GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (MeitY)

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 4075

TO BE ANSWERED ON: 18.03.2020

TRAINING CENTRES FOR DIGITAL EDUCATION

4075. SHRIMATI CHINTA ANURADHA:

Will the Minister of Electronics and Information Technology be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has set up training centres in various districts and States for digital education of the poor people and if so, the details thereof along with the number of such centres set up during each of the last three years, State/UT-wise; and
- (b) whether the Government proposes to provide free Wi-Fi facilities to poor people of the country particularly in Andhra Pradesh and if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI SANJAY DHOTRE)

- (a): Key initiatives taken by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) for imparting Digital Education/Literacy for the citizens of the country including poor people are as under:-
- (i) National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology (NIELIT), an autonomous scientific society is actively engaged in capacity building and skill development in the areas of Information Technology (IT), Electronics, Communication Technologies and related verticals through its 42 Centres/Extension Centres operating in various States/UTs. It offers courses both in the formal as well as the non-formal sectors and is also one of the National Examination Bodies which accredits institutes/organizations for the conduct of courses in the non-formal sector. NIELIT is also networked through 924 accredited training institutions for training of O/A/B/C level courses under DOEACC Scheme and also through 10,246 facilitation centres engaged in training at various levels of digital literacy courses. The details of State/UT-wise NIELIT centres setup during the last three years is at Annexure-I.
- (ii) CSC e-Governance Services India Limited (CSC-SPV) has been setup as a special purpose vehicle incorporated under companies act 1956. The CSC-SPV is the implementing agency of several key schemes of Government including Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA) and Digital Villages. CSC-SPV has also established CSC Academies to provide education and skill-based training to the masses in rural and semi-urban India through Village Level Entrepreneurs (VLEs). The main objective of PMGDISHA scheme is to make six crore rural households digitally literate (one person per household), across States/UTs. The Digital Village project aims to cover 800 Gram Panchayats (GPs)/villages with at least one village per District per State/UT. The objective of the Digital Village project inter-alia includes creation of awareness and capacity building activities on IT systems. The details state-wise Training centres under PMGDISHA, Digital Villages and CSC Academies is given in **Annexure-II**.
- (b): Department of Telecommunications is implementing BharatNet project in a phased manner to provide broadband connectivity to all the Gram Panchayats (approx. 2,50,000) in the country. As part of BharatNet

project, the last mile connectivity, through Wi-Fi or any other suitable broadband access technology is to be provided in all Gram Panchayats (GPs). For the 1.23 lakh GPs (approx.) covered under BharatNet Phase-I, the provisioning of Wi-Fi Services has been assigned to Government of Rajasthan (for 10,000 GPs in Rajasthan) and rest to CSC e-Governance Services India Limited including over 1400 GPs in Andhra Pradesh. At present these Wi-Fi services are being provided free of cost.

Year wise details of augmentation of NIELIT own Centre during the last 3 years:-

Financial Year	No. of Centres	Location/State	
2017-18	2	Pali(Rajasthan), Haridwar (Uttarakhand)	
2018-19	4	Lakhanpura (Bihar), Majuli (Assam), Mandi (Himachal Pradesh), Tezu (Arunachal Pradesh)	
2019-20	Nil	N.A.	

Annexure-II

State-wise details in respect of CSC e-Governance Services India Limited:-

1. Training centres under PMGDISHA:

S.No.	State Name	2017-18	2018-19	2019-20
1	Andaman and Nicobar Isl.	7	25	19
2	Andhra Pradesh	3,501	1,452	4,654
3	Arunachal Pradesh	45	29	188
4	Assam	2,131	1,653	3,311
5	Bihar	5,319	3,807	19,657
6	Chandigarh	4	1	99
7	Chhattisgarh	6,102	1,751	2,958
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	1	2	5
9	Daman & Diu	3	7	1
10	Delhi	52	5	5
11	Goa	12	24	9
12	Gujarat	3,774	1,275	1,425
13	Haryana	4,384	2,463	1,070
14	Himachal Pradesh	1,510	518	441
15	Jammu And Kashmir	1,415	486	196
16	Jharkhand	4,896	862	1,106
17	Karnataka	1,367	1,280	1,438
18	Kerala	621	349	215
19	Ladakh	13	1	1
20	Lakshadweep	-	2	1
21	Madhya Pradesh	7,299	4,150	2,366
22	Maharashtra	5,353	6,147	9,866
23	Manipur	176	24	19
24	Meghalaya	151	271	93
25	Mizoram	27	35	55
26	Nagaland	45	33	32
27	Odisha	7,289	1,177	903
28	Puducherry	89	8	84
29	Punjab	3,356	3,104	1,303

30	Rajasthan	5,221	2,597	1,041
31	Sikkim	9	6	9
32	Tamil Nadu	2,989	2,022	543
33	Telangana	2,055	671	959
34	Tripura	214	284	153
35	Uttar Pradesh	18,269	10,483	11,521
36	Uttarakhand	1,514	749	1,398
37	West Bengal	3,329	1,122	1,751
Grand	Total	92,542	48,875	68,894

2. CSC Academy:

State-wise count of registered CSC Academies as on 13.03.2020			
S.No.	State	Count	
1	Andhra Pradesh	83	
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	
3	Assam	126	
4	Bihar	272	
5	Chhattisgarh	173	
6	Delhi	20	
7	Gujarat	171	
8	Haryana	91	
9	Himachal Pradesh	79	
10	Jammu & Kashmir	57	
11	Jharkhand	223	
12	Karnataka	151	
13	Kerala	53	
14	Madhya Pradesh	315	
15	Maharashtra	356	
16	Manipur	8	
17	Meghalaya	12	
18	Mizoram	3	
19	Nagaland	2	
20	Odisha	316	
21	Punjab	105	
22	Rajasthan	151	
23	Tamil Nadu	121	
24	Telangana	48	
25	Tripura	1	
26	Uttar Pradesh	931	
27	Uttarakhand	39	

28	West Bengal	213
Grand Total		4121

3. **Digital village**:

State-wise data of Digital Villages		
S.No	State/ UT	Count
1	Andaman Nicobar	1
2	Andhra Pradesh	31
3	Arunachal Pradesh	18
4	Assam	33
5	Bihar	39
6	Chhattisgarh	46
7	Dadar Nagar Haveli	1
8	Daman & Diu	2
9	Goa	2
10	Gujarat	34
11	Haryana	22
12	Himachal Pradesh	12
13	Jammu & Kashmir	22
14	Jharkhand	27
15	Karnataka	32
16	Kerala	14
17	Lakshadweep	1
18	Madhya Pradesh	53
19	Maharashtra	45
20	Manipur	15
21	Meghalaya	11
22	Mizoram	8
23	Nagaland	11
24	Odisha	30

25	Puducherry	4
26	Punjab	23
27	Rajasthan	33
28	Sikkim	4
29	Tamil Nadu	42
30	Telangana	31
31	Tripura	8
32	Uttar Pradesh	103
33	Uttarakhand	15
34	West Bengal	24
	Grand Total	797
