GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 760 TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.02.2024

ATAL TINKERING LABS

760. SHRIMATI POONAMBEN MAADAM:

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the steps undertaken by the Government to promote innovation and entrepreneurship across the country;
- (b) the objectives of setting up Atal Tinkering Labs (ATLs) across the country; and
- (c) whether the Government has established any Atal Tinkering Labs in Aspirational Districts and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF STATISTICS AND PROGRAMME IMPLEMENTATION; MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS

(RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a) Government of India has set up Atal Innovation Mission (AIM) to create and promote the culture of innovation and entrepreneurship across the country. AIM's objective is to develop new programmes and policies for fostering innovation in different sectors of the economy, provide platforms and collaboration opportunities for different stakeholders, and create an umbrella structure to oversee the innovation & entrepreneurship ecosystem of the country. Following are the details of flagship initiatives undertaken at AIM:
 - Atal Tinkering Labs (ATL): ATL is a state-of-the-art makerspace established in a school with a goal to foster curiosity and innovation in young minds, between grade 6th to 12th, through 21st century tools and technologies such as Internet of Things, 3D printing, rapid prototyping tools, robotics, miniaturized electronics, do-it-yourself kits and many more.

- Atal Incubation Centres (AIC): Atal Incubation Centres are business incubators established by AIM at universities, institutions and corporates to promote innovation and entrepreneurship among young innovators of the country.
- Atal Community Innovation Centres (ACIC): To promote the benefits of technology led innovation to the unserved/underserved regions of India including Tier 2, Tier 3 cities, aspirational districts, tribal, hilly and coastal areas, AIM is setting up Atal Community Innovation Centres.
- Atal New India Challenges (ANIC): The program aims to seek, select, support and nurture technology-based innovations that solve sectoral challenges of national importance and societal relevance.
- **Mentor of Change:** To enable all the initiatives to succeed, AIM has launched one of the largest mentor engagement and management program.
- (b) The objectives of setting up ATLs across the country are as follows:
 - To create workspaces where young minds can learn innovation skills, sculpt ideas through hands-on activities, work and learn in a flexible environment.
 - To empower our youth with 21st century skills of creativity, innovation, critical thinking, design thinking, and so on.
 - To help build innovative solutions for India's unique challenges and thereby support
 India's efforts to grow as a knowledge economy.
- (c) Yes, Sir. Out of 10,000 ATLs established across the country till date, 1,175 (11.75%) ATLs have been established in 103 Aspirational Districts of the country. The statewise, district-wise count of ATLs in Aspirational Districts is enclosed in Annexure.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 760 FOR 07.02.2024 BY SHRIMATI POONAMBEN MAADAM: REGARDING ATAL TINKERING LABS

District-wise count of ATLs in Aspirational Districts

STATE	DISTRICT	NUMBER OF ATLs
ANDHRA PRADESH	VISAKHAPATNAM	85
ANDHRA PRADESH	VIZIANAGARAM	55
	YSR DISTRICT, KADAPA	
ANDHRA PRADESH	(CUDDAPAH)	51
ARUNACHAL PRADESH	NAMSAI	1
ASSAM	BAKSA	17
ASSAM	BARPETA	22
ASSAM	DARRANG	5
ASSAM	DHUBRI	21
ASSAM	GOALPARA	11
ASSAM	HAILAKANDI	11
ASSAM	UDALGURI	1
BIHAR	ARARIA	2
BIHAR	AURANGABAD	15
BIHAR	BANKA	4
BIHAR	BEGUSARAI	5
BIHAR	GAYA	6
BIHAR	KATIHAR	1
BIHAR	KHAGARIA	1
BIHAR	MUZAFFARPUR	4
BIHAR	NAWADA	2
BIHAR	PURNIA (PURNEA)	4
BIHAR	SITAMARHI	2
CHHATTISGARH	BASTAR	15
CHHATTISGARH	BIJAPUR	24
CHHATTISGARH	DANTEWADA (SOUTH BASTAR)	1
CHHATTISGARH	KANKER (NORTH BASTAR)	14
CHHATTISGARH	KONDAGAON	12
CHHATTISGARH	KORBA	17
CHHATTISGARH	MAHASAMUND	20
CHHATTISGARH	NARAYANPUR	8
CHHATTISGARH	RAJNANDGAON	18
CHHATTISGARH	SUKMA	1
GUJARAT	DAHOD	12
GUJARAT	NARMADA (RAJPIPLA)	9
HARYANA	MEWAT	22
HIMACHAL PRADESH	CHAMBA	4
JAMMU AND KASHMIR	BARAMULLA	17
JAMMU AND KASHMIR	KUPWARA	4
JHARKHAND	BOKARO	11

JHARKHAND	CHATRA	5
JHARKHAND	EAST SINGHBHUM	17
JHARKHAND	GARHWA	2
JHARKHAND	GIRIDIH	7
JHARKHAND	GODDA	1
JHARKHAND	GUMLA	5
JHARKHAND	HAZARIBAG	9
JHARKHAND	KHUNTI	3
JHARKHAND	LATEHAR	1
JHARKHAND	LOHARDAGA	5
JHARKHAND	PALAMU	3
JHARKHAND	RAMGARH	6
JHARKHAND	RANCHI	23
JHARKHAND	SIMDEGA	2
JHARKHAND	WEST SINGHBHUM	4
KARNATAKA	RAICHUR	45
KARNATAKA	YADGIR	13
KERALA	WAYANAD	29
MADHYA PRADESH	BARWANI	10
MADHYA PRADESH	CHHATARPUR	11
MADHYA PRADESH	DAMOH	11
MADHYA PRADESH	GUNA	5
MADHYA PRADESH	KHANDWA	9
MADHYA PRADESH	RAJGARH	15
MADHYA PRADESH	SINGRAULI	7
MADHYA PRADESH	VIDISHA	24
MAHARASHTRA	GADCHIROLI	11
MAHARASHTRA	NANDURBAR	6
MAHARASHTRA	OSMANABAD	24
MAHARASHTRA	WASHIM	7
MANIPUR	CHANDEL	5
NAGALAND	KIPHIRE	1
ODISHA	BALANGIR	21
ODISHA	DHENKANAL	8
ODISHA	GAJAPATI	3
ODISHA	KALAHANDI	18
ODISHA	KANDHAMAL	2
ODISHA	KORAPUT	16
ODISHA	MALKANGIRI	5
ODISHA	NABARANGPUR	5
ODISHA	NUAPADA	7
ODISHA	RAYAGADA	3
PUNJAB	FEROZEPUR	12
PUNJAB	MOGA	5
RAJASTHAN	BARAN	8
RAJASTHAN	DHOLPUR	4
RAJASTHAN	JAISALMER	8
RAJASTHAN	KARAULI	8

RAJASTHAN	SIROHI	7
SIKKIM	WEST SIKKIM	8
TAMIL NADU	RAMANATHAPURAM	31
TAMIL NADU	VIRUDHUNAGAR	37
TELANGANA	BHADRADRI KOTHAGUDEM	2
TELANGANA	JAYASHANKAR BHUPALPALLY	1
TELANGANA	KUMURAM BHEEM ASIFABAD	5
TRIPURA	DHALAI	1
UTTAR PRADESH	BAHRAICH	2
UTTAR PRADESH	CHANDAULI	3
UTTAR PRADESH	CHITRAKOOT	1
UTTAR PRADESH	FATEHPUR	41
UTTAR PRADESH	SIDDHARTH NAGAR	2
UTTAR PRADESH	SONBHADRA	12
UTTARAKHAND	HARIDWAR	14
UTTARAKHAND	UDHAM SINGH NAGAR	14
