GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4652 TO BE ANSWERED ON 23RD MARCH, 2020

SETTING UP OF CENTRES TO CREATE AWARENESS AMONG PEOPLE ABOUT INDIAN CULTURE

†4652. SHRI RAVI KISHAN: SHRI VISHNU DAYAL RAM:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to set up any centre in the country for spreading of awareness of the cultural heritage of India;
- (b) if so, the State-wise/Union Territory-wise details thereof;
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (d) the steps taken or proposed to be taken by the Government for creating awareness about cultural heritage and values of India among the people in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) FOR CULTURE AND TOURISM (SHRI PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL)

(a) & (b) To protect, promote and preserve various forms of folk art and for spreading awareness of the cultural heritage of India throughout the country, the Government of India has already set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) with headquarters at Patiala, Nagpur, Udaipur, Prayagraj, Kolkata, Dimapur and Thanjavur. The member States of these ZCCs are annexed (Annexure). These ZCCs organize various cultural activities and programmes all over the country on regular basis for which annual grant-in-aid is provided to them by the Government of India.

(c) Does not arise.

(d) For creating awareness about cultural heritage and values of India among the people, Ministry of Culture, Government of India has organized Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsavs (RSMs) at New Delhi (November, 2015 and October, 2016), at Varanasi (December, 2016), at Bengaluru & Tawang (March, 2017), at Gujarat (October, 2017), at Karnataka (January, 2018), at Madhya Pradesh (February, 2018 & October, 2019) and at Tehri (May, 2018) and some other major festivals like Sanskriti Mahotsav at Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh (February, 2018), Kabir Festival 'Anhaad Naad' at Maghar, Uttar Pradesh (June, 2018). Further, all the ZCCs participated in the Kumbh Mela, 2019 at Prayagraj from January to March, 2019 by providing cultural support which was organized by Government of Uttar Pradesh.

Besides, all the ZCCs organize various cultural activities/programmes as per their respective approved annual programme calendar, out of which several such activities/programmes are held in close collaboration with their member States.

Annexure referred to in reply to parts (a) & (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. †4652 for 23.03.2020

SI. No.	Name of the Centre	Headquarte r	Member States
1.	North Zone Cultural Centre	Patiala	Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh and Chandigarh
2.	West Zone Cultural Centre	Udaipur	Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Union Territory of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli
3.	South Zone Cultural Centre	Thanjavur	Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Union Territories of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep and Puducherry
4.	South Central Zone Cultural Centre	Nagpur	Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Telangana
5.	Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre	Kolkata	Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Manipur, Odisha, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal and Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands
6.	North Central Zone Cultural Centre	Prayagraj	Bihar, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and NCT of Delhi
7.	North East Zone Cultural Centre	Dimapur	Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura

Member States of Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs)