### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4156 TO BE ANSWERED ON 13.12.2019

#### Threat to Wildlife

#### 4156. PROF. SAUGATA RAY:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that a large number of species of wildlife in the country are facing threats to its habitat due to encroachments and other affiliated/associated reasons;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the number of wildlife sanctuaries in the country, State/UT-wise:
- (d) whether the Government has any proposal to set up new wildlife sanctuaries in the country; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI BABUL SUPRIYO)

- (a) and (b) Encroachments and unplanned human actions do have an impact in the wildlife and its habitats. Species like Great Indian Bustard, elephant, tigers, Sangai deer etc have been effected due to negative human interaction.
- (c) A per the available information, there are total number of 870 Protected Areas in India i.e. 104 National Parks, 551 Wildlife Sanctuaries, 88 Conservation Reserve and 127 Community Reserve. State/ UT-wise detail of Wildlife Sanctuaries is given in the **Annexure**.
- (d) Declaration of Wildlife Sanctuaries falls under the jurisdiction of concerned State Government.
- (e) In view of (d) above, the question does not arise.

\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4156 REGARDING "THREAT TO WILDLIFE" BY PROF. SAUGATA RAY DUE FOR REPLY ON 13.12.2019.

State-UT-wise details of Wildlife Sanctuaries in the country are as below:

S.No	Name of States/UTs	No. of Wildlife Sanctuaries
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	96
2	Andhra Pradesh	13
3	Arunachal Pradesh	11
4	Assam	18
5	Bihar	12
6	Chandigarh	1
7	Chhattisgarh	11
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	1
9	Daman & Diu	1
10	Delhi	1
11	Goa	6
12	Gujarat	23
13	Haryana	8
14	Himachal Pradesh	28
15	Jammu & Kashmir	15
16	Jharkhand	11
17	Karnataka	30
18	Kerala	17
19	Lakshadweep	1
20	Madhya Pradesh	25
21	Maharashtra	46
22	Manipur	5
23	Meghalaya	4
24	Mizoram	8
25	Nagaland	3
26	Odisha	19
27	Puducherry	1
28	Punjab	13
29	Rajasthan	25
30	Sikkim	7
31	Tamil Nadu	29
32	Telengana	9
33	Tripura	4
34	Uttar Pradesh	26
35	Uttarakhand	7
36	West Bengal	16
	Total	551