#### LOK SABHA

#### **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1326**

#### TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.02.2020

#### Promotion of CNG and PNG

#### 1326. SHRI SANGAM LAL GUPTA: SHRI RAMDAS C. TADAS:

#### पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to promote the use of CNG and PNG to control pollution;
- (b) if so, the cities of Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra which have been connected to CNG and PNG supply so far along with the cities proposed to be connected in the near future;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to connect Pratapgarh in Uttar Pradesh and Wardha and Amravati in Maharashtra with CNG and PNG supply by opening CNG and PNG stations there:
- (d) if so, the details thereof along with the time by which it is likely to be done; and
- (e) if not, the reasons therefor?

#### **ANSWER**

पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

### (श्री धर्मेन्द्र प्रधान(

## MINISTER OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

- (a): Government has taken a series of decisions to promote use of CNG and PNG.
- (b) to (e): Development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) networks supports the availability and accessibility of natural gas in form of Piped Natural Gas (PNG) to households, industrial uses and Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) for transportation uses. Petroleum & Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB) is the authority to grant authorization to the entities for developing of CGD network in Geographical Areas (GAs) as per PNGRB Act, 2006. PNGRB identifies GAs for authorizing the development of CGD network in synchronization with the development of natural gas pipeline connectivity and natural gas availability. About

232 GAs covering 407 districts spread over 27 States/UTs including Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra have been allowed for the development of CGD networks. Details of GAs authorized in the state of Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh are given at **Annexure**. Bharat Gas Resources Limited has been authorized to develop CGD network in Pratapgarh district in Uttar Pradesh as part of Amethi, Pratapgarh and Rai Bareli Districts GA in year 2018. Wardha and Amravati districts in the state of Maharashtra are to be covered in synchronization with the development of natural gas pipeline connectivity and natural gas availability.

#### <u>Annexure</u>

# ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (b) TO (e) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1326 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.02.2020 REGARDING PROMOTION OF CNG AND PNG

#### List of Geographical Areas covered till 10th CGD bidding round.

SI	State/UT	Geographical Areas
No.		
1.	Maharashtra	Palgarh district & Thane Rural, Raigarh district (excluding area already authorized), Pune district (areas already authorized), Ratnagiri district, Solapur district, Kolhapur district, Mumbai and Greater Mumbai, Pune city including Pimpri-Chinchwad and adjoining contiguous areas Hinjewadi, Chakan, Talegaon, Thane (Urban and adjoining Municipalities), Ahmednagar & Aurangabad Districts; Latur & Osmanabad Districts; Sangli & Satara Districts; Sindhudurg District
2.	Maharashtra & Gujarat	Valsad (Except areas already authorized), Dhule & Nashik Districts
3.	Uttar Pradesh	Mathura (part) district, Meerut (part) district, Allahabad (part) district, Jhansi (part) district, Saharanpur district, Bulandshahr (part) district, Baghpat district, Bareilly (part) district, Kanpur (part) district, Agra, Firozabad TTZ, Lucknow, Khurja, Moradabad (Part) district, Varanasi district, Gautambudh Nagar, Ghaziabad & Hapur District, Bulandshahr District (Except areas already authorized), Aligarh & Hathras Districts; Allahabad District (Except areas already authorized), Bhadohi & Kaushambi Districts; Amethi, Pratapgarh & Raebareli Districts; Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat & Etawah Districts; Faizabad & Sultanpur Districts; Gorakhpur, Sant Kabir Nagar & Kushinagar Districts; Meerut District (Except areas already authorized), Muzaffarnagar & Shamli Districts; Moradabad (Except areas already authorized) District: Unnao (Except areas already authorized) District: Azamgarh, Mau and Ballia Districts; Bareilly (Except area already authorized) District, Pilibhit and Rampur Districts; Basti and Ambedkarnagar Districts; Farrukhabad, Etah and Hardoi Districts; Gonda and Barabanki Districts; Jaunpur and Ghazipur Districts; Kanpur (Except area already authorized) District, Fatehpur and Hamirpur Districts; Mainpuri and Kannauj Districts, Mirzapur, Chandauli and Sonbhadra Districts; Shahjahanpur and Budaun Districts;
4.	Uttar Pradesh & Uttarakhand	Bijnor and Nainital Districts
5.	Madhya Pradesh & Uttar Pradesh	Jhansi (Except area already authorized) District, Bhind, Jalaun, Lalitpur and Datia Districts