# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY DEPARTMENT FOR PROMOTION OF INDUSTRY AND INTERNAL TRADE

### **LOK SABHA**

## UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2738. TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, THE 10<sup>TH</sup> MARCH, 2021.

### INDUSTRIALLY BACKWARD DISTRICTS

### 2738. SHRI DILIP SAIKIA: SHRI RAMESH CHANDER KAUSHIK:

Will the Minister of **COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY** be pleased to state: वाणिज्य एवं उदयोग मंत्री

- (a) the details of industrially backward districts in Haryana and North-Eastern States including Assam;
- (b) the district-wise details of schemes being implemented to promote industrialisation through DPIIT in Haryana and North-Eastern states including Assam; and
- (c) whether the Government proposes to initiate 'One District One Product' scheme in each district and if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

### वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री सोम प्रकाश) THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (SHRI SOM PARKASH)

(a): The State Governments decide the Industrially Backward Districts in their States. The State Government of Haryana has informed that their state has been divided into 04 Categories of blocks based on the level of industrialization, level of socio-economic development, locational advantage i.e. connectivity to highway, airport etc., State of infrastructure development and level of skill development that has taken place in these areas / blocks. The four categories are — Developed (A), Intermediate (B), Backward (C), and Most Backward (D). The details of industrially backward districts in Haryana as furnished by Government of Haryana is at Annexure.

The State Governments of Assam, Nagaland and Tripura have not declared any districts as Industrially Backward Districts in their States. The State Government of Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur have informed that all districts in their States are industrially backward. The State-wise list of industrially backward districts of other States in the North-East as informed by them are as below:-

S.No.	State	Name of the industrially Backward District		
1	Meghalaya	Meghalaya has 11 Districts. All the Districts are industrially backward. These districts are:-		
		i) East Khasi Hills District ii) West Khasi Hills District iii) South West Khasi Hills District iv) West Jaintia Hills District v) East Jaintia Hills District vi) Ri-Bhoi District vii) West Garo Hills District viii) East Garo Hills District ix) South Garo Hills District x) North Garo Hills District xi) South West Garo Hills District		
2.	Mizoram	All the Districts except Aizawal District in Mizoram are industrially backward. The list of Districts that are backward are as follows:-  i) Mamit  ii) Hnathial  iii) Khawzawl  iv) Serchip  v) Lawngtlai  vi) Lunglei  vii) Champhai  viii) Kolasib  ix) Siaha		
3.	Sikkim	West-District.		

- **(b):** Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT) is not having any specific scheme, meant only for the backward districts of the Haryana and North-Eastern states including Assam.
- (c) One District One Product (ODOP) is an initiative which is seen as a transformational step forward towards realizing the true potential of a District, duel economic growth and generate employment and rural entrepreneurship, taking us to the goal of Atma Nirbhar Bharat. One District One Product (ODOP) initiative is operationally merged with 'Districts as Export Hub' initiative being implemented by Director General of Foreign Trade (DGFT), Department of Commerce with Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT) as a major stakeholder.

Department of Commerce through DGFT is engaging with State and Central Government agencies to promote the initiative of One District One Product. The objective is to convert each District of the country into an Export Hub by identifying products with the export potential in the District, addressing bottlenecks for exporting these products, supporting local exporters / manufacturers to scale up manufacturing, and find potential buyers outside India with the aim of promoting exports, promoting manufacturing & services industry in the District and generate employment in the District.

To increase exports and take export promotion to the District level, Department of Commerce through DGFT is engaging with State / UT Governments to implement the said initiative in all districts of the country in a phased manner, with the objective of mobilizing the potential of each district of the country to achieve its potential as an export hub. Under the initial phase of the ODOP programme, 106 products have been identified from 103 districts across 27 states.

District Export Promotion Committee (DEPC) is constituted in all Districts of India, except districts of the State of West Bengal. DEPC meetings have been conducted in 510 Districts of India.

\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2738 FOR ANSWER ON 10.03.2021.

### **INDUSTRIALLY BACKWARD DISTRICTS**

Details of industrial backward area in the State of Haryana: The State has identified industrially backward areas in two categories:

- i. Industrially Backward Areas identified as 'C' category.
- ii. Most Industrially Backward Areas identified as 'D' category.

Category 'C' Comprising: of industrially backward areas.

S.No.	District		Block	
1.	Ambala	1.	Barara	
		2.	Naraingarh	
		3.	Saha	
		4.	Shehzadpur	
2.	Bhiwani	5.	Bhiwani	
3.	Fatehabad	6.	Fatehabad	
4.	Hissar	7.	Hansi-I	
		8.	Hissar-II	
5.	Jhajjar	9.	Beri	
	-	10.	Badli	
		11.	Matenhail	
6.	Jind	12.	Jind	
7.	Kaithal	13.	Kaithal	
		14.	Guhla at Cheeka	
		15.	Pundri	
		16.	Dhand	
8.	Karnal	17.	Indri	
		18.	Nissing at Chirao	
		19.	Kunjpura	
9.	Kurukshetra	20.	Thanesar	
		21.	Pehowa	
		22.	Ladwa	
		23.	Shahabad	
		24.	Ismailabad	
10.	Mahendergarh	25.	Narnaul	
11.	Mewat	26.	Nuh& IMT Sohna	
		27.	Taoru	
12.	Palwal	28.	Hodel	
13.	Panchkula	29.	Barwala	
14	Panipat	30.	Israna	
	'	31.	SanauliKhurd	
15.	Rewari	32.	Khol at Rewari	
16.	Rohtak	33.	Meham	
		34.	LakhanMajra	

17.	Sirsa	35.	Sirsa
18.	Sonepat	36.	Gohana
		37.	Mundlana
19.	Yamuna Nagar	38.	Bilaspur
		39.	Chhachhrauli
		40.	Radaur
		41.	Khizrabad

Category 'D' Comprising: of industrially most backward areas

S.No.	District	Block		
1	Bhiwani	1.	Loharu	
		2.	Tosham	
		3.	Bawani-Khera	
		4.	Kairu	
		5.	Siwani	
		6.	Bahal	
2.	CharkiDadri	7.	CharkiDadri	
		8.	Badhra	
		9.	Bond Kalan	
		10.	Jhojhu Kalan	
3.	Fatehbad	11.	Tohana	
		12.	Ratia	
		13.	Jakhal	
		14.	Bhattu Kalan	
		15.	Bhuna	
		16.	Nagpur	
4.	Hissar	17.	Narnaund	
		18.	Adampur	
		19.	Uklana	
		20.	Agroha	
		21.	Barwala	
		22.	Hansi-II	
5.	Jhajjar	23.	Sahalwas	
6.	Jind	24.	Narwana	
		25.	Julana	
		26.	Safidon	
		27.	Pillukhera	
		28.	Uchana	
		29.	Alewa	
		30.	Ujhana	
7.	Kaithal	31.	Kalayat	
		32.	Rajound	
		33.	Siwan	
8.	Karnal	34.	Munak	
		35.	Assandh	
9.	Kurukshetra	36.	Babain	
10.	Mahendergarh	37.	AteliNangal	
		38.	Kanina	

		39.	Mahendergarh
		40.	Nangalchaudhary
		41.	Sihma
		42.	Nizampur
		43.	Satnali
11.	Mewat	44.	Nagina
		45.	Ferozepur Jhirka
		46	Punhana
		47.	Pingwan
		48.	Indri
12.	Palwal	49.	Hathin
		50.	Badoli
		51.	Hasanpur
13.	Panchkula	52.	Morni
		53.	Raipur Rani
14.	Rewari	54.	Nahar
		55.	Dahina
		56.	Jatusana
15.	Rohtak	57.	Kalanaur
16.	Sirsa	58.	Dabwali
		59.	Baragudha
		60.	Rania
		61.	Ellanabad
		62.	Odhan
		63.	Nathusari
			Chopta
17.	Sonepat	64.	Kathura
18.	Yamuna Nagar	65.	Mustafad
		66.	Sadhaura

\*\*\*\*