GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No.4205 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19.03.2020

FUNDS FOR CONSTRUCTION OF HAJ HOUSES

4205. SHRI CHHEDI PASWAN:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the funds released by the Government for construction of Haj Houses in the country during the year 2019-20 and the number of Haj Houses constructed, State-wise;
- (b) the total number of Haj pilgrims provided subsidy by the Government in the year 2019-20, State-wise;
- (c) whether the Government has provided funds for construction of Haj Houses and for Haj Yatra during the years 2014-2019; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a) to (d) The Central government has no scheme to construct Haj Houses in the country. Hence no funds are provided by the Central Government for this purpose. The State Governments may however, construct Haj Houses in the respective States through their State Haj Committees. In addition, the Haj Committee of India (HCoI), a statutory body, under the administrative control of this Ministry provides some financial assistance to State/ Union Territory Haj Committees (SHCs) for this purpose. As per the information received from HCoI, the number of Haj Houses in the country constructed by the SHCs, State/ UT-wise is annexed.

As regards subsidy on air travel of Haj pilgrims going through the Haj Committee of India (HCoI), the same has been discontinued with effect from Haj 2018 and that no Haj pilgrims was provided subsidy by the Government in the year 2019-20.

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4205 FOR 19.03.2020 RAISED BY SHRI CHHEDI PASWAN REGARDING FUNDS FOR CONSTRUCTION OF HAJ HOUSES

Haj Houses in the Country, State Governments/ UT Administrations wise

S.No.	State/ Union Territory	Place/ City
1.	Assam	Guwahati
2.	Bihar	Patna
3.	Gujarat	Ahmedabad
4.	Jammu & Kashmir	Srinagar
5.	Jharkhand	Ranchi
6.	Karnataka	Bengaluru
7.	Kerala	Calicut
8.	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal
9.	Maharashtra	Mumbai, Nagpur
10.	Rajasthan	Jaipur
11.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai
12.	Tripura	Agartala
13.	Telangana	Hyderabad
14.	Uttar Pradesh	Ghaziabad, Lucknow
15.	West Bengal	Kolkata