GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2742 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10TH MARCH, 2021

OPTICAL FIBRE IN HIMACHAL PRADESH

†2742. SHRI KISHAN KAPOOR:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is carrying out the work of laying optical fibre in every village of Himachal Pradesh to provide internet facility;
- (b) the number of districts of the country where the work of laying optical fibre has been completed, State/ UT-wise including Himachal Pradesh; and
- (c) the time by which the said work is likely to be completed in the remaining districts?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS, EDUCATION AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI SANJAY DHOTRE)

- (a) BharatNet project is being implemented in a phased manner to provide Broadband connectivity to all the Gram Panchayats (approx. 2.5 lakh GPs) in the country including Himachal Pradesh. Now the scope of BharatNet is being expanded to provide Broadband connectivity to all the inhabited villages (6 Lakh) through various models including Public Private Partnership (PPP) Model.
- (b) State/UT wise details of number of districts in the country including Himachal Pradesh where the work of laying of optical fibre has been completed to provide BharatNet connectivity upto Gram Panchayats is given in **Annexure-I.**
- (c) The remaining districts are targeted to be completed by May 2023.

Annexure-I

Annexure referred to in Part (b) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2742 for answer on 10.03.2021

The State/UT-wise details of No. of District where laying of Optical fibre completed under BharatNet

S. No.	State	No. of District where laying of Optical fibre completed
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	0
2	Andhra Pradesh	0
3	Arunachal Pradesh	0
4	Assam	4
5	Bihar	36
6	Chandigarh	1
7	Chhattisgarh	1
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli Daman & Diu	2
9	Gujarat	25
10	Haryana	22
11	Himachal Pradesh	0
12	Jammu & Kashmir	0
13	Jharkhand	6
14	Karnataka	29
15	Kerala	14
16	Lakshadweep	0
17	Madhya Pradesh	9
18	Maharashtra	6
19	Manipur	0
20	Meghalaya	0
21	Mizoram	2
22	Nagaland	0
23	Odisha	0
24	Puducherry	2
25	Punjab	22
26	Rajasthan	24
27	Sikkim	0
28	Tamil Nadu	0
29	Telangana	3
30	Tripura	5
31	Uttar Pradesh	0
32	Uttarakhand	1
33	West Bengal	1
	Total	215
