GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3825 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17.03.2020

SPMRM IN ANDHRA PRADESH

3825. SHRI MARGANI BHARAT:

Will the Minister of **RURAL DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether only 18 villages out of the total 1400 villages in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh have been identified under Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Rurban Mission (SPMRM);
- (b) if so, the reasons for identifying only one block and setting up only one cluster in the entire district of East Godavari;
- (c) the efforts being made by the Government to set up more and more clusters in more blocks;
- (d) the details of thematic economic growth that the Government proposes to develop through these clusters; and
- (e) the status of implementation of goals set for the above clusters in East Godavari in particular, and Andhra Pradesh in general, under the Rurban Mission?

ANSWER MINISTER OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a): 19 Gram Panchayats comprising of 92 villages in Rampachodavaram Mandal in East Godavari District have been approved as Rampachodavaram cluster under Phase 3 of Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM).

(b): The Ministry has identified sub-districts in each State to select the Clusters as per predefined methodology as mentioned in Framework of Implementation (FOI) of Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Rurban Mission (SPMRM), which factors in parameters such as (i) Decadal Growth in Rural Population (ii) Decadal Growth in Non-Farm work force participation (iii) Presence of Economic Clusters (iv) Presence of places of Tourism and Pilgrimage significance (v) Proximity to Transport Corridors, (vi) Decadal growth in Tribal Population and (vii) Current Tribal Literacy Rate. The clusters are selected and approved by States/ UTs and sent to Ministry for final approval. It is also mandated in the FOI of SPMRM that a 'Rurban cluster', would be a cluster of geographically contiguous villages with a population of about 25,000 to 50,000 in plain and coastal areas and with a population of 5.000 15,000 desert. tribal to in hillv or areas.

Accordingly, Andhra Pradesh has been allotted 13 SPMRM clusters out of the 300 clusters to be developed across the country under three phases of SPMRM. Rampachodavaram cluster in East Godavari district was selected by the State Government of Andhra Pradesh as Tribal cluster under Phase III of SPMRM.

(c): There is no proposal for setting up more clusters under the current Mission period as of now.

(d): Strengthening economic growth is one of the key priorities in cluster development. This is being achieved through investments in skill development linked to economic activities, employment generation through promotion of Self Help Groups(SHGs), agri- processing, tourism activities, etc.

(e): The status of implementation of SPRMRM clusters in East Godavari district and State of Andhra Pradesh is placed at **Annexure.**

Annexure

Statement referred to in reply to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.3825 scheduled to be answered on 17-03-2020

Status of implementation of goals set in East Godavari and Andhra Pradesh in general:

1. Physical Progress:

Goals	Rampachodavaram cluster, East Godavari Dist.	Andhra Pradesh (13 Clusters)	
Approval of Cluster(s)	Approved	All Clusters approved	
Approval of Integrated Cluster Action Plan (ICAP)	Approved	All ICAPs approved	
Approval of Detailed	Approved by State Level	All DPRs approved by State	
Project Report (DPR)	Empowered Committee	Level Empowered Committee	

2. Financial Progress:

Name of the Cluster/ State	**		Expenditure on ground (Rs. in crore)			
	Convergence	Critical Gap Funds (CGF)	Total	Convergence	Critical Gap Funds (CGF)	Total
Rampachodavaram cluster, East Godavari District	40.79	15.00	55.79	0.00	0.00	0.00
Andhra Pradesh (13 clusters)	917.41	360.00	1277.41	411.90	109.71	521.61
