GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4449 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20/03/2020

NEHRU SCIENCE CENTRES

4449. SHRI BENNY BEHANAN:

Will the Minister of SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY विज्ञान और प्रौद्योगिकी मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Nehru Science Centres working under his Ministry and their mandate, State/UT-wise and location-wise;
- (b) whether his Ministry has undertaken the review of the functioning of these Centres and if so, the details and findings thereof;
- (c) whether there is any proposal to increase the number of such science centres to spread scientific temper among people, especially youngsters; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, MINISTER OF EARTH SCIENCES AND MINISTER OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. HARSH VARDHAN)

स्वास्थ्य और परिवार कल्याण मंत्री, विज्ञान और प्रौद्योगिकी मंत्री और पृथ्वी विज्ञान मंत्री डॉ. हर्ष वर्धन

- (a) Sir, there is no Nehru Science Centre under Ministry of Science and Technology. However, the National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), an autonomous society under Ministry of Culture is having one national level science centre called 'Nehru Science Centre' at Mumbai.
- (b) The functioning of the Centre is reviewed by the Executive Committee, Governing Body and Society of NCSM, which are duly constituted by Ministry of Culture.
- (c) & (d): Science Centres set up by NCSM in different parts of the country and those developed and handed over to States and Union Territories to spread scientific temper among people, especially youngsters are listed at Annexure I & II.

National Council of Science Museums (NCSM)

Science Museums/Science Centres set up by NCSM and are functioning under the administrative control of $\,NCSM$

Sl.	Name of the NCSM Unit	Year of	Located in
No.		Establishment	State/UT
1.	Birla Industrial & Technological Museum, Kolkata	May 02, 1959	West Bengal
2.	Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum, Bangalore	July 27, 1965	Karnataka
3.	Shri Krishna Science Centre, Patna	Apr 14, 1978	Bihar
4.	District Science Centre, Purulia	Dec 15, 1982	West Bengal
5.	District Science Centre, Turuna District Science Centre, Gulbarga	Jan 6, 1984	Karnataka
6.	District Science Centre, Ohnrampur	Apr 27, 1984	Gujarat
7.	Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai	Nov 11, 1985	Maharashtra
8.	District Science Centre, Tirunelveli	Feb 27, 1987	Tamil Nadu
9.	Regional Science Centre, Lucknow	Sep 7, 1989	Uttar Pradesh
10.	Regional Science Centre, Bhubaneswar	Sep 18, 1989	Odisha
11.	National Science Centre, Delhi	Jan 9, 1992	Delhi
12.	Raman Science Centre & Planetarium,	Mar 7, 1992	Maharashtra
	Nagpur	,	
13.	Central Research Training Laboratory, Kolkata	Mar 13, 1993	West Bengal
14.	Regional Science Centre, Tirupati	Sep 23, 1993	Andhra Pradesh
15.	District Science Centre, Bardhaman	Jan 9, 1994	West Bengal
16.	Regional Science Centre, Guwahati	Mar 18, 1994	Assam
17.	Regional Science Centre, Bhopal	Jan 12, 1995	Madhya Pradesh
18.	District Science Centre, Dhenkanal	June 5, 1995	Odisha
19.	Sc. Park, Kapilas	June 5, 1995	Odisha
20.	Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Calicut	Jan 30, 1997	Kerala
21.	Science City, Kolkata	July 1, 1997	West Bengal
22.	North Bengal Science Centre, Siliguri	Aug 17, 1997	West Bengal
23.	Digha Science Centre , Digha	Aug 31, 1997	West Bengal
24.	Kurukshetra Panorama And Science	Mar 6, 2001	Haryana
	Centre,		
2.5	Kurukshetra	D 40 5004	
25.	Goa Science Centre, Panjim	Dec 19, 2001	Goa

Science Centres developed by NCSM and handed over to States/UT's after inauguration

Sl.	Science Centers/Museums	Year of	Located in
No.		Establishme	State/UT
		nt	
1.	Science Centre, Port Blair	May 30, 2003	A & N Island
2.	Mizoram Science Centre, Aizwal	July 26, 2003	Mizoram
3.	Nagaland Science Centre, Dimapur	September 14, 2004	Nagaland
4.	Manipur Science Centre, Manipur	May 18, 2005	Manipur
5.	Arunachal Pradesh Science Centre, Itanagar	Dec 3, 2005	Arunachal
		·	Pradesh
6.	Shillong Science Centre, Shillong, Meghalaya	Feb 27, 2006	Meghalaya
7.	Sikkim Science Centre, Gangtok	February 22, 2008	Sikkim
8.	Sub-Regional Science Centres, Kalimpong	October 2, 2008	West Bengal
9.	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Solapur	February 14, 2010	Maharashtra
10.	Regional Science Centre, Ranchi	November 29, 2010	Jharkhand
11.	Dharwad Regional Science Centre	February 27, 2012	Karnataka
12.	Chhattisgarh Science Centre, Raipur	July 13, 2012	Chhattisgarh
13.	Regional Science Centre, Jaipur	December 29, 2012	Rajasthan
14.	Pimpri Chinchwad Science Centre, Pune	February 8, 2013	Maharashtra
15.	Jorhat Science Centre & Planetarium	July 6, 2013	Assam
16.	Regional Science Centre, Coimbatore	May 6, 2013	Tamilnadu
17.	Sub Regional Science Centre, Jodhpur	August 17, 2013	Rajasthan
18.	Regional Science Centre, Pilikula, Mangalore	October 01, 2014	Karnataka
19.	Dr. Abdul Kalam Science Centre	May 03, 2015	Puducherry
20.	Regional Science Centre, Dehradun	Feb 03, 2016	Uttarakhand
21.	Bargarh Science Centre, Bargarh	January 21, 2020	Odisha