GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 215 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.02.2020

NATIONAL CHILD LABOUR PROJECT

215. DR. UMESH G. JADHAV:

Will the Minister of LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT be pleased to state:

- (a)whether any notification has been issued in all districts of the country regarding National Child Labour Project (NCLP) societies;
- (b)if so, the details thereof;
- (c)the details of the new NCLP societies set up in order to complete new Central Sector for rehabilitation of bonded labourers;
- (d)whether it is true that NCLP Scheme has been discontinued in Karnataka; and
- (e)if so, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (IC) FOR LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT (SHRI SANTOSH KUMAR GANGWAR)

(a) to (c): The Government had started the National Child Labour Project (NCLP) Scheme in year 1988 to rehabilitate working children rescued from any occupations or processes as mentioned in part 'B' of the Schedule to the Child and Adolescent Labour (Prohibition and Regulation) Act, 1986. The scheme is reviewed and evaluated from time to time for its effective implementation.

The entire project is implemented through District Project Society (DPS) under the Chairmanship of administrative head of the district, namely; District Magistrate/Collector/Deputy Commissioner of the District. The new DPS is set up based on the survey conducted in the districts of the country. Presently the scheme is sanctioned in 324 districts of India. The detail of such districts is annexed.

- (d): No, Sir.
- (e): Question does not arise.

* * * * *

*

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 215 for 03.02.2020 BY DR. UMESH G. JADHAV REGARDING NATIONAL CHILD LABOUR PROJECT.

Sl.	Name of State	No. of	No. of	Name of District
No.		NCLP Districts	Operational sanctioned Districts	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	13	5	Anantapur, Chittor, Kadapa, Guntur, Kurnool , Nellore , Prakasam, Srikakulam , Vizianagaram, Vishakhapatnam, West Godavari, East Godavari, and Krishna .
2.	Assam	5	2	Nagaon, Kamrup, Bongaigaon, Nalbari and Lakhimpur
3.	Bihar	24	0	Nalanda, Saharsa, Jamui, Katihar, Araria, Gaya, East Champaran, West Champaran, Madhepura, Patna, Supaul, Samastipur, Madhubani, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Nawada, Khagaria, Sitamarhi, Kishanganj, Begusarai, Banka, Saran, Purnia and Bhagalpur
4.	Chhattisgarh	8	0	Durg, Bilaspur, Rajnandgaon, Surguja, Raigarh, Raipur, Dantewada and Korba
5.	Gujarat	9	3	Surat , Panchmahal, Kutch (Bhuj), Banaskantha, Dahod, Vadodara , Bhavnagar, Ahmedabad and Rajkot
6.	Haryana	3	2	Gurgaon, Faridabad and Panipat
7.	Jammu & Kashmir	3	1	Srinagar, Jammu and Udhampur
8.	Jharkhand	8	5	Garwha, Sahibganj, Dumka, Pakur, West Singhbhum (Chaibasa), Ranchi, Palamu, and Hazaribagh
9.	Karnataka	17	4	Bijapur, Raichur , Dharwad, Bangalore Rural , Bangalore Urban, Belgaum , Koppal, Devangere, Mysore, Bagalkot, Chitradurga, Gulbarga, Bellary , Kolar, Mandya, Havery and Tumkur.
10.	Madhya Pradesh	22	8	Mandsaur, Gwalior, Ujjain, Barwani, Rewa, Dhar, East Nimar(Khandwa), Rajgarh , Chhindwara, Shivpuri, Sidhi, Guna, Shajapur, Ratlam, West Nimar(Khargon), Jhabua, Damoh, Sagar, Jabalpur, Satna, Indore and Katni.
11.	Maharashtra	18	11	Solapur, Thane, Sangli, Jalgaon, Nandurbar, Nanded, Nasik, Yavatmal, Dhule, Beed, Amravati, Jalna, Aurangabad, Gondia, Mumbai Suburban, Pune, Buldana and Parbhani.
12.	Nagaland	1	0	Dimapur
13.	Odisha	24	3	Angul, Balasore, Bargarh, Bolangir, Cuttack, Deogarh , Gajapati (Udayagiri), Ganjam, Jharsuguda , Kalahandi, Koraput, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Nabarangpur, Nuapada, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Sonepur, Jajpur, Keonjhar , Dhenkenal, Khurda, Nayagarh and Sundergarh.
14.	Punjab	3	3	Jalandhar, Ludhiana and Amritsar

1.5		27	-	
15.	Rajasthan	27	1	Jaipur, Udaipur, Tonk, Jodhpur, Ajmer, Alwar, Jalore, Churu, Nagaur, Chittaurgarh, Banswara , Dhaulpur, Sikar, Dungarpur, Bharatpur, Bikaner, Jhunjhunu, Bundi, Jhalawar, Pali, Bhilwara, Sri Ganganagar, Barmer, Dausa, Hanumangarh, Kota and Baran.
16.	Tamil Nadu	18	15	Chidambaranar/Toothikudi (Tuticorin),
				Coimbatore, Dharmapuri, Vellore, Salem,
				Tiruchirapallli, Tirunelveli, Krishnagiri,
				Chennai, Erode, Dindigul, Theni. Kanchipuram,
				Thiruvannamallai, Tiruvallur, Pudukkottai,
17		21		Nammakkal and Virudhunagar.
17.	Telangana	31	3	Hyderabad, Karimnagar, Khammam, Nizamabad,
				Rangareddy, Warangal, Nalgonda, Medak,
				Mehbubnagar, Adilabad, Mancherial, Nirmal,
				Komuram Bheem Asifabad, Jagtiyal, Warrangal
				(Urban), Jayashankar Bhupalpally, Jangaon,
				Sangareddy, Siddipet, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool,
				Jogulambab Gajwal, Suryapet, Medchal Malkajgiri,
				Vikarabad, Mahabubabad, Pedapally, Rajanna
				Sircilla, Bhadradri Kothagudem, Yadadri
18.	Uttar Pradesh	56	8	Bhuvanagiri and Kamareddy . Varanasi, Mirzapur , Bhadohi (Sant Ravi Das
10.	Uttal Fladesh	50	0	Nagar), Bulandshahar, Saharanpur, Azamgarh,
				Bijnour, Gonda, Kheri, Bahraich, Balrampur ,
				Hardoi, Barabanki, Sitapur, Faizabad, Badaun,
				Gorakhpur, Kushinagar , Kannuaj, Shajahanpur,
				Rae Bareli, Unnao, Sultanpur, Fatehpur, Shravasti,
				Pratapgarh , Basti, Sonebhadra, Mau, Kaushambi,
				Banda, Ghaziabad, Jaunpur, Rampur, Bareilly,
				Lucknow, Meerut, Etawah, Agra, Ghazipur,
				Mathura, Etah, Moradabad, Allahabad, Kanpur
				Nagar, Aligarh, Ferozabad , Ballia, Sambhal, Hapur,
				Mainpuri, Sant Kabir Nagar, Gautam Budh Nagar,
				Jhansi, Lalitpur and Maharajganj.
19.	Uttarakhand	13	1	Dehradun , Chamoli, Nainital, Champawat, Almora,
				Haridwar, Tehri Garhwal, Pauri Garhwal, Udham
				Singh Nagar, Pithoragarh, Rudraprayag, Bageshwar
				and Uttarkashi.
20.	West Bengal	20	13	Burdwan, North Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur,
20.	west bengal	20	15	North 24-Parganas, South 24-Parganas, Kolkata,
				Murshidabad, West Midnapore, Maldah,
				Bankura, Purulia, Birbhum, Nadia, Hoogli,
				Howrah, Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar, East
				Midnapore, Alipurduar and Darjeeling.
21.	Delhi	1	0	NCT of Delhi
	Total	324	88	