
21.	Orissa	46.41
22.	Patna	55.82
23.	Punjab & Haryana	54.13
24.	Rajasthan	67.80
25.	Sikkim	6.81
26.	Telangana	1.79
27.	Tripura	16.90
28.	Uttarakhand	11.65
	Total	1142.30

3