GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI.

DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †4055

ANSWERED ON 12.12.2019

NEW PROJECTS UNDER PMKSY

†4055. SHRI NIHAL CHAND

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of water conservation projects being executed by the Government under Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchai Yojana (PMKSY) at present, State/ UT-wise;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to sanction new projects under PMKSY-WC and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the plan of the Government for providing water to each and every field in rainfed agriculture areas?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR JAL SHAKTI & SOCIAL JUSTICE AND EMPOWERMENT

(SHRI RATTAN LAL KATARIA)

(a) to (c) The Government is implementing Integrated Watershed Management Programme (IWMP) since 2009-10 for development of rainfed and degraded areas. In 2015-16, IWMP was amalgamated as the Watershed Development Component of the Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana (WDC-PMKSY). The activities undertaken inter alia include ridge area treatment, drainage line treatment, soil and moisture conservation, rainwater harvesting, nursery raising, afforestation, horticulture, pasture development, livelihoods for asset less persons, etc.

Under the erstwhile IWMP, 8214 watershed development projects were sanctioned in erstwhile 28 States (except Goa) [now 27 States and UT of J & K and Ladakh), during the period 2009-10 to 2014-15 covering an area of about 39.07 million hectare. Since inception of the scheme, an amount of Rs.17916.28 crore has been released to the States as Central Share, as on 30.11.2019. The State-wise details of projects sanctioned, area covered, projects completed and funds released since 2009-10 to 2019-20, as on 30.11.2019 are given at **Annexure.**

As per information received from the States, since 2014-15 to 2019-20 (upto second quarter), 6.08 lakh water harvesting structures have been created / rejuvenated. An additional area of 13.47 lakh ha has been brought under protective irrigation.

The Government is focusing on completion of all on-going projects and therefore no new projects under WDC-PMKSY are being sanctioned.

Annexure as referred to in reply to Parts (a) to (c) of Unstarred Question No. †4055 to be answered in Lok Sabha on 12.12.2019 regarding "New Projects under PMKSY".

(Area in million ha, Amount in Rs. crore)

(Area in million ha, Amount					
Sl. No	State	Sanctioned (from 2009-10 to 2014-15) [@]			Central share
				No of projects	released
110	State	Total no.	Area of the	completed **	(from 2009-10 to
		of Projects	projects		2019-20#)
1	Andhra Pradesh*	432	1.810	158	1060.68
2	Arunachal Pradesh	156	0.467	13	244.33
3	Assam	372	1.577	143	492.75
4	Bihar	123	0.612	0	151.31
5	Chhattisgarh	263	1.195	112	330.35
6	Gujarat	610	3.103	292	1288.64
7	Haryana	88	0.362	0	101.94
8	Himachal Pradesh	163	0.840	0	283.58
9	Jammu & Kashmir	159	0.652	0	230.82
10	Jharkhand	171	0.911	30	191.52
11	Karnataka	571	2.569	304	1894.70
12	Kerala	83	0.423	26	128.69
13	Madhya Pradesh	517	2.937	204	1497.49
14	Maharashtra	1186	5.128	598	2413.95
15	Manipur	102	0.491	5	149.10
16	Meghalaya	96	0.236	47	173.03
17	Mizoram	89	0.373	32	259.89
18	Nagaland	111	0.476	61	539.15
19	Odisha	310	1.700	127	1004.31
20	Punjab	67	0.314	0	60.42
21	Rajasthan	1025	5.764	377	2534.70
22	Sikkim	15	0.066	0	22.08
23	Tamil Nadu	270	1.368	112	924.94
24	Telangana*	330	1.399	121	590.30
25	Tripura	65	0.213	20	210.96
26	Uttarakhand	65	0.346	5	131.08
27	Uttar Pradesh	612	3.045	225	808.49
28	West Bengal	163	0.693	0	197.08
	Total	8214	39.07	3012	17916.28

[®] Sanctioned under the erstwhile Integrated Watershed Management Programme (IWMP), which has been amalgamated as the Watershed Development Component (WDC) of the Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana (PMKSY) with effect from 2015-16.

As on 30.11.2019 including releases under the erstwhile IWMP.

Note: There is no sanctioned project in Goa.

^{*} As per final audited details received from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana after bifurcation of erstwhile Andhra Pradesh

[^] erstwhile Jammu & Kashmir

^{**} As on 30.11.2019 reported by States