GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. *121

TO BE ANSWERED ON: 10.02.2021

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY HUBS IN BIHAR

*121. SHRI CHANDESHWAR PRASAD:

Will the Minister of ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to develop Information Technology (IT) Hubs in small cities in Bihar and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the steps taken by the Government in this regard; and
- (c) whether the Government proposes to give an impetus to Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in this regard and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. *121 FOR 10.02.2021 REGARDING INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY HUBS IN BIHAR

(a) and (b): Government of India has taken various initiatives for promoting IT/ ITeS industry in various parts of country including Bihar. Till date, 60 Software Technology Parks of India (STPI) centres have been established of which 52 centres are in Tier II/ III cities. This includes one STPI Centre in Bihar at Patna (Patliputra). Government has also approved two new STPI Centres for Bihar at Darbhanga and Bhagalpur. The STPI Centre at Patna (Patliputra) is being augmented through provision of additional 1 Lakh Sq. Ft. of space. List of existing and approved STPI Centres are at **Annexure-I and II.**

Further, for creation of employment opportunities in IT/ ITeS industry particularly in Tier II/ Tier III cities, Government is implementing India BPO Promotion Scheme (IBPS). Under this Scheme, incentives are provided for setting up of BPO IT/ ITeS operation. 12BPO units have started BPO/ ITeS operations in Bihar while providing direct employment to more than 1500 people.

National Policy on Software Products (NPSP) - 2019 has been notified by the Governmentto promote software product ecosystem in the country. In accordance with NPSP, Government has approved the Next Generation Incubation Scheme (NGIS) with a budgetary outlay of Rs. 95.03 crore for establishing software product incubation facilities in12 Tier II/ III STPI centres including an incubation facility in Bihar at Patna.

Till date, 8,817 Gram Panchayats (GPs) have been connected with High Speed Optical Fibre Network in Bihar and are ready to provide Digital Services. National Informatics Centre (NIC) has established a Digital Government Research Centre in Patna for promoting state of art e-Governance services. A cloud enabled Data Centre has also been established in Patna which is operational since June 2019.

Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC) has established a facility to promote research and development in the field of Cyber-security and Forensics, Internet of Everything, Artificial Intelligence, and Advanced Analytics in Patna, Bihar.

For providing IT services to rural and semi- urban population, Government is supporting establishment of Common Service Centres (CSCs). A total of 34,495 CSCs are functional in Bihar of which 29,684 CSCs are in Gram Panchayats.

(c): As per extant Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) policy, 100% FDI is allowed in IT sector under automatic routesubject to applicable laws/ regulations. A total of Rs. 1,39,217 crore FDI has been committed in Computer Software and Hardware during FY 2017-2020 and Rs. 1,31,169 crore in current financial year till September, 2020.

Annexure-I

Sate-wise list of 60 existing STPI Centres

S. N	State	Centre Name		
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Kakinada		
2.		Tirupati		
3.		Vijayawada		
4.		Vizag		
5.	Assam	Guwahati		
6.	Bihar	Patna		
7.	Chhattisgarh	Bhilai		
8.	Gujarat	Gandhinagar		
9.		Surat		
10.	Haryana	Gurgaon		
11.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla		
12.	Jammu and Kashmir	Jammu		
13.		Srinagar		
14.	Jharkhand	Ranchi		
15.		Deoghar		
16.	Karnataka	Bengaluru		
17.		Hubli		
18.		Mangalore		
19.		Manipal		
20.		Mysore		
21.	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram		
22.	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior		
23.		Bhopal		
24.		Indore		
25.	Maharashtra	Aurangabad		
26.		Kolhapur		
27.		Nagpur		
28.		Nasik		
29.		Mumbai		
30.		Pune		
31.	Manipur	Imphal		
32.	Meghalaya	Shillong		
33.	Mizoram	Aizawl		
34.	Odisha	Berhampur		
35.		Bhubaneswar		
36.	D 1' 1	Rourkela		
37.	Pondicherry	Pondicherry		
38.	Punjab	Mohali		
39.	Rajasthan	Jaipur		
40.	0.11.	Jodhpur		
41.	Sikkim Gangtok			
42.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai		
43.		Coimbatore		

S. N	State	Centre Name
44.		Madurai
45.		Tirunelveli
46.		Trichy
47.	Telangana	Hyderabad
48.		Warangal
49.	Uttar Pradesh	Allahabad
50.		Kanpur
51.		Lucknow
52.		Noida
53.	Uttarakhand	Dehradun
54.	West Bengal	Durgapur
55.		Haldia
56.		Kharagpur
57.		Kolkata
58.		Siliguri
59.	Tripura	Agartala
60.	Goa	Goa

Annexure-II

State-wise list of approved new STPI Centres

S.N	State	Location
1	Madhya Pradesh	Chhindwada
2		Jabalpur
3	Punjab	Amritsar
4	Jharkhand	Dhanbad
5		Jamshedpur
6		Bokaro
7	Uttar Pradesh	Agra
8		Varanasi
9		Meerut
10		Gorakhpur
11	Nagaland	Kohima
12	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar
13	Odisha	Balasore
14		Sambalpur
15		Jajpur
16		Angul
17		Koraput (Jayepore)
18	Bihar	Darbhanga
19		Bhagalpur
20	Haryana	Panchkula
21	Gujarat	Bhavnagar
22	Karnataka	Davangere
23	Himachal Pradesh	Kangra