GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2472

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 3RD DECEMBER, 2019/ AGRAHAYANA 12, 1941 (SAKA)
NAXAL AFFECTED DISTRICTS

†2472. SHRI ASHOK MAHADEORAO NETE:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of Naxal affected districts (Janpads) in the country as on date, State-wise;
- (b) whether the Government has formulated any integrated action plan for development of naxal affected areas;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) the details of the amount released and spent under this plan especially in Maharashtra as on date, State-wise; and
- (e) the details of goals achieved under this plan, State-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a) to (e): Presently 90 districts are covered under the Security Related Expenditure (SRE)/LWE scheme for the purpose of reimbursement of expenditure incurred by the states on Left Wing Extremism (LWE) counter operations. Details are at annexure-I.

Government of India has approved a scheme namely "Special Central Assistance" for most LWE affected districts with an outlay of Rs.3000 Crores for the period from 2017-18 to 2019-20. Under the Scheme funds are provided to the states to fill critical gaps in public infrastructure & services in most LWE affected districts. Presently 30 districts in 7 states are covered under the scheme. Rs.1775 Cr has been released to the States till date for the most LWE affected districts. Detail is at annexure-II.

<u>List of 90 districts covered under the SRE Scheme for LWE affected States</u>

S. No.	State	Number of Districts	Name of Districts	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	6	East Godavari, Guntur, Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam, Vizianagaram, West Godavari	
2.	Bihar	16	Arwal, Aurangabad, Banka, East Champaran, Gaya, Jamui, Jehanabad, Kaimur, Lakhisarai, Munger, Muzaffarpur, Nalanda, Nawada, Rohtas, Vaishali, West Champaran	
3.	Chhattisgarh	14	Balod, Balrampur, Bastar, Bijapur, Dantewada, Dhamtari, Gariyaband, Kanker, Kondagaon, Mahasamund, Narayanpur, Rajnandgaon, Sukma, Kabirdham	
4.	Jharkhand	19	Bokaro, Chatra, Dhanbad, Dumka, East Singhbhum, Garhwa, Giridih, Gumla, Hazaribagh, Khunti, Koderma, Latehar, Lohardaga, Palamu, Ramgarh, Ranchi, Simdega, Saraikela-Kharaswan, West Singhbhum	
5.	Madhya Pradesh	2	Balaghat, Mandla	
6.	Maharashtra	3	Chandrapur, Gadchiroli, Gondia	
7.	Odisha	15	Angul, Bargarh, Bolangir, Boudh, Deogarh, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Koraput, Malkangiri, Nabrangpur, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Rayagada, Sambhalpur, Sundargarh	
8.	Telangana	8	Adilabad, Bhadradri-Kothagudem, Jayashankar-Bhupalpally, Khammam, Komaram-Bheem, Mancherial, Peddapalle, Warangal Rural	
9.	Uttar Pradesh	3	Chandauli, Mirzapur and Sonebhadra	
10.	West Bengal	1	Jhargram	
11.	Kerala	3	Malappuram, Palakkad, Wayanad	
Total 90		90		

<u>ANNEXURE-II</u> <u>L.S.US.Q.NO.2472 FOR 3.12.2019</u>

FUND RELEASES TO STATES UNDER **SPECIAL CENTRAL ASSISTANCE** (**SCA**)

(Rs. in crore)

S.	State	2017-18	2018-19	2019-20
No.				Till date
1.	ANDHRA PRADESH	5	33.33	20
2.	BIHAR	30	133.33	80
3.	CHHATTISGARH	40	266.67	160
4.	JHARKHAND	80	433.33	260
5.	MAHARASHTRA	5	33.33	20
6.	ODISHA	10	66.67	40
7.	TELANGANA	5	33.34	20
	Total	175	1000	600
