GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3915

TO BE ANSWERED ON DECEMBER 12, 2019

TOWN COMMITTEES

NO. 3915. SHRINABA KUMAR SARANIA:

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of total number of Town Committees in Assam along with the number of elections conducted thereof;
- (b) whether the elections of towns of BTC (Bodoland Territorial Council) area have not yet been conducted and if so, the reasons therefor;
- (c) the amount of funds allocated by the Government for the purpose during the last five years;
- (d) whether the deserving poor are not getting houses under urban housing schemes but the rich are getting more houses;
- (e) if so, the reasons therefor along with details thereof with regard of BTC area;
- (f) the amount of funds allocated by the Government under various schemes in different districts of Assam so far along with the details of utilisation thereof; and
- (g) the details and the names of the Committee working for the implementation of schemes?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS

(SHRI HARDEEP SINGH PURI)

- (a) The conduct of elections to Town Committees is a state subject. The total number of Town Committees in Assam is 61. The details are given in Annexure I.
- (b) & (c) Elections in towns of Bodoland Territorial council(BTC) were held in 2015. The conduct of elections is a State subject.
 - (d) & (e) The selection of beneficiary under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Urban (PMAY-U) is done by the Municipal Board/Town Committee as per scheme guidelines. 7656 houses for EWS have been sanctioned in BTC areas.
- (f) Under its Missions the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs releases funds to the States and not to the districts. The details of funds allocated to State Government of Assam under various Missions/Schemes and their utilization is given in Annexure II.
- (g) Names of the Committees working for implementation of Schemes:

<u>Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation(AMRUT)</u>

- (i) State Level High Powered Steering Committee(SHPSC)
- (ii) State Level Technical Committee (SLTC)

Smart Cities Mission

- (i) State level High Powered Steering Committee (HPSC)
- (ii) Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV)

Swachh Bharat Mission-Urban(SBM-U)

Urban Development Department, Government of Assam

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Urban(PMAY-U)

- (i) State Level Sanctioning & Monitoring Committee (SLSMC)
- (ii) State Level Appraisal Committee (SLAC)
- (iii) Urban Local Bodies / Municipal Boards / Town Committee
- (iv) Development Authority / Planning Authority.
- (v) District Level Project Steering Committee.

Annexure I referred to in reply to Part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No 3915 regarding 'Town Committees' for answer on 12th December, 2019.

Sl. No	Name of the District.	Name of Urban Local Bodies(ULB)	
1	Kamrup (M)	North Guwahati T.C.	
2	Nalbari	Tihu T.C.	
3		Sarthebari T.C.	
4		Sorbhog T.C.	
5	Barpeta	Pathsala T.C.	
6		Patacharkuchi TC	
7		Howli T.C.	
8	Darrang	Kharupetia T.C	
9	Durrung	Gauripur T.C.	
10		Bilasipara T.C.	
11	Dhubri	Chapar T.C.	
12		Sapatgram T.C.	
13	Goalpara	Lakhipur T.C.	
14	Bongaigaon	Abhayapuri T.C.	
15	Doboka T.C.		
16	Nagaon	Kampur T.C.	
17		Roha T.C	
18	a ti	Rangapara T.C.	
19	Sonitpur	Gahpur T.C.	
20		Bokakhat T.C.	
21	Golaghat	Sarupathar T.C.	
22	5	Borpathar T.C.	
23		Mariani T.C.	
24	T 1	Titabor T.C	
25	Jorhat	Teok T.C	
26		Majuli TC	
27		Simaluguri T.C.	
28	Sivasagar	Moran T.C.	
29		Demow TC	
30	N41 I -1-1:	Dhakuakhana T.C.	
31	North Lakhimpur	Narayanpur T.C.	
32		Naharkatia T.C.	
33	Dibrugarh	Chabua T.C.	
34		Namrup T.C.	
35		Makum T.C.	
36		Doom-Dooma T.C.	
37	Tinsukia	Digboi T.C.	
38		Marghetia T.C.	
39		Chapakhowa TC	
40	Hailakandi	Lala T.C.	
S.No	Name of District	Name of Urban Local Bodies(ULB)	
41	Karimganj	Badarpur T.C.	
42	Dhamaii	Dhemaji T.C	
43	Dhemaji	Silapathar T.C.	
44	Kokrajhar Gossaigaon TC		
45	Basugaon TC		
46	Chirang	Bijni TC	
40	Cimang	טוווו וכ	

47		Kajalgaon TC
48	Udalguri	Udalguri TC
49		Tangla TC
50	Dima Hasao	Haflong TC
51		Umrangshu TC
52		Mahur TC
53		Maibong TC
54	KarbiAnglong	Diphu TC
55		Dokmoka TC
56		Donkamokam TC
57		Hamren TC
58		Howraghat TC
59		Bokajan TC
60		Bakalia TC
61	Baksa	Goreswar TC

Annexure II referred to in reply to Part (g) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No 3915 regarding 'Town Committees' for answer on 12December,2019.

Sr.No	Name of the Mission	Funds(Rs in crore)		
		Allocated/Sanctioned	Released	Utilized
1.	Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation(AMRUT)	591	73	No utilization certificate submitted
2.	Smart Cities Mission	500	196	33.18
3.	Swachh Bharat Mission	244.3	200.80	112.32
4.	Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Urban(PMAY-U)	1441.11	490.75	330
