GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH RESEARCH

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3321 TO BE ANSWERED ON 13TH MARCH, 2020

RURAL HEALTH RESEARCH UNITS

3321. SHRI ANTO ANTONY:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to establish Model Rural Health Research Units in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof including the number of such units established in the country, yearwise and State-wise;
- (c) the salient features of such research units;
- (d) whether the Government has any plan to set up more units in the country; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the steps taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SHRI ASHWINI KUMAR CHOUBEY)

- (a): The Government has been implementing a Central Sector Scheme for Establishment of Model Rural Health Research Units (MRHRU) since 2013-14.
- (b): Details are annexed as Annexure.
- (c): The salient features of such research units are :-
 - I. To develop state/area specific models depending upon the disease profile, morbidity patterns and local conditions, for transfer of technology for providing better health care services to the rural masses.
- II. To train the health professionals under State Health Systems for use of modern field adaptable methods and develop models for translational purposes to improve health status of rural masses.
- III. To undertake various research projects in close coordination with the State Government institutions and others that are relevant and beneficial to the rural population.
- (d) & (e): These units are set-up as per proposals received from the State Governments in accordance with the guidelines of the scheme and this is a continuing process.

Model Rural Health Research Units (MRHRUs) established in the States

1 2 3	Assam Himachal Pradesh Karnataka	2013-14 2013-14
		2013-14
3	Karnataka	
		2013-14
4	Punjab	2013-14
5	Rajasthan	2013-14
6	Tamil Nadu	2013-14
7	Tripura	2013-14
8	Maharashtra	2013-14
9	Andhra Pradesh	2014-15
10	Chhattisgarh	2014-15
11	Madhya Pradesh	2014-15
12	Odisha	2014-15
13	Jharkhand	2017-18
14	West Bengal	2017-18
15	Gujarat	2018-19
16	Jammu & Kashmir	2018-19
17	Kerala	2018-19
18	Nagaland	2018-19
19	Arunachal Pradesh	2019-20
20	Meghalaya	2019-20
21	Puducherry	2019-20
22	Haryana	2019-20