GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COAL LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO - 2150 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.03.2020

Coal Blocks

2150. SHRI DEEPAK BAIJ:

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the coal blocks in Chhattisgarh for which the Government has received request for auction/allotment;

(b) whether the State Government is bearing loss of royalty due to long pendency of auction/allotment of coal blocks; and

(c) if so, the details thereof and the reasons due to which auction of coal block situated in Chhattisgarh is stalled?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS, COAL AND MINES (SHRI PRALHAD JOSHI)

(a) to (c): Requests have been received from Government of Chhattisgarh for allocation of Tara, Morga-I, Morga-II and Durgapur-II/Sarya coal mines located in Chhattisgarh. Durgapur-II/Sarya coal mine has been allotted to KPCL for the purpose of own consumption for Power on 16.12.2019. Of the remaining 3 mines, two coal mines are falling under areas which need to be conserved and should be avoided (Tara & Morga-I) and one coal mine is in High Conservation Value zone (Morga-II), as conveyed by MoEF&CC. Also, a matter in respect of Tara coal mine is *sub judice*.

Out of 42 coal mines under the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 that are located in Chhattisgarh, 17 coal mines have so far been allocated. Of these 17 mines, 3 mines, namely, Durgapur-II/Taraimar, Durgapur-II/Sarya and Bhaskarpara have been allocated in the recently concluded tranches of auction and allotment. And, of the remaining 25 mines that are unallocated, 7 mines are in High Conservation Value Zone as conveyed by MoEF&CC, 7 mines fall in area which needs to be conserved and should be avoided as conveyed by MoEF&CC and the matter in respect of 3 mines is *sub judice*.
