## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MICRO, SMALL AND MEDIUM ENTERPRISES

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3035 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12.03.2020

### PROMOTION OF VILLAGE INDUSTRIES

### 3035. SHRI PRATAPRAO JADHAV:

Will the Minister of MICRO, SMALL AND MEDIUM ENTERPRISES be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of zones created to promote village industries;
- (b) the names of the States included in these zones;
- (c) whether it is proposed to include some other States as well in these zones; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF MICRO, SMALL AND MEDIUM ENTERPRISES (SHRI NITIN GADKARI)

(a)&(b): The Government of India, through Khadi and Village Industries Commission (KVIC) functions with 6 Zonal offices located all over the country for promotion of Village Industries. The names of the States/UTs included in the Zones are as follows:

Sl. No.	Name of the Zone	Head- quarters	States/UTs of the Zone
1.	North Zone	New Delhi	1. 1.Delhi 2.Haryana 3.Himachal Pradesh 4.Punjab 5.Rajasthan 6.Jammu & Kashmir-UT 7.Ladakh-UT 8.Chandigarh-UT
2	Central Zone	Bhopal	1.Chhattisgarh 2.Madhya Pradesh, 3.Uttarakhand 4.Uttar Pradesh
3	North East Zone	Guwahati	1.Assam 2.Arunachal Pradesh 3.Manipur 4.Meghalaya 5.Mizoram 6.Nagaland 7. Sikkim 8.Tripura
4	East Zone	Kolkata	1.Bihar 2.Jharkhand 3.Odisha 4.West Bengal 5.A&N Islands-UT
5	West Zone	Mumbai	1.Goa 2.Gujarat (including Daman & Diu-UT) 3.Maharashtra (including Dadra & Nagar Haveli-UT)
6	South Zone	Bengaluru	1.Andhra Pradesh 2.Telangana 3.Karnataka 4.Kerala 5.Tamil Nadu 6.Puducherry-UT 7.Lakshadweep-UT

- (c): At present, all the States are included in these zones.
- (d): Does not arise.