GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1463 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.02.2021

DEVELOPMENT OF BACKWARD DISTRICTS

†1463. SHRIMATI SHARDABEN ANILBHAI PATEL:

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has identified certain backward districts for the development of education, health care and infrastructure facilities under the Aspirational District Programme in the States;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of the total number of districts selected and the total amount sanctioned and released in this regard; and
- (d) the details of the works started in these districts and the progress made so far thereunder?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF STATISTICS AND PROGRAMME IMPLEMENTATION

(RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a)Yes Sir, under the Aspirational Districts Programme, the government has identified 112 districts across 26 States and 1 Union Territory with focus in key sectors including Health & Nutrition, Education, Agriculture & Water Resources, Basic Infrastructure, Skill Development and Financial Inclusion based on a Composite Index of Backwardness.
- (b) The State-wise list of the 112 Aspirational Districts is attached as Annexure I.
- (c)There are 112 districts under the Aspirational Districts Programme. As the main strategy of the Programme is based on convergence of existing schemes which have their own funding arrangement, large infusion of additional fund is not envisaged. However, in order to foster competitive spirit and for addressing the critical gaps, additional allocation on challenge route is also envisaged. Under this arrangement around Rs. 306 crores has been released during FY 2019-20 and FY 2020-21.

(d) Projects across different sectors have been undertaken by the districts as per the extant rules of the state governments concerned. The sector-wise break-up of the sanctioned projects are mentioned below:

Theme	No. of Projects sanctioned	Amount Disbursed (in Rs. crores)
Health and Nutrition	125	104
Education	82	78.3
Agriculture & Water Resources	37	25
Financial Inclusion & Skill Development	20	52.67
Basic Infrastructure	16	45
Others	13	0.97

These projects are being monitored by the respective District Administration. As per the information received from the Districts, these projects are under various stages of implementation.

Annexure – I

List of 112 Aspirational Districts

S. No.	State	District
1	Andhra Pradesh	Vizianagaram
2	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam
3	Andhra Pradesh	Y.S.R. Kadapa
4	Arunachal Pradesh	Namsai
5	Assam	Goalpara
6	Assam	Barpeta
7	Assam	Hailakandi
8	Assam	Baksa
9	Assam	Darrang
10	Assam	Udalguri
11	Assam	Dhubri
12	Bihar	Sitamarhi
13	Bihar	Araria
14	Bihar	Purnia
15	Bihar	Katihar
16	Bihar	Muzaffarpur
17	Bihar	Begusarai
18	Bihar	Khagaria
19	Bihar	Banka
20	Bihar	Sheikhpura
21	Bihar	Aurangabad
22	Bihar	Gaya
23	Bihar	Nawada
24	Bihar	Jamui
25	Chhattisgarh	Korba
26	Chhattisgarh	Rajnandgaon
27	Chhattisgarh	Mahasamund
28	Chhattisgarh	Kanker
29	Chhattisgarh	Narayanpur
30	Chhattisgarh	Dantewada
31	Chhattisgarh	Bijapur
32	Chhattisgarh	Bastar
33	Chhattisgarh	Kondagaon
34	Chhattisgarh	Sukma
35	Gujarat	Dahod
36	Gujarat	Narmada
37	Haryana	Mewat
38	Himachal Pradesh	Chamba
39	UT of Jammu & Kashmir	Kupwara

40	UT of Jammu & Kashmir	Baramulla	
41	Jharkhand	Garhwa	
41	Jharkhand	Chatra	
42	Jharkhand	Giridih	
43	Jharkhand		
44	Jharkhand	Godda Sabibaseri	
43	Jharkhand	Sahibganj	
	Jharkhand	Pakur Bokaro	
47			
48	Jharkhand	Lohardaga	
49	Jharkhand Ibaalabaa d	Purbi Singhbhum	
50	Jharkhand Ibaalabaa d	Palamu	
51	Jharkhand	Latehar	
52	Jharkhand	Hazaribagh	
53	Jharkhand	Ramgarh	
54	Jharkhand	Dumka	
55	Jharkhand	Ranchi	
56	Jharkhand	Khunti	
57	Jharkhand	Gumla	
58	Jharkhand	Simdega	
59	Jharkhand	Pashchimi Singhbhum	
60	Karnataka	Raichur	
61	Karnataka	Yadgir	
62	Kerala	Wayanad	
63	Madhya Pradesh	Chhatarpur	
64	Madhya Pradesh	Damoh	
65	Madhya Pradesh	Barwani	
66	Madhya Pradesh	Rajgarh	
67	Madhya Pradesh	Vidisha	
68	Madhya Pradesh	Guna	
69	Madhya Pradesh	Singrauli	
70	Madhya Pradesh	Khandwa	
71	Maharashtra	Nandurbar	
72	Maharashtra	Washim	
73	Maharashtra	Gadchiroli	
74	Maharashtra	Osmanabad	
75	Manipur	Chandel	
76	Meghalaya	Ribhoi	
77	Mizoram	Mamit	
78	Nagaland	Kiphire	
79	Odisha	Dhenkanal	
80	Odisha	Gajapati	
81	Odisha	Kandhamal	
82	Odisha	Balangir	
83	Odisha	Kalahandi	

84	Odisha	Rayagada
85	Odisha	Koraput
86	Odisha	Malkangiri
87	Odisha	Nabarangpur
88	Odisha	Nuapada
89	Punjab	Moga
90	Punjab	Firozpur
91	Rajasthan	Dholpur
92	Rajasthan	Karauli
93	Rajasthan	Jaisalmer
94	Rajasthan	Sirohi
95	Rajasthan	Baran
96	Sikkim	West Sikkim
97	Tamil Nadu	Virudhunagar
98	Tamil Nadu	Ramanathapuram
99	Telangana	Asifabad
100	Telangana	Bhoopalapally
101	Telangana	Bhadradri-Kothagudem
102	Tripura	Dhalai
103	Uttar Pradesh	Chitrakoot
104	Uttar Pradesh	Fatehpur
105	Uttar Pradesh	Bahraich
106	Uttar Pradesh	Shrawasti
107	Uttar Pradesh	Balrampur
108	Uttar Pradesh	Siddharthnagar
109	Uttar Pradesh	Chandauli
110	Uttar Pradesh	Sonbhadra
111	Uttarakhand	Udham Singh Nagar
112	Uttarakhand	Haridwar