# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3469 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 10<sup>TH</sup> DECEMBER, 2019

#### **COOPERATIVE MOVEMENT**

3469. DR. UMESH G. JADHAV:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government will recognize/shortlist few cooperatives in the country that have truly been formidable players in the cooperative movement especially in Karnataka;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government will be having any further expansion within the States and pan India; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) & (b): At present, no such proposal is under consideration.

However, Laxmanrao Inamdar National Award for Co-operative Excellence were given on the occasion of "Laxmanrao Inamdar Birth Centenary Celebration and Sahakar Sammelan" held on 21<sup>st</sup> September, 2017 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. A list of Cooperative Societies winning the award (including cooperative society of the State of Karnataka) is at Annexure.

(c) & (d): Cooperative Societies is a State subject under entry 32 of the second list of the seventh schedule of the Constitution. Therefore, except the multi-state cooperative societies, all other cooperative societies are governed by the State Cooperative Societies Acts enacted by the respective States/UTs. The multi-State cooperative societies (MSCS) are governed under the provisions of MSCS Act, 2002 enacted by the Government of India.

Further, National Cooperative Development Corporation (NCDC), a statutory corporation under the administrative control of Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare has launched "Yuva Sahakar-Cooperative Enterprise Support and Innovation Scheme 2019" in October, 2019, which aims at encouraging newly formed cooperative societies with new and / or innovative ideas.

#### **Annexure**

### List of Cooperative Societies Winning the Laxmanrao Inamdar National Award for Cooperative Excellence 2017

### **Primary Level Cooperatives**

SI. No.	Categorization of Cooperative	Society selected for award			
1.	Group A-Agro Processing	Shree Kantha Vibhag Sahakari Khand Udhyog Mandli Ltd., District Surat, Gujarat.			
2.	Group B-Consumer & Marketing	Goa Bagayatdar Sahakari Kharedi Vikri Saunstha Maryadit, Ponda., Goa.			
3.	Group C-Credit i) Cooperative Banks/Credit & Services	Calicut City Service Cooperative Bank Ltd., Calicut, Kerala.			
	ii) PACS/LAMPS	Tota Utpannagala Marata Sahakara Sangha Niyamitha (TUMCOS), APMC Yard, Channagiri, Davanagere District, Karnataka.			
4.	Group D-Primary Miscelleneous Cooperatives	The Renu Handloom & Handicraft Cooperative Society, Imphal, East Manipur.			
District Level Cooperative					
1.	District Level	The Kozhikode District Cooperative Hospital Ltd., Kozhikode, Kerala			
State Level Cooperative					

\*\*\*\*\*

1.

State Level

The Rajasthan State Cooperative Bank

Ltd., Tonk Road, Jaipur