Government of India Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports Department of Sports

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †1951 TO BE ANSWERD ON 22.09.2020

Training for Softball

†1951. DR. VIRENDRA KUMAR:

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of places where Softball is played in India including the efforts being made to make this sport popular;
- (b) the number of training centres in India where training of Softball is given at present, State-wise; and
- (c) whether any scheme has been implemented or is proposed in future to propagate the Softball sport and make it more popular in the training centres managed by the Sports Authority of India in Tikamgarh as well as for its quality training?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS [SHRI KIREN RIJIJU]

(a) to (c) Softball is played throughout the country. The Government is assisting the Softball Association of India under the Scheme of Assistance to National Sports Federations to promote and develop Softball sports in the country. Admissible assistance is provided as per norms of the Scheme. As informed by the Softball Association of India, there are 24 training centres in India, the State-wise list of which is given at Annexure.

Sports Authority of India has good infrastructure facilities available at its Centre at Tikamgarh, Madhya Pradesh for training of sportspersons for discipline of Softball.

ANNEXURE REFERED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (c) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1951 FOR REPLY ON 22.09.2020 ASKED BY DR. VIRENDRA KUMAR REGARDING 'TRAINING FOR SOFTBALL'

State-wise list of training centers in India for Softball

| S. No. | State / Union Territory | Number of training centres |
|--------|-------------------------|----------------------------|
| 1 | Andhra Pradesh | 1 |
| 2 | Bihar | 1 |
| 3 | Chandigarh | 1 |
| 4 | Chhattisgarh | 1 |
| 5 | Delhi | 1 |
| 6 | Goa | 1 |
| 7 | Gujarat | 1 |
| 8 | Haryana | 1 |
| 9 | Himachal Pradesh | 1 |
| 10 | Jammu & Kashmir | 1 |
| 11 | Karnataka | 1 |
| 12 | Kerala | 1 |
| 13 | Madhya Pradesh | 2 |
| 14 | Maharashtra | 2 |
| 15 | Manipur | 1 |
| 16 | Orissa | 1 |
| 17 | Punjab | 1 |
| 18 | Rajasthan | 3 |
| 19 | Uttar Pradesh | 1 |
| 20 | Telangana | 1 |