#### **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA**

# MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2103
TO BE ANSWERED ON 02.12.2019

#### **Preservation of Dying Languages**

#### 2103. SHRI SANJAY KAKA PATIL:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the steps being taken by the Government to preserve the dying languages across India;
- (b) the details of the dying languages across India; and
- (c) the funds allocated to preserve these languages in various States, Statewise?

#### **ANSWER**

### MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAMESH POKHRIYAL 'NISHANK')

(a) to (c): There is no official record of any dying language in India as there has not been any study towards this. However, the Government of India has initiated a Scheme known as "Scheme for Protection and Preservation of Endangered Languages of India" (SPPEL). Under this Scheme, the Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL), Mysore works on protection, preservation and documentation of all the mother tongues/languages of India spoken by less than 10,000 people which are called endangered languages. In the first phase of the scheme, 117 endangered languages/mother tongues have been chosen from all over India for study and documentation on a priority basis. Out of these, research work is on for more than 60 languages. Details of these 117 languages are given in Annexure.

The University Grants Commission has also initiated two schemes for protection of endangered languages, namely 'Funding Support to the State Universities for Study and Research in Indigenous and Endangered languages in India' and 'Establishment of Centres for Endangered Languages in Central Universities'. Under these schemes, seven State Universities and nine Central Universities, are being funded by UGC.

State-wise allocation of Funds is not being done under the scheme. Fund allocated to Central Universities from 2014 onwards is as under :-

(Rs. in Lakh)

CI		(NS. III EURII)
SI. No.	Name of University	Amount allocated
1.	Tezpur University	600
2.	Sikkim University	180
3.	Rajiv Gandhi University	180
4.	Indira Gandhi National Tribal University	530
5.	Central University of Jharkhand	360
6.	Guru GhasidasViswavidyalaya, Chhattisgarh	360
7.	Central University of Karnataka	360
8.	Central University of Kerala	360
9.	Visva Bharati	800
	Grant Total	3730

Funds allocated to State Universities during XII Plan (2012-17) is as under: -

(Rs. in Lakh)

S. No	Name of the University	Amount allocated
1.	Jadavpur University, West Bengal	134
2.	Bharathiar University, Tamil Nadu	96
3.	Dravadian University, Andhra University	161
4.	National Law University, Delhi	193
5.	Kerala University, Kerala	193
6.	Berhampur University, Odisha	193
7.	M.S University of Baroda, Vadodara	1768
	Grant Total	2738

CIIL made an expenditure of Rs. 11 Crore under the Scheme SPPEL since 2013.

## ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2103 ASKED BY SHRI SANJAY KAKA PATIL FOR 02.12.2019 REGARDING PRESERVATION OF DYING LANGUAGES

S.	Name of	S.	Name of	S.	Name of	
No.	Language/Mother	No.	Language/Mother	No.	Language/Mother	
	Tongue		Tongue		Tongue	
1	LAMONGSE	40	MARA	79	KHANA	
2	LURO	41	AIMOL	80	BHADRALIAM	
3	MUOT	42	ATONG	81	KHASHA	
4	ONGE	43	GURUNG	82	MESHABI	
5	PU	44	KHAMBA	83	PADDARI	
6	SANENYO	45	DIRANG MONPA	84	TEHGUL	
7	SENTILESE	46	KHAMPTI	85	GOJAPURI	
8	SHOMPEN	47	PURUM	86	HASSADI	
9	TAKAHANYILANG	48	UCHAI	87	BALASTIN	
10	THARUA	49	NEWARI	88	BATERI	
11	BHUNJIA	50	BAWM	89	DARGARI	
	BODO GADABA/					
12	GUTOB	51	RALTE	90	KUSHWAHI	
13	DHIMAL	52	THAPA	91	MASIDI	
14	MRU	53	BAGI	92	SIAN	
15	MANDA	54	CHINZ / ZYPHE	93	MANNAN	
16	BIRHOR	55	CHOTHE	94	KANIKER GOTTI	
17	HOLIYA	56	KAGATE	95	PULIYA	
18	BINJHIA/BIRJIA/BRIJIA	57	KAMI / KHAMI	96	SIDDI	
19	тото	58	KOIRENG	97	KADAR	
20	DIDAYI / GATA	59	KONGBO	98	MOOPAN	
21	GORUM	60	LAMGANG	99	MUDUGA	
22	THOTI	61	MOYON	100	SOLIGA	
			MUKHIYA/			
23	BONDO	62	SUNUWAR	101	HAKKIPIKKI	
0.4	DADENICA		NEWAR /	100		
24	PARENGA	63	PRADHAN PUROIK /	102	MALAIMALASAR	
25	NAA	64	SULUNG	103	ARANDAN	
26	TANGAM	65	TARAO	104	KUTIYA	
			YOBIN/YOBIN			
27	KHAMIYANG	66	LIJU	105	URALI	
28	SINGPHO	67	ZAKHRING	106	MUDUVAN	
29	SHERDUKPEN	68	JANGSHUNG	107	PALIYA	
30	MEYOR /ZAKHRING	69	GAHRI	108	MALAYAN	
31	RANGLONG	70	SPITI	109	MALASAR	
32	BAITE/ BIATE	71	CHINALI	110	JENU KURUMBA	
33	BANGRO	72	DARMIYA	111	TODA	
34	CHIRU	73	JAD	112	ERAVALLAN	
			KANASHI /			
35	DARLONG	74	MALANI	113	BHARWAD/BHARWADI	
36	LIJU	75	JANGALI/ RAJI	114	BARADI	
37	PHAKIAL	76	RONGPO	115	NIHALI	
38	KOMKAR	77	SIRAM	116	BHALA	
39	SIMONG	78	BEDA	117	Divehi	