## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA DEPARTMENT OF ATOMIC ENERGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2590 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.12.2019

## **NEW ATOMIC REACTORS**

2590. SHRI MANICKAM TAGORE B .:

Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has planned to construct 21 new atomic reactors across the country and complete the same by the year 2030;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government has entered into agreement with other countries to construct atomic power plants by bilateral collaboration; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the expected financial implication estimated by the Government for this purpose?

## ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES & PENSIONS AND PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH):

- (a) Yes, Sir.
- (b) The details are as follows:

<u>1</u>	
Kakrapar, Gujarat	2x700
Rawatbhata, Rajasthan	2X700
Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu	2X1000
Gorakhpur, Haryana	2x700
Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu	1X500
Projects accorded Administrative approval & financial sanction	
Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu	2X1000
Chutka, Madhya Pradesh	2 X 700
Kaiga, Karnataka	2 X 700
Mahi Banswara, Rajasthan	2 X 700
Gorakhpur, Haryana	2 X 700
Mahi Banswara, Rajasthan	2 X 700
	Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu Gorakhpur, Haryana Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu rative approval & financial sa Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu Chutka, Madhya Pradesh Kaiga, Karnataka Mahi Banswara, Rajasthan Gorakhpur, Haryana

\* Being implemented by BHAVINI

(c)&(d)The Government has entered into agreements with the Russian Federation for setting up of KKNPP 3&4 (2X1000 MW) and KKNPP 5&6 (2X1000 MW) at Kudankulam in Tamil Nadu. The sanctioned cost of KKNPP 3&4 and KKNPP 5&6 is Rs. 39849 crore and Rs. 49621 crore respectively. The plants are constructed with 70:30 debt-equity. Inter Governmental Agreement (IGA) for co-operation in peaceful uses of nuclear energy have been signed with the following seventeen (17) countries: Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, Czech Republic, European Union, France, Japan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Namibia, Republic of Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, United States of America and Vietnam.

\*\*\*\*