GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1672

TO BE ANSWERED ON MONDAY, THE 21.09.2020

High Court Benches

1672. SHRI RAJENDRA AGRAWAL

Will the Minister of **LAW AND JUSTICE** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is planning to establish High Court benches in various States including Uttar Pradesh;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;
- (c) the criteria adopted/formalities required by the Government for establishment of these benches; and
- (d) the details of the States where such benches have already been established so far?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD)

(a) to (d): In accordance with the recommendations made by the Jaswant Singh Commission and judgment pronounced by the Apex Court in W.P. (C) No. 379 of 2000, Bench(es) of the High Court are established after due consideration of a complete proposal from the State Government incorporating readiness to provide infrastructure and meet the expenditure, along with the consent of the Chief Justice of the concerned High Court who is authorized to look after day to day administration of the High Court and its Bench. The proposal should also have the consent of the Governor of the concerned State.

No complete proposal has been received from any State Government including that of State Government of Uttar Pradesh.

A statement showing the High Courts and their respective Benches is attached at **Annexure.**

<u>Annexure</u>

Statement referred to in reply to parts (a) to (d) of Lok Sabha Unstarred No. 1672 to be answered on 21.09.2020 showing High Courts and their Benches State-wise/UT-wise.

SI. No.	High Court(States) Allahabad(Uttar	Principal Seat Allahabad	Jurisdiction Uttar Pradesh	Permanent/ Circuit Benches and Date from which the Bench began functioning (1) Lucknow
2.	Pradesh) Andhra Pradesh	Amaravati	Andhra	(01.07.1948)
	(01.01.2019)		Pradesh	
3.	Telangana	Hyderabad	Telangana	-
4.	Bombay(Maharashtra)	Mumbai	Maharashtra, Goa, Daman & Diu (UT) Dadra & Nagar Haveli(UT)	(2) Nagpur (01.05.1960), (3) Panaji (01.07.1948), (4) Aurangabad (27.08.1984)
5.	Calcutta(West Bengal)	Kolkata	West Bengal, Andaman & Nicobar Islands(UT)	(5) Circuit Bench at Jalpaiguri vide Presidential Order dated 7 th February, 2019. (6) Circuit Bench at Port Blair.
6.	Chattisgarh	Bilaspur	Chattisgarh	-
7.	Delhi(NCT of Delhi)	New Delhi	NCT of Delhi	-
8.	Gauhati(Assam)	Guwahati	Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram & Arunachal Pradesh	(7) Kohima (10.02.1990), (8) Aizawl (05.07.1990), (9) Itanagar (12.08.2000)
9.	Gujarat	Sola (Ahmedabad)	Gujarat	-

10.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla	Himachal Pradesh	-
11.	High Court for the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir and Union Territory of Ladakh (as per Jammu & Kashmir reorganization Act, 09.08.2019)	Jammu & Srinagar	Jammu & Kashmir (UT), Ladakh(UT)	-
12.	Jharkhand	Ranchi	Jharkhand	-
13.	Karnataka	Bangalore	Karnataka	(10) Dharwad (24.08.2013), (11) Gulbarga (31.08.2013)
14.	Kerala	Ernakulam (Kochi)	Kerala & Lakshadweep Islands(UT)	-
15.	Madhya Pradesh	Jabalpur	Madhya Pradesh	(12) Gwalior (01.11.1956), (13) Indore (01.11.1956)
16.	Madras(Tamil Nadu)	Chennai	Tamil Nadu & Puducherry (UT)	(14) Madurai (24.07.2004)
17.	Orissa	Cuttack	Odisha	-
18.	Patna(Bihar)	Patna	Bihar	-
19.	Punjab & Haryana	Chandigarh	Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh (UT)	-
20.	Rajasthan	Jodhpur	Rajasthan	(15) Jaipur (31.01.1977)
21.	Sikkim	Gangtok	Sikkim	-
22.	Uttarakhand	Nainital	Uttarakhand	-
23.	Manipur	Imphal	Manipur	
24.	Meghalaya	Shillong	Meghalaya	
25.	Tripura	Agartala	Tripura	
