Government of India Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports Department of Sports

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 706 TO BE ANSWERD ON 21.11.2019

Political Influence in Indian Cricket

706. SHRI PRASUN BANERJEE:

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware of huge political influence in Indian cricket;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor;
- (c) the details of persons currently associated with BCCI; and
- (d) the steps taken by the Government to reduce political influence in Indian Cricket?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS [SHRI KIREN RIJIJU]

(a) to (d) Sir, the responsibility for promotion of the sport of cricket rests with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Elections to the BCCI have been held under the supervision of the Supreme Court Appointed Committee of Administrators and the former Chief Election Commissioner Shri N. Gopalaswamy was the Electoral Officer of the BCCI elections. The list of board members of the BCCI is at Annexure-I. The Government does not interfere in the constitution or elections of members to the BCCI or its constituent associations.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) to (d) of LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 706 for 21.11.2019 regarding "Political Influence in Cricket" asked by SHRI PRASUN BANERJEE

Annexure-I

The list of board members of the BCCI

S.No.	Name	Designation
1	Shri Sourav Ganguly	President
2	Shri Mahim Verma	Vice President
3	Shri Jay Amitbhai Shah	Secretary
4	Shri Jayesh George	Joint Secretary
5	Shri Arun Singh Dhumal	Treasurer
6	Shri Prabhtej Singh Bhatia	Councillor
7	Shri Brijesh Parsuram Patel	Governing Council Member
8	Shri M. Khairul Jamal Majumdar	Governing Council Member
