GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 877 TO BE ANSWERED ON FEBRUARY 06, 2020

SELECTION OF SMART CITIES

No.877. MS. DIYA KUMARI:

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of suggestions given by the various State Governments for the selection of cities to be developed as Smart Cities;
- (b) the cities short-listed by the Government for developing them as Smart Cities;
- (c) the funds allocated for the development of the cities as Smart Cities, State/UT wise; and
- (d) the time period for the development of selected Smart Cities?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS

(SHRI HARDEEP SINGH PURI)

(a) The selection process of Smart Cities was based on cooperative and competitive federalism. For the first time, cities were selected for a Government of India urban development program through a competition which was conducted in two stages. In the first stage, States/UTs shortlisted potential Smart Cities based on predefined scoring criteria. In the second stage, competing cities prepared their Smart City Proposals (SCPs) as per guidelines and submitted them as part of the National competition. In Stage-I, all States/UTs shortlisted 98 potential Smart Cities to participate in Stage-II. Further, on the basis of requests received from States, 12 new potential Smart Cities (left out Capital cities and equal scoring cities) were also included to participate in All India Competition (Stage-II) of the Smart City Challenge Process. Thereafter, 100 cities were selected as Smart Cities in Four Rounds of Stage-II Challenge from January, 2016 to June, 2018.

- (b) The details of 100 Cities selected for developing as Smart Cities is given in Annexure-I.
- (c) As per Smart Cities Mission Statement and Guidelines, the Central Government proposes to give financial support to the extent of Rs. 48,000 crore over five years i.e. an average of Rs. 500 crore per city over the Mission period. An equal amount on a matching basis, is to be provided by the State/Urban Local Bodies. Apart from these funds, various cities have proposed to use funding from Public-Private Partnerships, loans, other resources, convergence with other Government Porgrammes/Mission as part of the SCPs.
- (d) The Smart Cities are expected to implement their SCPs in 5 years from the date of their selection.

<u>Annexure-I in reply to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 877 for answer on 6.2.2020 regarding Selection of Smart Cities by Ms. Diya Kumari, Hon'ble MP</u>

List of Cities selected in various Rounds under Smart Cities Mission

		2150 01	Smart City Mission(100 Cities)							
	Jan-16		May-16		Sep-16		Jun-17		Jan-18	
	20 selected from 97		13 selected from 23		27 selected from 63		30 selected from 45		10 selected from 15	
S. No.	Round 1 Cities	S. No.	Fast Track Cities	S. No.	Round 2 Cities	S. No.	Round 3 Cities	S. No.	Round 4 Cities	
1	Bhubaneswar	1	Lucknow	1	Amritsar	1	Thiruvanantapuram	1	Silvasa	
2	Pune	2	Warangal	2	Kalyan Dombivali	2	Rajkot	2	Erode	
3	Jaipur	3	Dharmshala	3	Ujjain	3	NayaRaipur	3	Diu	
4	Surat	4	Chandigarh	4	Tirupati	4	Amaravati	4	BiharSharif	
5	Kochi	5	Raipur	5	Nagpur	5	Patna	5	Bareilly	
6	Ahmadabad	6	New Town Kolkatta	6	Mangalore	6	Karimnagar	6	Itanagar	
7	Jabalpur	7	Bhagalpur	7	Vellore	7	Muzaffarpur	7	Moradabad	
8	Vishakhapatnam	8	Panaji	8	Thane	8	Puduchery	8	Saharanpur	
9	Solapur	9	Port Blair	9	Gwalior	9	Gandhinagar	9	Kavarati	
10	Davanagere	10	Imphal	10	Agra	10	Srinagar		Jun-18	
11	Indore	11	Ranchi	11	Nashik	11	Sagar	10	Shillong	
12	NDMC	12	Agartala	12	Raurkela	12	Karnal			
13	Coimbatore	13	Faridabad	13	Kanpur	13	Satna			
14	Kakinada			14	Madurai	14	B ngaluru			
15	Belgaum			15	Tumkur	15	Shimla			
16	Udaipur			16	Kota	16	Dehradun			
17	Guwahati			17	Thanjavur	17	Tirupppur			
18	Chennai			18	Namchi	18	Pimpri- Chinchwad			
19	Ludhiana			19	Jalandhar	19	Bilaspur			
20	Bhopal			20	Shimoga	20	Pasighat			
			-	21	Salem	21	Jammu			
				22	Ajmer	22	Dahod			
				23	Varanasi	23	Tirunelveli			
				24	Kohima	24	Thoothukudi			
				25	Hubli- Dharwad	25	Tiruchirapalli			
				26	Aurangabad	26	Jhansi			
				27	Vadodara	27	Aizawl			
						28	Allahabad			
			-			29	Aligarh			
						30	Gangtok			
