# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2100 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.03.2020

#### GAUGE CONVERSION

#### 2100. **PROF. SAUGATA RAY:**

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of existing Metre Gauge railway lines in the country, zone wise;
- (b) the details of Metre Gauge converted into Broad Gauge since the last five years, zone wise;
- (c) whether the conversion works are far behind the proposed target; and
- (d) if so, the reasons therefor and action taken by the Government in this regard?

#### ANSWER

### MINISTER OF RAILWAYS AND COMMERCE & INDUSTRY

### (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\* \* \* \* \*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2100 BY PROF. SAUGATA RAY TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 04.03.2020 REGARDING GAUGE CONVERSION

#### (a) The details of existing Metre Gauge railway lines in the country,

zone-wise as on 31.03.2019, is as follows:-

ſ	Railways	East	North	North	North	North	Southern	South	Western	Total
		Central	Central	Eastern	Frontier	Western		Central		
	MG KM	265.58	11.48	483.52	0.34	499.61	247.37	175.93	1154.96	2838.79

(b) : The details of Metre Gauge railway lines converted into Broad Gauge during last five years, zone-wise, are appended.

(c) and (d) : No, Sir. Presently, Indian Railways have taken up 55 ongoing Gauge Conversion Projects (Metre Gauge & Narrow Gauge) of 7,275 km length, costing ₹56,135 crore, which are in different stages of execution/planning/sanction, out of which, commissioning of 3,573 km length has been achieved and expenditure of ₹19,640 crore has been incurred up to March, 2019.

The completion of any Railway project depends on various factors like quick land acquisition by State Government, forest clearance by officials of forest department, shifting of infringing utilities (both underground and over ground), statutory clearances from various authorities, geological and topographical conditions of area, law and order situation in the area of project site, number of working months in a year for a particular project site due to climatic conditions, encountering unforeseen conditions like earthquake, flood, excessive rains, strikes of labour, orders of Hon'ble Courts, situation and conditions of working agencies/contractors etc. All these factors vary from project to project and site to site and affect the completion time and cost of the project, which is finally worked out at the completion stage.

In the overall interest of the nation and to ensure that projects are completed in time without cost overrun, lot of monitoring is done in Railways at various levels (field level, divisional level, zonal level and Board level) and regular meetings are held with the officials of State Government and concerned authorities to resolve the pending issues that are obstructing the progress of projects.

To ensure that projects are completed even before time, Railway has adopted the concept of incentives to the contractor in the form of bonus clause in contracts which will further enhance the pace of execution of projects.

-2-

\* \* \* \*

## APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2100 BY PROF. SAUGATA RAY TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 04.03.2020 REGARDING GAUGE CONVERSION

SI. No.	Railway	SECTION	YEAR
1	ER	BARDHAMAN-KAWE	2017-18
		KAWE-AHMEDPUR	2017-18
2	NER	CHHAPRA JN-THAWE	2016-17
		AISHBAG-MAILANI	2019-20
		BARHNI-GONDA JN	2015-16
		BAREILLY-KASHGANJ	2015-16
		BHOJIPUR-PILIBHIT	2016-17
		PILIBHIT-TANAKPUR	2017-18
3	NFR	RANGIYA-RANGAPARA	2013-14
		LUMDING JN-SILCHAR	2015-16
		BADARPUR JN-AGARTALA	2016-17
		KATAKHAL JN-BHAIRABI	2016-17
		ARUNACHAL-JIRIBAM	2016-17
		KARIMGANJ JN-MAISHASHAN	2016-17
		BRAIGRAM-DULLABCHERA	2016-17
		RANGAPARA NORTH-MURKONGSELEK	2015-16
		BALIPARA-BHALUKPONG	2015-16
		NEW MAL JN-CHANGRABANDHA	2016-17
4	NWR	SIKAR-LOHARU	2014-15
		SURATPURA-HANUMANGARH	2015-16
		MAKARANA-PARBATSAR	2015-16
		RATANGARH-SARDARSAHAR	2016-17
		SIKAR-FATHAPUR	2016-17
		SIKAR-CHURU	2016-17
		FATHAPUR-SEKHAWATI-CHURU	2016-17
		SIKAR-PALSANA	2017-18
		PALSANA-RINGAS	2017-18
		RINGAS-DHERAJKABAG	2019-20
		HIMATNAGAR-RAIGHADH RD	2019-20
		UDAIPUR CITY-KHARWA CHANDA	2019-20
5	SECR	JABALPUR-GONDIA	2019-20
		NAINPUR-CHALAIDONGRI	2017-18
		ETWARI-BHIMALGONDI	2018-19
		CHHINDWARA-BHANDARKUD	2017-18
6	SR	POLLACHI-PALAKKAD	2015-16
		SENGOTTAI-NEW ARYANKAVU	2016-17
		EDAMANN-PUNALUR	2016-17
		POLLACHI-PODANUR	2017-18
		NEW ARYANKAVU-EDAMANN	2017-18
		PUTTUKOTTAI-KARAIKKUDI	2017-18
		PUTTUKOTTAI-TIRUTHURAIPUNDI	2019-20
7	WR	RATLAM-MAU JN-KHANDWA	2014-15
		RAU-AMBEDKAR NAGAR	2015-16
		LAXMIBAINAGAR-INDORE	2014-15
		DHOSAWA-RATLAM	2016-17
		INDORE-RAU	2016-17
		BHUJ-DESALPUR	2017-18
1			0040 40
		ASWARWA-RAKHIAL	2018-19
		ASWARWA-RAKHIAL RAKHIAL-HIMMAT NAGAR	2018-19