## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PANCHAYATI RAJ LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 447 ANSWERED ON 19.11.2019

#### BRGF IN MADHYA PRADESH AND JAMMU KASHMIR

#### †447. SHRI JUGAL KISHORE SHARMA:

#### SHRIMATI RITI PATHAK:

Will the Minister of PANCHAYATI RAJ be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the districts in Jammu Kashmir and Madhya Pradesh which have been included under the Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF) by the Government;

(b) the details of funds released to the above mentioned State Governments under this fund during the last three years and the current year;

(c) whether the Government proposes to make any amendments in the guidelines for including the backward areas especially in Jammu-Kashmir and Madhya Pradesh; and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

#### ANSWER

### THE MINISTER OF PANCHAYATI RAJ (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) Under the District component of Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF)
Programme implemented by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj from 2006-07 to 2014-15, five
(5) districts of Jammu & Kashmir and thirty (30) districts of Madhya Pradesh were covered.
The names of these districts are at Annexure.

(b) As the BRGF (District component) was under implementation during the period 2006-07 to 2014-15, no fund has been released to the State Governments under this Programme during the last three years and the current year.

(c) & (d) No Sir. Consequent upon the implementation of the recommendations of the Fourteenth Finance Commission, share of States in the net proceeds of the Union taxes has been significantly enhanced from 32% to 42% of the Centre's net tax receipts. Hence, BRGF Programme has been delinked from the budgetary support of the Central Government since 2015-16.

\*\*\*\*\*

# Annexure referred in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 447 answered on 19.11.2019

Districts of Jammu & Kashmir and Madhya Pradesh covered under BRGF Programme

Sl.No.	State	Sl.No.	Name of the Districts
1.	Jammu & Kashmir	1.	Doda
		2.	Kishtwar
		3.	Kupwara
		4.	Poonch
		5.	Ramban
2.	Madhya Pradesh	1.	Alirajpur
		2.	Anuppur
		3.	Ashoknagar
		4.	Balaghat
		5.	Barwani
		6.	Betul
		7.	Burhanpur
		8.	Chhattarpur
		9.	Chhindwara
		10.	Damoh
		11.	Dhar
		12.	Dindori
		13.	Guna
		14.	Jhabua
		15.	Katni
		16.	Khandwa
		17.	Khargone
		18.	Mandla
		19.	Panna
		20.	Rajgarh
		21.	Rewa
		22.	Satna
		23.	Seoni
		24.	Shahdol
		25.	Sheopur
		26.	Shivpuri
		27.	Sidhi
		28.	Singrauli
		29.	Tikamgarh
		30.	Umaria