GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF DEFENCE DEPARTMENT OF DEFENCE LOK SABHA **STARRED QUESTION NO. 237** TO BE ANSWERED ON 4th December, 2019

SAINIK SCHOOLS

*237. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH: MS. PRATIMA BHOUMIK:

Will the Minister of DEFENCE j{kk ea=h be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Ministry runs/operates Sainik Schools and if so, the details thereof, State-wise:

(b) whether a number of requests from different States including Jharkhand and Tripura for opening of Sainik Schools are pending with the Government and if so, the details thereof along with the reasons for delay in sanctioning of Sainik Schools;

(c) whether it is a fact that girls are not allowed to take admission in Sainik Schools; and

(d) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor?

<u>A N S W E R</u>

MINISTER OF DEFENCE j{kk ea=h

(SHRI RAJNATH SINGH) $\frac{1}{4}Jh$ राजनाथ सिंह)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 237 FOR ANSWER ON 04.12.2019 REGARDING 'SAINIK SCHOOLS'.

(a) There are 31 Sainik Schools functioning in the country. State-wise details of Sainik Schools in the country is placed at **Annexure-I**.

(b) Status of proposals for opening of new Sainik Schools, including Jharkhand and Tripura, requested by different States is placed at **Annexure-II**.

Sainik Schools are established after approval by the Ministry of Defence and signing of agreement between State Government and Ministry of Defence. As per scheme the State Government has to provide land along with funds for creation and maintenance of basic infrastructure, purchase of equipment and other facilities besides scholarships for the cadets belonging to the State.

(c) & (d): The Pilot Project for admission of girl children in Sainik School, Chhingchhip (Mizoram) was started in the academic session 2018-19. After its success, the Government has decided to implement admission of girl children in other Sainik Schools. The admission of girl children in 05 Sainik Schools viz. Kalikiri (Andhra Pradesh), Kodagu (Karnataka), Ghorakhal (Uttarakhand), Chandrapur (Maharashtra) and Bijapur (Karnataka) has been approved for admission for the academic session 2020-21.

ANNEXURE-I REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 237 FOR ANSWER ON 04.12.2019 REGARDING 'SAINIK SCHOOLS'.

S. No.	Name of School	State/UT	
1.	Sainik School Korukonda	Andhra Pradesh	
2.	Sainik School Kalikiri		
3.	Sainik School East Siang	Arunachal Pradesh	
4.	Sainik School Goalpara	Assam	
5.	Sainik School Nalanda	Bihar	
6.	Sainik School Gopalganj		
7.	Sainik School Ambikapur	Chhattisgarh	
8.	Sainik School Balachadi	Gujarat	
9.	Sainik School Kunjpura	11	
10.	Sainik School Rewari	Haryana	
11.	Sainik School Sujanpur Tira	Himachal Pradesh	
12.	Sainik School Nagrota	Jammu & Kashmir	
13.	Sainik School Tilaiya	Jharkhand	
14.	Sainik School Bijapur		
15.	Sainik School Kodagu	Karnataka	
16.	Sainik School Kazhakootam	Kerala	
17.	Sainik School Rewa	Madhya Pradesh	
18.	Sainik School Satara	Maharashtra	
19.	Sainik School Chandrapur	Maharashtra	
20.	Sainik School Imphal	Manipur	
21.	Sainik School Chhingchhip	Mizoram	
22.	Sainik School Punglwa	Nagaland	
23.	Sainik School Bhubaneswar Odisha		

LIST OF SAINIK SCHOOLS (STATE WISE) IN THE COUNTRY

24.	Sainik School Kapurthala Punjab		
25.	Sainik School Chittorgarh	Rajasthan	
26.	Sainik School Jhunjhunu		
27.	Sainik School Amaravathi Nagar	Tamil Nadu	
28.	Sainik School Ghorakhal	Uttarakhand	
29.	Sainik School Mainpuri	- Uttar Pradesh	
30.	Sainik School Jhansi		
31.	Sainik School Purulia	West Bengal	

ANNEXURE-II REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 237 FOR ANSWER ON 04.12.2019 REGARDING 'SAINIK SCHOOLS'.

STATUS OF PROPOSALS FOR OPENING OF NEW SAINIK SCHOOLS

S.No.	State	Location	Status
1.	Uttar Pradesh	Amethi	Will commence w.e.f 01.04.2020
2.	Odisha	Sambalpur	- Do-
3.	Rajasthan	Alwar	MoA Signed
4.	Uttarakhand	Rudraprayag	- Do-
5.	Telangana	Warangal	- Do-
6.	West Bengal	Darjeeling	In-principle Approval given
7.	Assam	Golaghat	- Do-
8.	Jharkhand	Godda	- Do-
9.	M P	Bhind	- Do-
10.	Assam	Kokrajhar	- Do-
11.	M P	Sagar	Site Survey completed
12.	Punjab	Gurdaspur	- Do-
13.	Sikkim	Boom	- Do-
14.	Tripura	West Tripura	- Do-
15.	Haryana	Matenhail	- Do-
16.	Uttar Pradesh	Mirzapur	- Do-
17.	Uttar Pradesh	Baghpat	Formal proposal awaited
