# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 671 ANSWERED ON 06/02/2024

#### **OBJECTIVES OF AMRIT SAROVAR MISSION**

### 671. SHRI BALASHOWRY VALLABHANENI: DR. G. RANJITH REDDY:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the aims and objectives of Amrit Sarovar Mission;
- (b) whether it is true that 75 Amrit Sarovars are going to be identified from each district of the country for their manifestation;
- (c) if so, the number of Amrit Sarovars (Ponds) identified from each district of the State of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana; and
- (d) the details of timelines by when Amrit Sarovars are going to be manifested?

#### ANSWER

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SADHVI NIRANJAN JYOTI)

(a): The Mission Amrit Sarovar was launched on 24<sup>th</sup> April 2022, with an objective to conserve water for the future. The Mission aimed at developing / rejuvenating 75 Amrit Sarovar (Pond) in each district of the Country, totaling about 50,000 Amrit Sarovars in the country. Amrit Sarovar has been a visible manifestation of the actions during Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav.

(b)&(c): The initial target of the Mission Amrit Sarovar for all States/ UTs was 50,000 (at least 75 Amrit Sarovar in every rural district of the country).

District-wise details of number of sites identified, number of works commenced out of total identified sites and number of works completed out of the commenced works in the State of Andhra Pradesh under Mission Amrit Sarovar as on 01.02.2024. is given at Annexure-I.

District-wise details of number of sites identified, number of works commenced out of total identified sites and number of works completed out of the commenced works in the State of Telangana under Mission Amrit Sarovar as on 01.02.2024 is given at Annexure-II.

(d): The target of 50,000 Amrit Sarovar was achieved on the 10th May 2023. The Mission has Started on 24<sup>th</sup> April 2022 and ended on 15th August, 2023.

\* \* \* \* \*

Annexure-I referred in reply to parts (b)&(c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 671 dated 06.02.2024.

District-wise details of number of Sites Identified,Number of works commenced out of total identified sites and number of works completed out of the commenced works in the State of Andhra Pradesh under Mission Amrit Sarovar as on 01.02.2024.

			Number of	Number of	
			works	works	
			commenced	-	
		Number of	out of total	out of the	
Sr.		sites	identified	commenced	
No.	District	identified	sites	works	
	AlluriSitharama Raju				
1	District	200	135	87	
2	Anakapalli	156	151	122	
3	Anantapur	292	272	84	
4	Annamayya	184	130	90	
5	Bapatla	180	128	77	
6	Chittoor	239	109	88	
7	East Godavari	205	145	84	
8	Eluru	210	153	77	
9	Guntur	130	121	78	
10	Kakinada	130	114	79	
11	Kona Seema	156	109	80	
12	Krishna	176	132	100	
13	Kurnool	169	143	85	
14	Manyam	247	208	116	
	Nandyal	183	174	80	
16	NTR	100	99	57	
17	Palnadu	116	111	75	
18	Prakasam	484	280	111	
19	Sri BalajiTirupathi	336	185	93	
20	Srikakulam	200	173	88	
21	Sri PottiSriramulu Nellore	217	125	70	
22	Sri Satyasai	215	207	79	
23	 Visakhapatnam	33	33	29	
	Vizianagaram	234	217	93	
	West Godavari	176	134	89	
	Y.S.R	132	123	85	

# Annexure-II referred in reply to parts (b)&(c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 671 dated 06.02.2024.

District-wise details of number of Sites Identified,Number of works commenced out of total identified sites and number of works completed out of the commenced works in the State of Telangana under Mission Amrit Sarovar as on 01.02.2024.

		Number of	Number of
		works	works
	N	commenced	completed out
	Number of	out of total	of the
	sites	identified	commenced
Sr. No. District	identified	sites	works
1 Adilabad	123	104	77
2 BhadradriKothagudem	125	83	75
3 Hyderabad	5	3	2
4 Jagitial	163	101	67
5 Jangoan	141	67	64
6 Jayashankar	96	68	51
7 JogulambaGadwal	83	69	48
8 Kamareddy	92	65	35
9 Karimnagar	153	125	75
10 Khammam	171	121	70
11 KumuramBheemAsifabad	139	76	38
12 Mahabubabad	99	75	50
13 Mahabubnagar	127	123	75
14 Mancherial	125	96	75
15 Medak	142	100	77
16 Medchal Malkajgiri	35	16	3
17 Mulugu	134	78	51
18 Nagarkurnool	98	76	62
19 Nalgonda	186	144	57
20 Narayanpet	107	81	66
21 Nirmal	131	104	63
22 Nizamabad	153	111	60
	95	83	57
23 Peddapalli 24 Peierre Sireille	-		
24 RajannaSircilla	123	85	66
25 Ranga Reddy	133	91	24
26 Sangareddy	93	69	40
27 Siddipet	102	68	57
28 Suryapet	113	76	70
29 Vikarabad	124	96	75
30Wanaparthy	182	86	69
31 Warangal	41	41	2
32Warangal Rural	156	114	107
33Warangal Urban	59	55	37
34 Yadadri Bhuvanagiri	93	77	43