### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 712 TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.02.2024

## NATIONAL TEXTILES CORPORATION

### 712. SHRI RAMDAS C. TADAS:

Will the Minister of TEXTILES वस्त्र मंत्री be pleased to state :

(a) whether several mills of National Textiles Corporation have been closed and if so, the details thereof, State/Union Territory-wise;

(b) whether there are any such closed mills in Amravati and Vardha of Maharashtra and if so, the area and estimated value of each of the said mills;

(c) whether the Government has formulated any scheme for more profitable use of the said land;

(d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and

(e) the steps taken/being taken by the Union Government to make NTC a profit making unit?

## उत्तर ANSWER वस्त्र राज्य मंत्री (**श्रीमती दर्शना जरदोश**) THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR TEXTILES (SMT. DARSHANA JARDOSH)

(a): In so far as National Textiles Corporation Ltd (NTC) is concerned, the details of 78 mills closed during the period from 2002 to 2011, State-wise / UT-wise, as per the Board for Industrial and Financial Reconstruction (BIFR) approved revival Scheme for NTC Mills based on economic viability study is at Annexure-I. Further, the production activities in 23 NTC working mills were suspended due to COVID 19 pandemic and Nation-wide lockdown imposed by various State Governments from March, 2020. Normal operations were resumed in some of the mills from January, 2021 onwards but could not be continued due to the unavailability of working capital and other financial constraints. The State and UT wise details of 23 NTC mills is at Annexure-II.

(b): There are no closed mills of NTC in Amravati and Vardha of Maharashtra.

(c) to (e): In February, 2021, a new Public Sector Enterprise (PSE) Policy was announced for Atmanirbhar Bharat, which lays down a broad roadmap for PSEs. In accordance with the guidelines for implementation of New Public Sector Enterprises (PSE) policy for CPSEs in Non-Strategic Sector issued by the Department of Expenditure (DPE), the issue of NTC has been referred to DPE for action plan and way forward.

S. No.	NAME OF THE MILLS	LOCATION	State
1	AZAM JAHI MILLS	Warangal	Andhra Pradesh
2	NATRAJ SPINNING MILLS	Adilabad	Andhra Pradesh
3	ADONI COTTON MILLS	Adoni	Andhra Pradesh
4	NETHA SPINNING MILLS	Secunderabad	Andhra Pradesh
5	M.S.K. MILLS	Gulbarga	Karnatka
6	MYSORE SPG. & MFG. MILLS	Bangalore	Karnatka
7	EDWARD MILLS	Beawar	Rajasthan
8	DAYALBAGH SPG & WVG MILLS	Amritsar	Punjab
9	PANIPAT WOOLLEN MILLS	Kharar	Punjab
10	AHMEDBAD JUPITER TEX. MILLS	Ahmedabad	Gujrat
10	JEHANGIR TEXTILE MILLS	Ahmedabad	Gujrat
12	MAHALAXMI TEX.MILLS	Bhavnagar	Gujrat
13	NEW MANEKCHOWK TEX.MILL	Ahmedabad	Gujrat
14	PETLAD TEX.MILLS	Petlad	Gujrat
15	RAJKOT TEX.MILLS	Rajkot	Gujrat
16	VIRAMGAM TEX.MILLS	Viramgam	Gujrat
17	RAJNAGAR No 2	Ahmedabad	Gujrat
18	HIMADARI TEXTILE MILLS	Ahmedabad	Gujrat
19	INDIA UNITED MILLS NO.2	Mumbai	Maharashtra
20	INDIA UNITED MILLS NO.3	Mumbai	Maharashtra
21	INDIA UNITED MILLS NO.4	Mumbai	Maharashtra
22	KOHINOOR MILLS NO.2	Mumbai	Maharashtra
23	KOHINOOR MILLS NO.3	Mumbai	Maharashtra
24	JAM MFG. MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
25	MODEL MILLS	Nagpur	Maharashtra
26	R.S.R.G. MILLS	Akola	Maharashtra
27	SHRI SITARAM MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
28	VIDHARBHA MILLS	Achalpur	Maharashtra
29	BHARAT TEXTILE MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
30	DIGV IJAY TEXTILE MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
31	ELPHINSTONE SPG & WVG MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
32	JUPITER TEXTILE MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
33	MUMBAI TEXTILE MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
34	NEW HIND TEXTILE MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
35	PODAR PROCESSORS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
36	SHREE MADHUSUDAN MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
37	BENGAL NAGPUR COTTON MILLS	Rajnandgaon	Chhattisgarh
38	HIRA MILLS	Ujjain	Madhya Pradesh
39	INDORE MALWA UNITED MILLS	Indore	Madhya Pradesh
40	KALYAN MAL MILLS	Indore	Madhya Pradesh
41	SWADESHI TEXTILE MILLS	Indore	Madhya Pradesh
42	ATHERTON MILLS	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh
43	BIJLI COTTON MILLS	Hathras	Uttar Pradesh
44	LAXMIRATTAN COTTON MILLS	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh
45	LORD KRISHNA TEX.MILLS	Saharanpur	Uttar Pradesh
46	MUIR MILLS	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh
47	NEW VICTORIA MILLS	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh
48	RAE BARELI TEX. MILLS	Raebareli	Uttar Pradesh
49	SHRI VIKRAM COTTON MILLS	Lucknow	Uttar Pradesh
50	SWADESHI COTTON MILLS	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh
50	BANGASRI COTTON MILLS	Sonepore	West Bengal

52	BENGAL FINE S.&W.MILLS NO.II	Kataganj	West Bengal
53	MANINDRA B.T. MILLS	Cossim Bazar	West Bengal
54	JYOTI WVG. FACTORY	Patipukur	West Bengal
55	CENTRAL COTTON MILLS	Belur	West Bengal
56	SHREE MAHALAXMI COTTON	Palta	West Bengal
57	BENGAL FINE S.&W.MILLS NO.I	Konnagar	West Bengal
58	BENGAL LUXMI COTTON MILLS	Serampore	West Bengal
59	RAMPOORIA COTTON MILLS	Rishra	West Bengal
60	GAYA COTTON & JUTE MILLS	Gaya	Bihar
61	BALARAMAVARMA TEXTILE MILLS	Shencottah	Tamilnadu
62	KISHNAVENI TEXTILE MILLS	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
63	OM PARASAKTHI MILLS	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
64	SOMASUNDARAM MILLS	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
65	KALEESWARAR MILLS 'A' UNIT	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
66	ANANTHAPUR COTTON MILLS	Ananthapur	Andhra Pradesh
67	SREE YALLAMA COTTON MILLS	Davangere	Karnakta
68	KHARAR TEXTILE MILLS	Kharar	Punjab
69	SURAJ TEXTILE MILLS	Malout	Punjab
70	SHREE BIJAY COTTON MILLS	Sri Bijaynagar	Rajasthan
71	AHMEDABAD NEW TEXTILE MILLS	Ahmedabad	Gujrat
72	INDIA UNITED MILL No.6 (Dye Works)	Mumbai	Maharashtra
73	KOHINOOR MILLS NO.1	Mumbai	Maharashtra
74	SWADESHI COTTON MILLS, NAINI	Naini	Uttar Pradesh
75	BIHAR CO-OPERATIVE MILLS	Mokameh	Bihar
76	ASSOCIATE INDUSTRIES	Chandrapur	Assam
77	FINLAY MILLS	Mumbai	Maharashtra
78	MINERVA MILLS	Bangalore	Karnatka

#### Annexure -II

# NTC working Mills details (23 Mills)

S.No.	Mill Name	City	State
1	Cannanore Spg & Wvg Mills	Kannur	Kerala
2	Kerala Lakshmi Mills	Thrissur	Kerala
3	Alagappa Textile Mills	Thrissur	Kerala
4	Vijayamohini Mills	Trivandrum	Kerala
5	Cannanore Spg & Wvg Mills	Mahe	Puducherry
6	Sri Rangavilas Mills	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
7	Coimbatore Murugan Mills	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
8	Pankaja Mills	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
9	Cambodia Mills	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
10	Coimbatore Spg & Wvg Mills	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu
11	Pioneer Spinners	Kamuthakudi	Tamilnadu
12	Kaleshwarar Mill, 'B'	Kalayarkovil	Tamilnadu
13	Finlay Mills	Achalpur	Maharashtra
14	Barshi Textile Mills	Barshi	Maharashtra
15	Podar Mills	Mumbai	Maharashtra
16	India United Mill No.5	Mumbai	Maharashtra
17	Tata Mills	Mumbai	Maharashtra
18	New Minerva Mills	Hassan	Karnataka
19	Rajnagar Textile Mills	Ahmedbad	Gujarat
20	Burhanpur Tapti Mills	Burhanpur	Madhya Pradesh
21	New Bhopal Textile Mills	Bhopal	Madhya Pradesh
22	Arati Cotton Mills	Kolkata	West Bengal
23	Tirupathi Cotton Mills	Renigunda	Andhra Pradesh