# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA

### **STARRED QUESTION NO. \*192**

TO BE ANSWERED ON: 04.03.2020

#### IT HUBS IN SMALL CITIES

### \*192. SHRI RAMCHARAN BOHRA:

Will the Minister of ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to develop Information Technology (IT) Hubs in small cities and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the steps taken by the Government in this regard; and
- (c) whether the Government proposes to give an impetus to Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in this regard and if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

# STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. \*192 FOR 04.03.2020 REGARDING IT HUBS IN SMALL CITIES

\*\*\*\*\*

(a) and (b): Government of India has taken various initiatives for demographically distributing IT/ ITeS industry including in small cities. 60 Software Technology Parks of India (STPI) centres have been established till date of which 52 centres are in Tier II/ III cities. Further, Government has approved 23 new STPI centres in Tier II/ III locations. List of existing and approved STPI Centres are at **Annexure-I and II.** 

In addition to the STPI centres, Government has notified 237 SEZs in IT/ ITeS Sector, majority of which are in Tier II/ III locations. Under the Electronics Manufacturing Clusters (EMC) scheme of Government of India, under implementation since 2017, 20 Greenfield EMCs and 3 Common Facility Centres (CFCs) have been established across the country aimed at promoting employment through electronic manufacturing primarily in Tier II/ III locations. Details of these EMCs are at **Annexure-III.** 

For providing job incentives and demographically distributing BPO operations, Government is implementing the BPO promotion schemes, namely India BPO Promotion Scheme (IBPS) and North East BPO Promotion Scheme (NEBPS). Under these Schemes, incentives are provided for setting up of BPO IT/ ITeS operation and thus, creating opportunities for establishing 53,300 seats. Since inception, 262 units have started BPO/ ITeS operations for a total of 49,009 seats in over 100 Tier II/ III cities across 28 States/ UTs of the country.

Further, Government has notified National Policy on Software Products (NPSP) and National Policy on Electronics (NPE) in the year 2019 to move the IT-Sector up the value chain with special emphasis provided for Tier II/ III locations. In accordance with NPSP, Government has approved the Next Generation Incubation Scheme (NGIS) with a budgetary outlay of Rs. 95.03 crore for establishing software product incubation facilities in 11 Tier II/ III STPI centres.

(c): As per extant Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) policy, 100% FDI is allowed in IT sector under automatic route and in electronics manufacturing, FDI upto 100% is permitted under the automatic route, subject to applicable laws/ regulation; security and other conditionalities. Also, for easing FDI approvals, cell has been created in MeitY for expediting FDI proposal received. Rs. 1,09,572 crore FDI has been invested in Computer Software and Hardware during FY 2016-2019 and Rs. 28,081 crore in current financial year till September, 2019.

\*\*\*\*\*

**State-wise list of existing STPI centres** 

State-wise list of existing STPI centres				
S. N	State	Centre Name		
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Kakinada		
2.		Tirupati		
3.		Vijayawada		
4.		Vizag		
5.	Assam	Guwahati		
6.	Bihar	Patna		
7.	Chhattisgarh	Bhilai		
8.	Gujarat	Gandhinagar		
9.		Surat		
10.	Haryana	Gurgaon		
11.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla		
12.	Jammu and Kashmir	Jammu		
13.		Srinagar		
14.	Jharkhand	Ranchi		
15.		Deoghar		
16.	Karnataka	Bengaluru		
17.		Hubli		
18.		Mangalore		
19.		Manipal		
20.	-	Mysore		
21.	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram		
22. Madhya Pradesh		Gwalior		
23.		Bhopal		
24.	-	Indore		
25.	Maharashtra	Aurangabad		
26.	Traini asiri a	Kolhapur		
27.	-	Nagpur		
28.	-	Nasik		
29.	-	Mumbai		
30.		Pune		
31.	Manipur	Imphal		
32.	Meghalaya	Shillong		
33.	Mizoram	Aizawl		
34.	Odisha	Berhampur		
35.		Bhubaneswar		
36.	-	Rourkela		
37.	Pondicherry	Pondicherry		
38.	Punjab	Mohali		
39.	Rajasthan	Jaipur		
40.	J	Jodhpur		
41.	Sikkim	Gangtok		
42.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai		
43.		Coimbatore		
44.	1	Madurai		
45.	1	Tirunelveli		
46.	†	Trichy		
47.	Telangana	Hyderabad		
48.		Warangal		
49.	Uttar Pradesh	Allahabad		
77,	Ottai Hadesii	1 manavad		

S. N	State	Centre Name	
50.		Kanpur	
51.		Lucknow	
52.		Noida	
53.	Uttarakhand	Dehradun	
54.	West Bengal	Durgapur	
55.		Haldia Kharagpur	
56.			
57.		Kolkata	
58.		Siliguri	
59.	Tripura	Agartala	
60.	Goa	Goa	

### **Annexure-II**

# State-wise list of approved STPI centres

S.N	State	Location
1	Madhya Pradesh	Chhindwada
2		Jabalpur
3	Punjab	Amritsar
4	Jharkhand	Dhanbad
5		Jamshedpur
6		Bokaro
7	Uttar Pradesh	Agra
8		Varanasi
9		Meerut
10		Gorakhpur
11	Nagaland	Kohima
12	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar
13	Odisha	Balasore
14		Sambalpur
15		Jajpur
16		Angul
17		Koraput (Jayepore)
18	Bihar	Darbhanga
19		Bhagalpur
20	Haryana	Panchkula
21	Gujarat	Bhavnagar
22	Karnataka	Davangere
23	Himachal Pradesh	Kangra

## Details of applications approved under EMC scheme

#	State	Location of EMC	Area (Acres)	Chief Promoter/ SPV
Green	 field Electronics Man	ufacturing Cluster		
1	Andhra Pradesh	Village-Cherivi, Satyavedu Mandal, Chittor District	94	Sri City Pvt. Ltd.
2		Vikruthamala Village, Yerpadu Mandal, Chittor District	501.40	Andhra Pradesh Industrial Infrastructure Corporation Ltd. (APIIC)
3		Renigunta and Yerpadu Mandal , Chittor District, Near Airport, Tirupati	113.27	Sri Venkateswara Mobile and electronics manufacturing hub Pvt. Ltd.
4	Assam	Bongora, Palasbari Circle , Kamrup District ®, Assam	100	Assam Electronics Development Corporation Limited (AMTRON)
5	Chhattisgarh	Village-Tuta, Sector-22, Naya Raipur, Tehsil-Abhanpur, Raipur District	116.48	Chhattisgarh State Industrial Development Corporation ltd. (CSIDC)
6	Gujarat	Village-Tunda, Taluka- Mundra, District- Kutch	631.38	Mundra Solar Techno park Private Limited (MSTPL)
7	Goa	Village-Tuem, Taluka-Pernem Goa	147.55	Department of IT, Government of Goa
8	Jharkhand	Adityapur, Saraikela-Kharsawan District	82.49	Jharkhand Industrial Area Development Authority (JIADA)
9	Kerala	Kakkanad Village,Kanayannur Taluk, Ernakulam District	66.87	Kerala Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation (KINFRA)
10	Madhya Pradesh	Badwai-Bhopal	50	Madhya Pradesh State Electronics Development Corporation Ltd.(MPSEDC)
11		Purva-Jabalpur	40	
12	Odisha	Infovalley at Bhubaneswar Industrial Area, Khurda District	203.37	Odisha Industrial development Corporation (IDCO)
13	Rajasthan	SPL-1, Salarpur, Khushkera, Bhiwadi	50.3	ELCINA Electronics Manufacturing Cluster Pvt. Ltd (EEMCPL)
14		Karoli Industrial Area, Bhiwadi, District- Alwar	121.51	Rajasthan State Industrial Development & Investment Corporation Ltd. (RIICO)
15	Telangana	E-city, Hyderabad	603.52	Telangana State Industrial Infrastructure
16		Maheshwaram, Ranga Reddy	310.70	Corporation (TSIIC)
17	Uttar Pradesh	Plot No. 6/A, sector-24, Yamuna Expressway	100	U.P Electronics Corporation Limited (UPLC)
18		Plot No1, Block-C, Ecotech-VI Industrial Area, Greater Noida	99.41	TEGNA Electronics Pvt. Ltd.
19	West Bengal	Sector-IV & V, Falta Industrial Centre, P.S Ramnagar, District South 24 Parganas	58.04	West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited (WEBEL)
20		Naihati town, North 24 Parganas district	70	
Comm	on Facility Centre (C	CFC) in Brownfield EMC		
21	Karnataka (CFC)	Plot No. 336/4 & 336/5, Hebbal Industrial Area, Mysore	1.50	Mysore ESDM Cluster
22	Maharashtra (CFC)	Plot NoP 30, Shendra Five Star Industrial Area, Aurangabad District	1.98	Deogiri Electronics Cluster Private Limited
23		Plot No. J/P-8, J 462 and J 462/P, Pimpri Industrial Area, Pune	0.61	MCCIA Electronic Cluster Foundation