GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 272 ANSWERED ON 05.02.2024

QUALITY EDUCATION TO CHILDREN OF EDUCATIONALLY BACKWARD DISTRICTS

272. SHRI SUSHIL KUMAR RINKU:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has the data of educationally backward districts of the country;

(b) if so, the details thereof including Punjab;

(c) the details of awareness programmes being formulated by the Government to facilitate children of these backward districts to get quality education in their surrounding areas; and

(d) the details of the funds estimated for the purpose and the time by which these are likely to be implemented?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (Dr. SUBHAS SARKAR)

(a) to (d) The government has launched the third phase of Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) in June 2023 in the form of Pradhan Mantri Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (PM-USHA) with an outlay of Rs. 12926.10 crore for the period 2023-24 to 2025-26 to cater to needs of educationally unserved/underserved areas. Under PM-USHA, priority is given to Focus Districts. The focus districts are identified by the concerned States/UTs based on various criteria including low Gross Enrollment Ratio, the proportion of disadvantaged categories such as Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, etc. The details of the Focus Districts identified and submitted by the States/UTs, including Punjab, as on date is given at Annexure. The scheme envisages improvement in access, equity and excellence in State Higher Education system through support under various components viz., Multi-Disciplinary Education and Research Universities (MERU), Grants to Strengthen Universities, Grants to Strengthen Colleges, New Model Degree Colleges and Gender Inclusion and Equity Initiatives.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (A) TO (D) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 272 ANSWERED ON 05.02.2024 ASKED BY SHRI SUSHIL KUMAR RINKU, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING QUALITY EDUCATION TO CHILDREN OF EDUCATIONALLY BACKWARD DISTRICTS

State	No. of Focus Districts	Name Of Focus Districts
Andaman And Nicobar Islands	2	North And Middle Andaman, South Andamans
Andhra Pradesh	13	Alluri Sitharama Raju, Anantapur, Annamayya, Chittoor, East Godavari, Krishna, Nandyal, Parvathipuram Manyam, Spsr Nellore, Srikakulam, Sri Sathya Sai, Vizianagaram, Y.S.R.
Arunachal Pradesh	12	Changlang, East Kameng, Leparada, Lohit, Lower Dibang Valley, Lower Subansiri, Papum Pare, Tawang, Tirap, Upper Siang, Upper Subansiri, West Siang
Assam	16	Baksa, Barpeta, Cachar, Chirang, Darrang, Dhubri, Dima Hasao, Goalpara, Hailakandi, Karbi Anglong, Karimganj, Marigaon, Sonitpur, Tinsukia, Udalguri, West Karbi Anglong
Chandigarh	1	Chandigarh
Chhattisgarh	17	Baloda Bazar, Bastar, Bemetara, Bilaspur, Dhamtari, Durg, Gariyaband, Janjgir-Champa, Kabirdham, Kanker, Khairgarh Chhuikhadan Gandai, Korba, Mahasamund, Raigarh, Raipur, Rajnandgaon, Surguja
Goa	2	North Goa, South Goa
Gujarat	16	Ahmadabad, Anand, Banas Kantha, Bharuch, Dang, Dohad, Gandhinagar, Junagadh, Kachchh, Narmada, Navsari, Patan, Surat, Surendranagar, Tapi, Valsad
Haryana	11	Bhiwani, Charki Dadri, Faridabad, Gurugram, Jhajjar, Jind, Mahendragarh, Panchkula, Panipat, Rohtak, Sonipat
Himachal Pradesh	6	Chamba, Kangra, Mandi, Shimla, Sirmaur, Una
Jammu And Kashmir	10	Badgam, Bandipora, Baramulla, Doda, Kathua, Kulgam, Kupwara, Rajauri, Ramban, Udhampur
Jharkhand	12	Chatra, Dumka, Giridih, Godda, Gumla, Jamtara, Khunti, Latehar, Palamu, Sahebganj, Simdega, West Singhbhum
Karnataka	16	Belagavi, Bidar, Chamarajanagar, Chikballapur, Chikkamagaluru, Chitradurga, Hassan, Kalaburagi, Kodagu, Kolar, Koppal, Mandya, Raichur, Uttar Kannad, Vijayapur, Yadgir
Ladakh	2	Kargil, Leh Ladakh
Lakshadweep	1	Lakshadweep District
Madhya Pradesh	27	Anuppur, Ashoknagar, Balaghat, Barwani, Betul, Chhatarpur, Chhindwara, Dhar, Dindori, Guna, Harda, Jabalpur, Jhabua, Khargone, Mandla, Raisen, Rajgarh, Sagar, Satna, Seoni, Shahdol, Shajapur, Sheopur, Sidhi, Singrauli, Ujjain, Umaria

List of Focus Districts identified by States/UTs under PM-USHA

Maharashtra	18	Amravati, Aurangabad, Buldhana, Chandrapur, Gadchiroli, Gondia, Hingoli, Jalna, Latur, Mumbai Suburban, Nanded, Nandurbar, Osmanabad, Palghar, Solapur, Thane, Washim, Yavatmal
Manipur	8	Bishnupur, Chandel, Churachandpur, Imphal East, Senapati, Tamenglong, Thoubal, Ukhrul
Meghalaya	6	East Garo Hills, East Khasi Hills, South Garo Hills, South West Khasi Hills, West Garo Hills, West Jaintia Hills
Mizoram	6	Champhai, Kolasib, Lawngtlai, Lunglei, Mamit, Saiha
Nagaland	8	Dimapur, Kiphire, Kohima, Mokokchung, Mon, Phek, Tseminyu, Tuensang
Puducherry	4	Karaikal, Mahe, Pondicherry, Yanam
Punjab	12	Amritsar, Barnala, Bathinda, Faridkot, Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Mansa, Moga, Patiala, Rupnagar, Sangrur
Rajasthan	17	Banswara, Baran, Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Bundi, Dholpur, Dungarpur, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jhalawar, Karauli, Nagaur, Pali, Pratapgarh, Rajsamand, Sirohi
Sikkim	5	North District (Mangan), Pakyong, Soreng, South District (Namchi), West District (Gyalshing)
Telangana	16	Bhadradri Kothagudem, Hanumakonda, Hyderabad, Jagitial, Kamareddy, Karimnagar, Khammam, Komaram Bheem Asifabad, Mahbubnagar, Medchal Malkajgiri, Nalgonda, Nirmal, Nizamabad, Rajanna Sircilla, Rangareddi, Sangareddy
The Dadra And Nagar Haveli And Daman And Diu	3	Dadra And Nagar Haveli, Daman, Diu
Tripura	4	Dhalai, Khowai, Unakoti, West Tripura
Uttarakhand	6	Chamoli, Champawat, Pauri Garhwal, Pithoragarh, Udam Singh Nagar, Uttar Kashi
Uttar Pradesh	38	Agra, Aligarh, Ayodhya, Azamgarh, Banda, Bareilly, Bhadohi, Chandauli, Chitrakoot, Deoria, Etah, Firozabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Ghazipur, Gorakhpur, Hamirpur, Jalaun, Jaunpur, Jhansi, Kannauj, Kanpur Nagar, Kushi Nagar, Lalitpur, Lucknow, Mahoba, Mathura, Mau, Meerut, Mirzapur, Pilibhit, Prayagraj, Rampur, Saharanpur, Sant Kabeer Nagar, Siddharth Nagar, Sonbhadra, Varanasi
