GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.: 1206 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.02.2020

MONUMENTS OF NATIONAL IMPORTANCE

+1206 DR. MANOJ RAJORIA:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number and details of the monuments or sites declared of national importance by the Archaeological Survey of India;
- (b) the funds spent on such monuments and sites during the last five years; and
- (c) the number and details of the cities selected so far under the Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY)?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR CULTURE AND TOURISM (PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL)

- (a) There are 3691 monuments/sites declared as of national importance. The state-wise distribution is given at Annexure.
- (b) Funds spent on conservation, preservation and annual maintenance of these monuments during the last five years is as under-

Financial Year	Expenditure incurred (Amount in Lacs)
2014-15	23551.95
2015-16	26746.25
2016-17	30129.37
2017-18	41076.79
2018-19	40502.01

(c) As per the information received from the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, the 12 cities have been selected under Heritage City and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY). Their details are as under:

SI. No.	City	State	SI. No.	City	State
1.	Ajmer	Rajasthan	7.	Kanchee-	Tamil Nadu
				puram	
2.	Amravati	Andhra Pradesh	8.	Velankanni	Tamil Nadu
3.	Amritsar	Punjab	9.	Mathura	Uttar Pradesh
4.	Badami	Karnataka	10.	Varanasi	Uttar Pradesh
5.	Dwarka	Gujarat	11.	Puri	Odisha
6.	Gaya	Bihar	12.	Warangal	Telangana

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1206 FOR 10.02.2020

Abstract of Centrally Protected Monuments under the Jurisdiction of Archaeological Survey of India

SI.No.	Name of State	Nos. of Monuments
1.	Andhra Pradesh	129
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	03
3.	Assam	55
4.	Bihar	70
5.	Chhattisgarh	47
6.	Daman & Diu (U. T.)	12
7.	Goa	21
8.	Gujarat	203
9.	Haryana	91
10.	Himachal Pradesh	40
11.	Jammu & Kashmir (U. T.)	56
12.	Jharkhand	13
13.	Ladakh (U. T.)	14
14.	Karnataka	506
15.	Kerala	28
16.	Madhya Pradesh	292
17.	Maharashtra	286
18.	Manipur	01
19.	Meghalaya	08
20.	Mizoram	01
21.	Nagaland	04
22.	N.C.T. Delhi	174
23.	Odisha	80
24.	Puducherry (U.T.)	07
25.	Punjab	33
26.	Rajasthan	163
27.	Sikkim	03
28.	Telangana	08
29.	Tamil Nadu	413
30.	Tripura	08
31.	Uttar Pradesh	745
32.	Uttarakhand	42
33.	West Bengal	135
	TOTAL	3691