GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI DEPARTMENT OF DRINKING WATER & SANITATION LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 4025 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12.12.2019

Jal Shakti Abhiyan

4025. SHRI KOMATI REDDY VENKAT REDDY: SHRI BALASHOWRY VALLABHANENI:

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state.

- (a) whether the Government has launched the Jal Shakti Abhiyan in 256 water stressed Districts in the country recently;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the State-wise break-up of the Districts selected and the major initiatives taken thereunder to recharge groundwater levels?

ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE FOR JAL SHAKTI (SHRI RATTAN LAL KATARIA)

- (a) & (b). Yes Sir. To spread awareness among all stakeholders about compelling need of water conservation, Government of India has launched Jal Shakti Abhiyan (JSA) in two phases, Phase–I from 1st July, 2019 to 30th September, 2019 in all 256 water-stressed districts and Phase–II from 1st October, 2019 to 30th November, 2019 in the Southern States/ UTs which receive retreating monsoon.
- (c). During the campaign, officers, groundwater experts and scientists from the Government of India have worked with State and District officials in 256 water-stressed districts of the country to promote water conservation and water resource management by focusing on accelerated implementation of five target interventions, viz. water conservation & rainwater harvesting, renovation of traditional and other water bodies/ tanks, reuse and recharge of bore wells, watershed development and intensive afforestation. The State wise details of districts, where Jal Shakti Abhiyan has been implemented, is as Annexure I.

Annexure-I referred to in the reply to Lok Sabha unstarred question no. 4025 due for reply on 12.12.2019

State-wise number of districts implementing Jal Shakti Abhiyan (JSA)

S.No	State Name	No. of district implementing JSA	Name of districts
1.	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	1	South Andaman.
2.	Andhra Pradesh	9	Anantapur, Chittoor, Guntur, Kadapa, Krishna, Kurnool, Prakasam, Shrikakulam, West Godavari.
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Upper Subansiri
4.	Assam	1	North Cachar hills
5.	Bihar	12	Begusarai, Bhojpur, Gaya,Gopalganj, Jehanabad, Katihar, Muzaffarpur, Nalanda, Nawada, Patna, Saran,Vaishali
6.	Chandigarh	1	Chandigarh
7.	Chhattisgarh	2	Balod, Raipur
8.	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	1	Dadra & Nagar Haveli
9.	Daman & Diu	1	Diu
10.	Delhi	10	Central, Delhi Shahdara, East, New Delhi, North East, North West, South, South East Delhi, South West, West
11.	Goa	1	South Goa
12.	Gujarat	5	BanasKantha, Gandhinagar, Kachchh, Mahesana, Patan
13.	Haryana	19	Ambala, Bhiwani, CharkhiDadri, Faridabad, Fatehabad, Gurgaon, Hisar, Jind, Kaithal, karnal, Kurukshetra, Mahendragarh, Mewat, Palwal, Panipat, Rewari, Sirsa, Sonipat, Yamunanagar
14.	Himachal Pradesh	4	Kangra, Sirmaur, Solan, Una
15.	Jammu & Kashmir	1	Kargil
16.	Jharkhand	2	Bokaro, Dhanbad

17.	Karnataka	18	Bagalkot, BangaloreRural, Bangalore Urban, Belgaum, Bellary, Chamarajanagar, ChikBallapur, Chikmagalur, Chitradurga, Davangere, Gadag, Hassan, Haveri, Kolar, Koppal, Ramanagaram, Tumkur, Vijayapura(Bijapur)
18.	Kerala	2	Kasaragod, Palakkad
19.	Lakshadweep	1	Lakshadweep
20.	Madhya Pradesh	11	Agar, Barwani, Dewas, Dhar, Indore, Mandsaur, Neemuch, Rajgarh, Ratlam, Shajapur, Ujjain
21.	Maharashtra	8	Ahmednagar, Amravati, Buldana, Jalgaon, Nashik, Pune, Sangli, Solapur
22.	Manipur	1	Chandel
23.	Meghalaya	1	East Garo Hills
24.	Mizoram	1	Saiha
25.	Nagaland	1	Longleng
26.	Odisha	1	Kendrapara
27.	Puducherry	1	Puducherry
28.	Punjab	20	Amritsar, Barnala, Bathinda, Faridkot, Fatehgarh Sahib, Fazilka, Firozepur,Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar, Kapurthala, Ludhian, Mansa, Moga, Patiala, Rupnagar, S A S Nagar, Sangrur, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar, Tarn Tarn
29.	Rajasthan	29	Ajmer, SawaiMadhopur, Pali, Nagaur, Bharatpur, Jhunjhunun, Alwar, Baran, Barmer, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Chittaurgarh, Churu, Dausa
			Dhaulpur, Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Jalor, Jhalawar, Jodhpur, Karauli, Kota, Pratapgarh, Rajsamand, Sikar, Sirohi, Tonk, Udaipur
30.	Sikkim	1	South
31.	Tamil Nadu	27	Chennai, Coimbatore, Cuddalore, Dharmapuri, Dindigul, Erode, Kanchipuram, Karur, Krishnagiri, Madurai, Nagapattinam, Namakkal, Perambalur, Pudukkottai, Salem, Thanjavur, Theni, Thoothukudi, Tiruchirappalli, Tirunelveli, Tiruppur, Tiruvallur,

			Tiruvannamalai, Tiruvarur, Vellore, Villupuram, Virudhunagar
32.	Telangana	24	Sangareddy, Mahaboobnagar, Warangal, Jangoan, Nizamabad, Wanaparthy, Karimnagar, Nalgonda, Suryapet, Siddipet, Kamareddy, JayashankarBhupalpalli, Mahabubabad, RajannaSiricilla, Khammam, Warangal Urban, Medak, YadadriBhongiri, Adilabad, MedchalMalkajgiri, Nagarkurnool, Jagitial, Hyderabad, Rangareddy
33.	Tripura	1	Khowai
34.	Uttar Pradesh	35	Mahoba, Kasganj, Chitrakoot, Firozabad, JyotibaPhoole Nagar, Muzaffarnagar, Rampur, Bulandshahar, Mathura, Kaushambi, Mahamaya Nagar, Agra, Allahabad, Budaun, Bijnor, Mainpuri, Baghpat, Sambhal, Shamli, Jaunpur, Varanasi, Kannauj, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Moradabad, Meerut, Saharanpur, Fatehpur, Aligarh, SantRavidas Nagar, Etah, Mirzapur, Pratapgarh, Ghaziabad, Kanpur Nagar, Hapur
35.	Uttarakhand	1	Nainital
36.	West Bengal	1	Hoogly
Total 256		256	