GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3653

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 10TH DECEMBER, 2019

AGRI ENTREPRENEURIAL CELL

3653. SHRI SANJAY SADASHIV RAO MANDLIK:

SHRI SUDHEER GUPTA:

SHRI GAJANAN KIRTIKAR:

SHRI BIDYUT BARAN MAHATO:

SHRI PRATAPRAO JADHAV:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to set up an Agri Entrepreneurial Cell to encourage agri start-ups and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Government has identified the key areas for innovative work related to agri start-ups to be taken up and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government has also decided to reserve 20 per cent of Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana Fund to set up incubator facilities and to promote entrepreneurs and if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Government has set up any monitoring mechanism to ensure proper utilization of the said funds and if so, the details thereof;
- (e) whether the Government proposes a policy to nurture agri-startups in the country and if so, the details thereof; and
- (f) the steps taken/being taken by the Government to connect Farmers Producers Organization through technology?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) to (e): This Ministry has launched a new programme called "Innovation and agrientrepreneur development" under Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY-RAFTAAR) in 2018-19 with objective to promote innovation and agripreneurship by providing financial support and nurturing the incubation ecosystem with 8% of annual outlay of the scheme.

These innovations may include technological solutions/ processes / products/ services/ business platforms etc. that could enhance productivity or increase efficiency in agriculture and allied activities.

In this regard, five Knowledge Partners (KPs) and twenty four Agribusiness Incubators (R-ABIs) to encourage and strengthen agri start-ups through this programme. List of designated KPs and R-ABIs is enclosed (Annexure).

To monitor this programme, KPs and RABIs will submit consolidated annual progress report along with audited accounts to the nodal division of this Ministry. They will upload physical and financial progress status on their website on a regular basis.

(f): Government is implementing National Agriculture Market (e-NAM) scheme wherein online trading of agriculture and horticulture commodities is done for transparent price discovery for farmers for their produce through competitive online bidding system. So far, 838 Farmers Producers Organization (FPOs) have been onboarded on e-NAM Platform.

List of Knowledge Partners (KPs) and RKVY-RAFTAAR Agribusiness Incubators (R-ABIs)

Knowledge Partners (KPs):

- 1) National Institute of Agricultural Extension Management (MANAGE), Hyderabad.
- 2) National Institute of Agricultural Marketing(NIAM) Jaipur.
- 3) Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI) Pusa, New Delhi.
- 4) University of Agriculture Science, Dharwad, Karnataka.
- 5) Assam Agriculture University, Jorhat, Assam.

RKVY-RAFTAAR Agribusiness Incubators (R-ABIs)

- 1) Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Hisar, Haryana
- 2) CSK Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidyalaya, Palampur, Himachal Pradesh
- 3) IIT-BHU, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
- 4) Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
- 5) ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar, Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh
- 6) Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, Punjab
- 7) Indira Gandhi Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Raipur, Chhattisgarh
- 8) Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology, Jammu
- 9) IIM, Kashipur, Uttarakhand
- 10) Kerala Agricultural University, Thrissur, Kerala
- 11)ICAR-Indian Institute of Millets Research, Hyderabad, Telangana
- 12) Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU), Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
- 13) Agri innovation and entrepreneurship cell, ANGRAU, Andhra Pradesh
- 14) National Rice Research Institute, Cuttack, Odisha
- 15)S K N Agriculture University, Jobner, Rajasthan
- 16)Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, West Bengal
- 17) Bihar Agricultural University, Bhagalpur, Bihar
- 18) Anand Agricultural University, Anand, Gujarat
- 19)ICAR-Central Institute for Research on Cotton Technology, Mumbai, Maharashtra
- 20) Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth, Akola, Maharashtra
- 21)National Institute of Veterinary Epidemiology and Disease Informatics (NIVEDI), Bengaluru, Karnataka
- 22) College of Fisheries, Lembucherra, Tripura
- 23)Department of Veterinary Medicine College of Veterinary Sciences & Animal Husbandry, Aizawl, Mizoram
- 24) College of Horticulture & Forestry, Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh
