GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 203

ANSWERED ON 09.03.2021

DEVELOPMENT GRANTS FOR BACKWARD DISTRICTS IN ANDHRA PRADESH

*203. SHRIMATI GODDETI MADHAVI: SHRI LAVU SRI KRISHNA DEVARAYALU:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the development grants released for the seven backward districts of Andhra Pradesh since 2014, yearwise;
- (b) whether there are any pending dues from the Central Government for the development assistance of backward districts of Andhra Pradesh recognized under the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014; and
- if so, the details thereof along with the instructions issued by the Government for clearing these dues?

ANSWER MINISTER OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) to (c): A statement is laid on the table of the House.

Statement referred to in the reply to part (a) to (c) of the Lok Sabha Starred Ouestion No. 203 for answer on 9.3.2021

(a): The Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act (APRA), 2014, inter-alia, provides that the Central Government may, having regard to the resources available to the successor State of Andhra Pradesh, make appropriate grants and also ensure that adequate benefits and incentives in the form of special development packages are given to the backward areas of the State. The said Act further provides that the Central Government shall, while considering the special development package for the successor State of Andhra Pradesh, provide adequate incentives, in particular for Rayalaseema and north coastal regions. Accordingly, seven districts namely, Anantapur, Chittoor, Cuddapah, Kurnool, Srikakulam, Vishakhapatnam and Viziayanagaram in Rayalaseema and north coastal region of Andhra Pradesh have been identified for grant of special development package and a development grant @ Rs.50 crore per district per year is released.

The Union Government has so far released Rs.1400 crore to the State of Andhra Pradesh in this regard. The 1st installment of Rs.350 crore was released on 18.02.2015, the 2nd installment of Rs.350 crore was released on 23.11.2015, the 3rd installment of Rs.350 crore was released on 30.01.2017 and the 4th installment of Rs.350 crore was released on 31.03.2020.

(b) & (c): The releases towards development of 7 backward districts of the State under the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 are based on recommendations of the NITI Aayog. NITI Aayog, in its report namely "Report on Developmental Support to the Successor State of Andhra Pradesh under APRA, 2014" dated 1st December, 2015, has, inter-alia, recommended ".... a total amount of Rs.2100 crore for the seven backward districts of Andhra Pradesh @Rs.300 crore per district. This grant included Rs.700 crore released in FY 2014-15 and FY 2015-16". The Union Government has so far released Rs.1400 crore to the State of Andhra Pradesh for development of seven backward districts of the State under the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 since, 2014. However, the Utilization Certificates of Rs.1049.34 crore only have been submitted by the State Government.
