GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1963 TO BE ANSWERED ON SEPTEMBER 22, 2020

INDIA CYCLE4CHANGE CHALLENGE

No.1963. SHRIMATI RAKSHA NIKHIL KHADSE:

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the "India Cycle4Change Challenge" proposed and launched during the Covid-19 pandemic;
- (b) whether the Government has identified districts/ towns in the States to launch this programme and if so, the detailed list of the identified city locations;
- (c) the details of the scheme under the programme for providing cycles (manual or electrically driven); and
- (d) whether cycles are being provided in some cities and if so, the details thereof including the quantum and the pricing for electrically driven cycles?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS (SHRI HARDEEP SINGH PURI)

(a) & (b): Yes, Sir. Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs has launched the India Cycles4Change Challenge on 25th June, 2020. The Challenge is open to all Indian cities with population above 5 lakhs, capital cities of States/Union Territories (UTs) and Smart Cities.

As on 17th September, 2020, 107 cities have registered for the Challenge. A State-wise list of cities registered for the Challenge is attached at Annexure-I. At present, participating cities are undertaking pilot projects, citizen surveys and participating in capacity building workshops related to the Challenge.

(c) & (d): The India Cycles4Change Challenge aims to create extensive cycling-networks through low-cost interventions like pop-up cycle lanes and traffic-calmed or non-motorised zones. Cities could launch programmes such as community-led cycle rental schemes that increase the availability of cycles to citizens and promote the usage of cycling through public events and outreach. At present, there is no provision for providing cycles to cities under the challenge.

Annexure-I in reply to part (a) & (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1963 for answer on 22.09.2020 regarding India Cycle4Change Challenge by Shrimati Raksha Nikhil Khadse, Hon'ble Member of Parliament.

State-wise list of Cities registered for Cycle4Change Challenge as on 17th September, 2020

Sl. No.	State/UT		City
1	Andaman and Nicobar Islands	1.	Port Blair
2	Andhra Pradesh	2.	Amravati
		3.	Kakinada
		4.	Tirupati
		5.	Vishakhapatnam
3	Arunachal Pradesh	6.	Itanagar
		7.	Pasighat
4	Assam	8.	Guwahati
5	Bihar	9.	Bhagalpur
		10.	Bihar Sharif
		11.	Muzaffarpur
		12.	Patna
6	Chandigarh	13.	Chandigarh
7	Chhatisgarh	14.	Bilaspur
		15.	Naya Raipur
		16.	Raipur
8	Dadra and Nagar haveli	17.	Silvassa
9	Daman and Diu	18.	Diu
10	Delhi	19.	New Delhi
11	Goa	20.	Panaji
12	Gujarat	21.	Ahmedabad
		22.	Gandhinagar
		23.	Dahod
		24.	Rajkot
		25.	Vadodara
13	Haryana	26.	Faridabad
		27.	Karnal
		28.	Gurugram
14	Himachal Pradesh	29.	Dharamshala
		30.	Shimla

15	Jammu and Kashmir	31.	Jammu
		32.	Srinagar
16	Jharkhand	33.	Ranchi
17	Karnataka	34.	Bangalore
		35.	Belagavi
		36.	Davanagere
		37.	Hubbali Dharwad
		38.	Kalaburagi
		39.	Mangaluru
		40.	Shivamogga
		41.	Tumakuru
		42.	Mysore
18	Kerala	43.	Kochi
		44.	Thiruvananthapuram
		45.	Mallapuram
19	Lakshadweep	46.	Kavaratti
20	Madhya Pradesh	47.	Bhopal
		48.	Gwalior
		49.	Indore
		50.	Jabalpur
		51.	Sagar
		52.	Satna
		53.	Ujjain
21	Maharashtra	54.	Aurangabad
		55.	Kalyan Dombivli
		56.	Mumbai
		57.	Nashik
		58.	Nagpur
		59.	Pimpri Chinchwad
		60.	Pune
		61.	Solapur
		62.	Surat
		63.	Thane
22	Manipur	64.	Imphal
23	Meghalaya	65.	Shillong

24	Mizoram	66.	Aizawl
25	Nagaland	67.	Kohima
26	Odisha	68.	Bhubaneswar
		69.	Rourkela
27	Puducherry	70.	Puducherry
28	Punjab	71.	Amritsar
		72.	Ludhiana
		73.	Jalandhar
29	Rajasthan	74.	Ajmer
		75.	Jaipur
		76.	Kota
		77.	Udaipur
30	Sikkim	78.	Gangtok
		79.	Namchi
31	Tamil Nadu	80.	Chennai
		81.	Coimbatore
		82.	Erode
		83.	Madurai
		84.	Salem
		85.	Thanjavur
		86.	Thoothukudi
		87.	Tiruchirappalli
		88.	Tirunelveli
		89.	Tiruppur
		90.	Vellore
32	Telangana	91.	Greater Warangal
		92.	Karimnagar
		93.	Hyderabad
33	Tripura	94.	Agartala
34	Uttar Pradesh	95.	Agra
		96.	Aligarh
		97.	Bareilly
		98.	Jhansi
		99.	Kanpur
		100.	Lucknow

		101.	Moradabad
		102.	Prayagraj
		103.	Saharanpur
		104.	Varanasi
35	Uttarakhand	105.	Dehradun
36	West Bengal	106.	Kolkata
		107.	New Town Kolkata
