# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

## LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.\*319 ANSWERED ON 16.03.2020

#### **UPGRADATION OF ADVENTURE TOURISM SITES**

### \*319. SHRI K. MURALEEDHARAN:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to upgrade adventure tourism sites in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government has received any proposal in this regard from the State Government of Kerala for financial grants; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE)
(SHRI PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL)

(a) to (d): A statement is laid on the table of the House.

\*\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. \*319 ANSWERED ON 16.03.2020 REGARDING UPGRADATION OF ADVENTURE TOURISM SITES.

(a) & (b): The Ministry of Tourism has recognized 'Adventure Tourism' as a 'Niche Tourism' product to promote India as a 365 days' destination and attract tourists with specific interest. A Task Force on Adventure Tourism has been set up in October 2016 to act as a forum for resolving issues related to development and promotion of Adventure Tourism in the country. The year 2018 was declared and promoted as the 'Year of Indian Adventure'. The MoT under its voluntary scheme grants Approval to bonafide Adventure Tour Operators as per Guidelines. Adventure Tourism is regularly highlighted for promotion as part of the Incredible India Campaign in the print, electronic, online and outdoor media in India and abroad as well as at the various tourism exhibitions.

The Ministry of Tourism along with the Adventure Tour Operators Association of India (ATOAI) has launched the "Indian Adventure Tourism Guidelines (Version 2.0) – 2018" on 'Safety and Quality Norms for Adventure Tourism in India'. The guidelines list the basic minimum standards for adventure tourism and cover 31 land, air and water-based activities. All the State Governments / UT Administrations have been advised to adopt and implement these Guidelines.

Since 2014-15, the Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned 77 projects worth for Rs.6035.70 Crores to 30 States and UTs covering the thematic circuits under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme. The components of Adventure Tourism are the part of 33 projects covering 21 states & 1 UT sanctioned under Swadesh Darshan Scheme from the year 2014-15. The details are annexed.

(c) & (d): Ministry of Tourism, Government of India had sanctioned the proposed project from the State Government of Kerala 'Development of Pathanamthitta – Gavi - Vagamon - Thekkady as Eco-Tourism Circuit in Idukki and Pathanamthitta Districts in Kerala under Swadesh Darshan Scheme in the year 2015-16 with an amount Rs.76.55 Crores.

Further State Government of Kerala informed that, Eco - Adventure Tourism at Vagamon had also been constructed as a part of the Development of Pathanamthitta- Gavi- Vagamon - Thekkady as Eco-Tourism Circuit project which has been completed with a sanctioned amount Rs.41.46 Crore and the Kerala Government has entrusted 'Kerala Adventure Tourism Promotion Society' to operate/maintenance the adventure activities of the Eco -Adventure park.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) AND (b) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. \*319 ANSWERED ON 16.03.2020 REGARDING UPGRADATION OF ADVENTURE TOURISM SITES

LIST OF PROJECTS WITH ADVENTURE TOURISM COMPONENTS SANCTIONED UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME SINCE 2014-15

Sr.	State / UT / (No. of Projects)	Name of the Project
1	Chhattisgarh (1)	Development of Jashpur- Kunkuri- Mainpat- Ambikapur- Maheshpur -Ratanpur- Kurdar-Sarodadadar- Gangrel- Kondagaon- Nathiya Nawagaon- Jagdalpur- Chitrakote- Tirthgarh
2	Mizoram (2)	Integrated Development of Thenzawl & South Zote, District Serchhip and Reiek in Mizoram
		Development of Eco-Adventure Circuit at Aizawl - Rawpuichhip - Khawhphawp - Lengpui - Durtlang - Chatlang- Sakawrhmuituaitlang - Muthee - Beratlawng - Tuirial Airfield - Hmuifang in Mizoram
3	J&K(4)	Development of Sidhra Golf Course - Bagh E Bahu - Suchetgarh - Katra - SKICC - Srinagar - Bijhbehara - Salamabad - Uri - Panikhar - Shergole
		Integrated development of tourist Facilities at Anantnag-Kishtwar-Pahalgam-Daksum-Ranjit Sagar dam
		Integrated Development of Tourist Facilities at Jammu-Rajouri-Shopian-Pulwama
		Integrated Development of Tourist Facilities at Gulmarg-Baramulla-Kupwara-Leh
4	Himachal Pradesh (1)	Integrated Development of Himalayan Circuit in Himachal Pradesh
5	Uttarakhand (2)	Development of Circuit at Tehri-Chamba- Sarain around Tehri Lake
		Development of Heritage Circuit in Kumaon Region – Katarmal –Jogeshwar-Baijnath-Devidhura
6	Uttar	Development of Kalinjar Fort (Banda)- MarharDham

	Pradesh (1)	(SantKabir Nagar)- ChauriChaura, Shaheed Sthal (Fatehpur)- Mavahar Sthal (Ghosi)- Shaheed Smarak (Meerut) as Heritage Circuit in Uttar Pradesh under Swadesh Darshan Scheme
7	Andhra Pradesh (1)	Development of Coastal Circuit in SPS Nellore- Andhra
8	Telangana (2)	Development of Tribal Circuit in Mulugu- Telangana  Development of Eco Circuit in Mahaboobnagar-
		Telangana
9	Odisha (1)	Development of Coastal Circuit: Gopalpur, Barkul, Satapada and Tampara
10	Arunachal Pradesh (1)	New Adventure Tourism in Arunachal Pradesh Wildlife circuit Manas,Pobitora,Nameri,Kaziranga,Pani Dihing,Dibru Saikhowa
11	Nagaland (2)	Development of Peren, Kohima and Wokha in Nagaland  Development of Mokokchung, Tuensang and Mon in Nagaland
12	Tripura (1)	Development of North East Circuit: Agartala - Sipahijala - Melaghar - Udaipur - Amarpur- Tirthamukh-Mandirghat- Dumboor- Narikel Kunja- Gandachara-Ambassa
13	West Bengal (1)	Development of Beach Circuit: Udaipur- Digha- Shankarpur- Tajpur- Mandarmani- Fraserganj-Bakkhlai- Henry Island
14	Assam (1)	Development of Tezpur – Majuli – Sibsagar
15	Maharashtra (1)	Development of Sindhudurg Coastal Circuit (Shiroda Beach, Sagareshwar, Tarkarli, Vijaydurg (Beach & Creek), Devgad (Fort & Beach), Mitbhav, Tondavali, Mochemad and Nivati Fort)
16	Madhya Pradesh (4)	Development of Wildlife Circuit at Panna- Mukundpur- Sanjay- Dubri-Bandhavgarh- Kanha- Mukki- Pench
		Development of Sanchi-Satna-Rewa-Mandsaur-Dhar
		Development of Gwalior – Orchha – Khajuraho – Chanderi – Bhimbetka – Mandu
		Development of Gandhisagar Dam- Mandleshwar Dam- Omkareshwar Dam- Indira Sagar Dam- Tawa Dam- Bargi Dam- Bheda Ghat- Bansagar Dam- Ken River

17	Goa (1)	Development of Coastal Circuit II: Rua De Orum Creek - Don Paula -Colva - Benaulim
18	A & N Islands (1)	Development of Long Island-Ross Smith Island- Neil Island- Havelock Island- Baratang Island-Port Blair
19	Meghalaya (1)	Development of NE circuit in Meghalaya
20	Kerala (1)	Development of Pathanamthitta- Gavi -Vagamon Ecotourism circuit Kerala
21	Sikkim (2)	Development of Rorathang- Aritar- Phadamchen- Nathang- Sherathang-Tsogmo -Gangtok -Phodong- Mangan- Lachung-Yumthang-Lachen-Thangu- Gurudongmar-Mangan-Gangtok-Tumin Lingee-Singtam in Sikkim as tourist circuit
		Development of Singtam- Maka- sra-Bermoik Tokel- Phongia- Namchi -Jorthang- Okharey- Sombaria- Daramdin- Jorethang- Melli in Sikkim as tourist circuit
22	Pondicherry (1)	Development of Dubrayapet, Arikamedu China Veerampattinam, Chunnabmar, Nallavadu, Manapet, Kalapet, French Quarter, Tamil Quarter and Yanam in Pondicherry

\*\*\*\*\*