GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2124 TO BE ANSWERED ON 02.12.2019

NATIONAL MINIMUM WAGES IN UNORGANISED SECTOR

2124. SHRI NATARAJAN P.R.:

Will the Minister of LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT be pleased to state:

- (a)whether the Government has taken a decision to fix National minimum wages for the unorganised workers in the country;
- (b)if so, the details thereof, State-wise thereof; and
- (c)the details of wages being paid by the State Governments to the MNREGA workers as on date, State-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (IC) FOR LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT (SHRI SANTOSH KUMAR GANGWAR)

- (a) & (b): No, Sir. However, there is a provision for fixation of floor wage as per section 9 of Code on Wages, 2019 passed by the Parliament on 08/08/2019.
- (c): As per section 6(1) of Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (Mahatma Gandhi NREGA), 2005, the Ministry of Rural Development notifies MGNREGA wage rates every year for States/UTs. To compensate the MGNREGA workers against inflation, the Ministry of Rural Development revises the wage rates every year based on Consumer Price Index for Agricultural Labour (CPI-AL) published by Labour Bureau, Shimla for all States/UTs. The wage rates are made applicable from 1st April of each Financial Year. State/UT-wise wage rates under MGNREGA during the financial year 2019-20 are given at Annexure.

* ****

ANNEXURE

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2124 RAISED BY SHRI NATARAJAN P.R FOR ANSWER ON 02.12.2019 REGARDING NATIONAL MINIMUM WAGES IN UNORGANISED SECTOR.

S. No.	State/UTs	MGNREGA wage rate as per Gazette notification (2019-20)
1	ANDHRA PRADESH	211
2	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	192
3	ASSAM	193
4	BIHAR	171
5	CHHATTISGARH	176
6	GUJARAT	199
7	HARYANA	284
8	HIMACHAL PRADESH - NON SCHEDULED AREA	185
8a	HIMACHAL PRADESH - SCHEDULED AREA	231
9	JAMMU & KASHMIR	189
10	JHARKHAND	171
11	KARNATAKA	249
12	KERALA	271
13	MADHYA PRADESH	176
14	MAHARASHTRA	206
15	MANIPUR	219
16	MEGHALAYA	187
17	MIZORAM	211
18	NAGALAND	192
19	ODISHA	188
20	PUNJAB	241
21	RAJASTHAN	199
22	SIKKIM	192
23	TAMIL NADU	229
24	TRIPURA	192
25	UTTAR PRADESH	182
26	UTTARAKHAND	182
27	WEST BENGAL	191
28	GOA	254
29	ANDAMAN & NICOBAR	
29a	ANDAMAN	250
29b	NICOBAR	264
30	D&N HAVELI	224
31	D& DIU	202
32	LAKSHADWEEP	248
33	PUDUCHERRY	229
34	CHANDIGARH	-
35	TELANGANA	211
