GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 291 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 19TH NOVEMBER, 2019

IMPLEMENTATION OF PROVISIONS UNDER APMC ACT

291. SHRIMATI RITA BAHUGUNA JOSHI:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has been successful in persuading the States/UTs for implementing the provisions proposed under model APMC Act;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) the top five and bottom five States/ UTs as per the Agriculture Marketing and Farmer Friendly Reforms Index (AMFFRI); and

(d) the steps taken by the Government for leading the low ranking States/UTs to implement the set of market reforms?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) to (d): Government of India had been pursuing with States/Union Territories (UTs) to adopt the reforms based on Model Agricultural Produce Market Committee Act, 2003 since its circulation. As a result, majority of the States have adopted the reforms. Status of adoption of reforms in terms of major areas is Annexed.

NITI Aayog had launched an Agricultural Marketing and Farmers Friendly Reforms Index (AMFFRI) on 31st Oct, 2016. However, its report has not been updated for the current year.

To promote market reforms Government of India, in consultation with States and NITI Aayog, formulated and released a progressive & holistic model Act "The Agricultural Produce and Livestock Marketing (Promotion and Facilitation) Act, 2017" for adoption by the States/UTs.

Major steps have been taken including through writing of letters and seminars etc. to persuade States/UTs to adopt the Model APLM Act. While Arunachal Pradesh has adopted the Model APLM Act, 2017 fully, States of Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Punjab have adopted major provisions of Model APLM Act.

In addition reform linked e- National Agriculture market (e-NAM) scheme has been launched to incentivize States/UTs to promote market reforms for development of National Agriculture Market. Already 585 mandis in 16 States & 02 Union Territories have been linked to e-NAM platform.

Status of Marketing Reforms with reference Model APMC Act, 2003 as on 13/11/2019.

SI. No.	Area of Reforms	Name of the States/UTs, which have adopted reforms
1.	Establishment of private market	Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Punjab, UT of Chandigarh, Jharkhand, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh.
2.	Direct wholesale purchase of agricultural produce from agriculturists (Direct marketing)	Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Punjab, UT of Chandigarh, Jharkhand, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.
3.	Establishment of farmer- consumer market in private sector (Direct sale by the producer to the consumer in retail)	Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Jharkhand, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.
4.	Contract Farming	Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Punjab (separate Act), Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Tamil Nadu (separate Act), Uttarakhand.
5.	Provision for e-trading,	Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Haryana, H.P., Karnataka, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Telangana, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Chandigarh Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Odisha and West Bengal.
6.	Single point levy of market fee across the State/UT	Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Goa, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Nagaland, Jharkhand, Sikkim, UT of Chandigarh, Punjab, Mizoram, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Odisha.
	Unified single trading licence for State/UT	Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Jharkhand, Mizoram, Nagaland, Telangana , Sikkim, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Chandigarh and Odisha.
