GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF POSTS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1417 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10TH FEBRUARY, 2021

SPEED POST CENTRES

1417. SHRI JANARDAN SINGH SIGRIWAL: SHRI PARTHIBAN S.R.:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of operational speed post centres in the country, State/UT-wise including Bihar and Tamil Nadu;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to set up more such centres across the country and if so, the details thereof State/UT-wise particularly in Bihar and Tamil Nadu; and
- (c) the further steps taken by the Government to strengthen speed post centres in the country?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS, EDUCATION AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI SANJAY DHOTRE)

- (a) The Department of Posts, under a new operational arrangement has changed the nomenclature of Speed Post Centres to National Sorting Hubs (NSHs) and Intra Circle Hubs (ICHs). As on date there are 91 NSHs and 150 ICHs. The State-wise details are at **Annexure-I.**
- (b) As of now no proposal for creation of National Speed Post Hub/Intra-Circle Speed Post Hubs is under consideration.
- (c) Infrastructure & site upgradation at National Speed Post Hubs and Intra-Circle Speed Post Hubs are being undertaken every year to ensure smooth functioning of the Speed Post Hubs.

Annexure referred to in reply of para (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1417 to be answered on 10th February, 2021 regarding Speed Post Centres.

Number of National Sorting Hubs (NSHs) and Intra Circle Hubs (ICHs) (State-wise)

| S. No. | State/UT | NSH | ICH |
|--------|--|-----|-----|
| 1 | Andhra Pradesh | 4 | 9 |
| 2 | Arunachal Pradesh | 1 | - |
| 3 | Assam | 2 | 5 |
| 4 | Bihar | 4 | 4 |
| 5 | Chhattisgarh | 1 | 4 |
| 6 | Delhi | 1 | - |
| 7 | Goa | 1 | - |
| 8 | Gujarat (including Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu) | 4 | 13 |
| 9 | Haryana | 4 | 3 |
| 10 | Himachal Pradesh | 2 | 4 |
| 11 | Jammu & Kashmir | 2 | - |
| 12 | Jharkhand | 3 | 3 |
| 13 | Karnataka | 7 | 6 |
| 14 | Kerala (including Lakshadweep) | 5 | 3 |
| 15 | Madhya Pradesh | 4 | 9 |
| 16 | Maharashtra | 4 | 18 |
| 17 | Manipur | 1 | - |
| 18 | Meghalaya | 1 | - |
| 19 | Mizoram | 1 | - |
| 20 | Nagaland | 1 | - |
| 21 | Odisha | 4 | 6 |
| 22 | Punjab (including Chandigarh) | 4 | 4 |
| 23 | Rajasthan | 3 | 10 |
| 24 | Tamil Nadu(including Puducherry) | 7 | 12 |
| 25 | Telanganab | 2 | 4 |
| 26 | Tripura | 1 | - |
| 27 | Uttar Pradesh | 9 | 18 |
| 28 | Uttarakhand | 1 | 6 |
| 29 | West Bengal (including Sikkim and Andaman & Nicobar Islands) | 5 | 9 |
| | Total | 91* | 150 |

^{*} Figure includes two (2) National Sorting Hubs established for the Army Postal Service.
