GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF POSTS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 602 TO BE ANSWERED ON 16TH SEPTEMBER, 2020

SPEED POST CENTRES

†602. SHRI OMPRAKASH BHUPALSINH alias PAWAN RAJENIMBALKAR: SHRI KRUPAL BALAJI TUMANE:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the State/UT-wise total number of operational Speed Post Centres in the country;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to set up more Speed Post Centres in the country during the current financial year;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise;
- (d) whether all operational Speed Post Centres are both receiving and delivery centres; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS, EDUCATION AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI SANJAY DHOTRE)

- (a) The Department of Posts, under a new operational arrangement has changed the nomenclature of Speed Post Centres to National Sorting Hubs (NSHs) and Intra Circle Hubs (ICHs). As on date there are 90 NSHs and 151 ICHs. The State-wise details are at **Annexure-I.**
- (b) & (c) As of now no proposal for creation of National Speed Post Hub is under consideration.
- (d) & (e) NSHs process the incoming and outgoing articles. Articles are delivered through delivery post offices.

Annexure referred to in reply of para (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 602 to be answered on 16^{th} September, 2020 regarding Speed Post Centres.

Number of National Sorting Hubs (NSHs) and Intra Circle Hubs (ICHs) (State-wise)

S. No.	State/UT	NSH	ICH
1	Andhra Pradesh	4	9
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	-
3	Assam	2	5
4	Bihar	4	4
5	Chhattisgarh	1	4
6	Delhi	1	-
7	Goa	1	-
8	Gujarat (including Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu)	4	13
9	Haryana	4	3
10	Himachal Pradesh	2	4
11	Jammu & Kashmir	2	-
12	Jharkhand	3	3
13	Karnataka	7	6
14	Kerala (including Lakshadweep)	5	3
15	Madhya Pradesh	4	9
16	Maharashtra	4	18
17	Manipur	1	-
18	Meghalaya	1	-
19	Mizoram	1	-
20	Nagaland	1	-
21	Odisha	4	6
22	Punjab (including Chandigarh)	4	4
23	Rajasthan	3	10
24	Tamil Nadu (including Puducherry)	7	12
25	Telangana	2	4
26	Tripura	1	-
27	Uttar Pradesh	9	18
28	Uttarakhand	1	6
29	West Bengal (including Sikkim and Andaman & Nicobar Islands)	4	10
	Total	90*	151

^{*} Figure includes two (2) National Sorting Hubs established for Army Postal Service.
