GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

LOK SABHA UN-STARRED QUESTION NO. 1847 TO BE ANSWERED ON 29.11.2019

Air Quality Monitoring Stations

1847. DR. G. RANJITH REDDY:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that there are only eleven air quality monitoring stations in Telangana when the State has more than thirty districts and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether there is only one operating station in Patancheruvu in Ranga Reddy district and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to set up more and more stations to assess pollution and air quality in Telangana?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI BABUL SUPRIYO)

(a) & (b) There are 25 manual and 6 real time Continuous Ambient Air Quality Monitoring Stations (CAAQMS) in Telangana. The details of the stations in Telangana under NAMP and CAAQMS are at **Annexure-I**.

Patencheru has 01 manual ambient air quality monitoring station located at Police Station, Medak, Ramachandrapuram and 01 real time station located at International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-arid Tropics (ICRISAT).

(c) Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) has launched National Clean Air Programme (NCAP) under the Central Sector "Control of Pollution" Scheme as a long-term, time-bound, national level strategy to tackle the air pollution problem across the country in a comprehensive manner. Under NCAP, 102 non-attainment cities including cities viz Hyderabad, Nalgonda, Patencheru in Telangana have been identified based on ambient air quality data for the period 2011 - 2015 and WHO report 2014/2018. Out of 102 non-attainment cities identified under NCAP, for the cities with million plus population and PM₁₀>90µg/m³, Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change is funding ₹10 Crores in the current year for 28 such priority cities including Hyderabad in Telangana for various components that inter alia include Installation and commissioning of CAAQMS, Creating green buffer zone along the roads, Mechanical street sweeper, Mobile Enforcement Unit, Public awareness and capacity building activities, Water sprinklerfor the remaining nonattainment cities, funding of ₹10 lakhs per city for cities with population less than 5 lakhs including cities vizPatencheru and Nalgonda in Telangana and ₹ 20 lakhs per city, for cities with a population of 5 to 10 lakhs have been allocated.

Ambient air quality monitoring stations (AAQMS) in Telangana under NAMP (Manual)

S. No.	City/Town	No. of AAQMS	
1.	Adilabad	1	
2.	Hyderabad	10	
3.	Karimnagar	1	
4.	Khammam	2	
5.	Kothur	1	
6.	Nalgonda	2	
7.	Nizamabad	1	
8.	Patencheru	1	
9.	Ramagundum	1	
10.	Sangareddy	3	
11.	Warangal	arangal 2	
Total	11 cities	25 stations	

Continuous Ambient Air Quality Monitoring Stations (CAAQMS-real time stations) in Telangana

City /Town	SI.No.	Station Name
	1.	Bollaram Industrial Area
•	2.	Central University
Hyderabad	3.	IDA Pashamylaram
	4.	Sanathnagar
	5.	Zoo Park
Patancheru	6.	ICRISAT Patancheru
		06 stations