#### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

## LOKSABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2710 TO BE ANSWERED ON 06.03.2020

#### **Emission from Coal based Power Plants**

### 2710. SHRI P.K. KUNHALIKUTTY: SHRIMATI JYOTSNA CHARANDAS MAHANT:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) has recently issued notices to many coal based power plants for non-compliance with international emission norms;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether several coal based power plants owned by private and Government agencies situated at Thoothukudi in Tamil Nadu are releasing heavy sulphur dioxide, lead, mercury, nickel, cadmium, arsenic and other heavy metal contents; and
- (d) if so, the details of such thermal power plants at Thoothukudi along with the details of effluents being released by each plant?

### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI BABUL SUPRIYO)

- (a) & (b) The Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) has issued show cause directions to 31 units of 14 thermal power plants on 31.01.2020 for non-compliance of CPCB's directions dated 11.12.2017 issued for ensuring compliance of emission standards prescribed by Government of India . The list ofthermal power plants is at Annexure.
- (c) & (d) Metals like mercury, cadmium, arsenic, lead and chromium are emitted intrace quantities from coal/lignite based thermal power plants. However, the major emissions from these plants are of Particulate Matter (PM), Sulphur Dioxide (SO<sub>2</sub>) and Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx), for which emission standards have been notified. Emission standards have also been notifiedfor mercury.

In Thoothukudi district of Tamil Nadu, there are 4 thermal power plants comprising of 11 units. Details of effluent disposal at these plants are as below:

Sl. No.	Thermal Power Plants	Capacity, MW	Sector	Effluent disposal
1.	Tuticorin Thermal Power	1050	Govt.	Sea Water Based
	Plant, Tangedco	(5*210)	(State)	

2.	NLC Tamil Nadu Power	1000	Govt.	Sea Water Based
	Ltd. (JV of Tangedco and	(2*500)	(Centre)	
	NCL India Ltd.)			
3.	Coastal EnergenPvt. Ltd.,	1200	Private	Sea Water Based
	Mutiara	(2*600)		
4.	IndBarath Thermal	300	Private	ZLD unit. Air-
	Power Ltd.	(2*150)		cooled condensers.
		, ,		(Not in operation
				since April 2016).

\*\*\*\*

#### **ANNEXURE**

Annexure referred in reply to the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2710 due for answer on 06.03.2020 regarding 'Emission from Coal based Power Plants'

List of Thermal Power Plants which were issued show cause directions by CPCB on 31.01.2020

Sl. No.	t of Thermal Power Plants which were issued show cause directions by CPCB on 31.01 Sl. No. Thermal Power Plant Unit No. FGD Timeline as						
51. 110.	Thermal Fower Flant	(Capacity in	CPCB directions				
		(Capacity iii MW)	dated 11.12.2017				
1.	VizagHinduja TPP, HNPCL,		30.09.2019				
1.		2 (520)	30.09.2019				
	Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh						
2.	Sri DamodaramSanjeevaiah TPP,	2 (800)	31.12.2019				
	APPDCL, SPSR Nellore, Andhra Pradesh						
3.	Aravalli Power Corporation Limited	1 (500)	31.12.2019				
	(Indira Gandhi STPP), NTPC, Jhajjar,	2 (500)					
	Haryana	3 (500)					
4.	Panipat Thermal Power Station,	6 (210)	31.12.2019				
	HPGCL, Panipat, Haryana	7 (250)					
		8 (250)					
5.	DeenBandhuChhotu Ram TPS, HPGCL,	1 (300)	31.12.2019				
	Yamunanagar, Haryana	2 (300)					
6.	Rajiv Gandhi TPP, HPGCL, Hisar,	1 (600)	31.12.2019				
	Haryana	2 (600)					
7.	Rajpura Thermal Power Plant,	1 (700)	31.12.2019				
	Nabha Power Ltd, Patiala, Punjab	2 (700)					
8.	Talwandi Sabo Power Ltd, Mansa, Punjab	1 (660)	31.12.2019				
0.	Taiwandi Saoo Tower Etd, Mansa, Tunjao	2 (660)	31.12.2017				
		3 (660)					
9.	Guru Hargobind Singh TPS, PSPCL,	1 (210)	31.12.2019				
'.	LehraMohabbat, Bhatinda, Punjab	2 (210)	31.12.2019				
		3 (250)					
		4 (250)					
10.	Singareni Thermal Power Project, SCCL,	1 (600)	31.12.2019				
	Adilabad, Telangana	2 (600)	30.09.2019				
11.	Kothagudem (New) Thermal Power	11 (500)	30.09.2019				
11.	Station, TSGENCO, Khammam,	11 (300)	30.07.2017				
	Telangana						
12.	North Chennai Thermal Power Station-II,	1 (600)	31.12.2019				
	TANGEDCO, Chennai, Tamilnadu	- (000)	5111212019				
13.	National Capital Thermal Power Station,	3 (210)	31.12.2019				
	NTPC Dadri,	4 (210)					
	Gautambudhnagar, U.P	5 (490)					
	_	6 (490)					
14.	Harduaganj Thermal Power Station,	8 (250)	31.12.2019				
		9 (250)	•				