GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†1360 ANSWERED ON 25.11.2019

PRATISHTHIT PARYATAK STHAL YOJANA

†1360. SHRI BHANU PRATAP SINGH VERMA:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is developing places under "Pratishthit Paryatak Sthal Yojana" in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the number of places to be developed under this scheme in Uttar Pradesh;
- (c) whether the Government also proposes to include other places under this scheme; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL)

(a) to (d): Pursuant to the Budget Announcements of 2018-19, Ministry of Tourism has identified 17 sites in 12 clusters in the country to be developed as Iconic Tourism Sites. The details of the sites are Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh), Ajanta & Ellora (Maharashtra), Humayun's Tomb, Red Fort & Qutub Minar (Delhi), Colva (Goa), Amer Fort (Rajasthan), Somnath & Dholavira (Gujarat), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh), Hampi (Karnataka), Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu), Kaziranga (Assam), Kumarakom (Kerala) and Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar).

The Ministry envisages to develop above destinations in the country as benchmark tourism destinations and later replicate it at other destinations taking into account the learnings derived from its implementation.
