GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

DEPARTMENT OF SPACE

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2730

TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 04, 2019

R&D CENTRE

- 2730. SHRI COSME FRANCISCO CAITANO SARDINHA:
 Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state:
- (a) whether ISRO has any plans to set up Research and Development (R&D) centres across the country;
- (b) if so, the details of the proposed centres, State /UT-Wise;
- (c) whether the Government would consider setting up a R&D centre of ISRO in economically, educationally and technologically advanced State of Goa located centrally on western seaboard of India and having good Infrastructure for space related R&D; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons for exclusion of Goa from ISRO's plans?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PG & PENSIONS AND IN THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH):

- (a) Yes, Sir.
- (b) State/UT wise Research and Development centers are as follows:

Space Technology Cells (STCs): 1. STC- IISc Bangalore, Bengaluru, Karnataka. 2. STC- IIT Bombay, Mumbai, Maharastra. 3. STC- IIT Kanpur, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh. 4. STC-IIT Kharagpur, Kharagpur, West Bengal. 5. STC- IIT Madras, Chennai, Tamil Nadu. 6. STC- Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune, Maharastra. 7. STC- IIT Roorkee, Roorkee, Uttrakhand. 8. STC- IIT Guwahati, Guwahati, Assam. 9. STC- IIT Delhi, New Delhi, Delhi.

Regional Academic Centres for Space (RACS): 1. RACS (Western Zone) - MNIT Jaipur, Jaipur, covers Dadar & Nagar Haveli, Goa, Daman & Diu, Gujarat, Maharashtra and Rajasthan.

2. RACS (North-Eastern Zone) - Gauhati University, Guwahati, covers Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura. 3. RACS (Northern Zone)- NIT Kurukshetra, Kurukshetra, covers Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab and Uttarakhand. 4. RACS (Southern Zone) - NITK Surathkal, Mangalore, cover Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu and Telangana. 5. RACS (Central Zone) - IIT (BHU), Varanasi, cover Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh. 6. RACS (Eastern) - NIT Patna, Patna, covers A&N Islands, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, Sikkim and West Bengal.

Space Technology Incubation Centres (S-TICs): 1. S-TIC (North Eastern Zone)- NIT Agartala, covers Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura. 2. S-TIC (Northern Zone)- NIT Jalandhar, covers Chandigarh, Delhi NCT, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu Kashmir, Punjab and Uttarakhand. 3. S-TIC (Southern Zone)-NIT Trichy, covers Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu and Telangana. 4. S-TIC (Western Zone)- NIT Nagpur, covers Dadar & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra and Rajasthan. 5. S-TIC (Eastern Zone)- NIT Rourkela, covers Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, West Bengal. 6. S-TIC- (Central Zone) MANIT Bhopal, covers Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh.

(c) & (d)

Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Goa, National Institute of Technology, Goa and Goa College of Engineering, Goa are covered under Regional Academic Centres for Space (RACS) for the Western zone at MNIT, Jaipur and will actively participate in the research and development activities.
